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MEMORANDUM
To:  SCPD Policy & Law Comrhittee
From: Brian J. Hartman
Re:  Recent Legislative & Regulatory Initiatives
Date: April 11, 2016
Consistent with the requests of the SCPD and GACEC, I am providing an analysis of

thirteen (13) legislative and regulatory initiatives. Given time constraints, the analysis should be
considered preliminary and non-exhaustive.

1. DOE Final New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting Reg. [19 DE Reg. 91'9 (4/1/16)]

The SCPD and GACEC commented on the proposed version of this regulation in
February. A copy of the SCPD’s February 22, 2016 letter is attached for facilitated reference.
The Department of Education has now adopted a final regulation with one revision prompted by
the commentary.

First, the Councils suggested substituting “Data” for “Date” in the title to the regulation.
The DOE agreed and effected the substitution.

Second, the Councils suggested that the Department consider substituting “educator” for
“teacher” if the DOE reporting form includes staff apart from teachers. The DOE anomalously
notes that data on specialists such as nurses is collected in the report but it declined to expand the
reference to “educator”.

Since the regulation is final, and the DOE addressed each Council comment, no further
action is warranted.

2. DPH Revised Final DMOST Regulation [19 DE Reg. 922 (4/1/16)]

The Division of Public Health published a proposed Delaware Medical Orders for Scope
of Treatment (“DMOST”) regulation in November. The SCPD and GACEC commented on the
initiative resulting in several amendments incorporated into the final regulation adopted in
- January, 2016. See attached January 29, 2016 SCPD letter for a summary of revisions.
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The Division is now issuing a revised final regulation to address technical maters and
correct typographical errors. At 922. Agencies can publish such revised regulations as “final”
if they are non-substantive in nature. See Title 29 Del.C. §10113(b). Using the link in the PDF
version of the regulation, I reviewed the latest version of the regulation which is published in
very small type and single spaced. It does not “earmark” changes so I could not easily identify
the revisions. Since they would amount to non-substantive edits, the Councils may wish to
consider taking no action. The Division is not soliciting comments.

3. DOE Prop. Skilled & Technical Sciences Teacher Reg. [19 DE Reg. 882 (4/1/16)]

The Department of Education proposes to amend its qualification standards for a “skilled
and technical sciences teacher”.

The current regulation (§4.0) generally imposes the following qualification standards:

1) 9 career-related credits in area of certification and 6 technical education pedagogy
credits; AND
2) either a Bachelor’s Degree in any content area or Associate’s Degree plus 21

specified credits or 2 years of college or technical training plus 15 specified
credits; AND

3) 6 years of work experience or teaching in the career area, 2 of which must be in
the last 5 years; AND

4) if occupation requires a State license or certification, a valid and current Delaware
license.

The current regulation allows an applicant to substitute an Associate’s degree for 1 year
of work experience and a Bachelor’s degree for 2 years of work experience. The DOE proposes
to double these standards to “2" and “4" years respectively:

“Work Experience” means full time employment or work training experience in the
specific Skilled and Technical Sciences career area of certification. An educator may
substitute an Associate’s degree in the specific Skilled and Technical Sciences career area
for a maximum of otre two years of work experience or a Bachelor’s degree in the
specific Skilled and Technical Sciences career area of certification for a maximum of two
four years of work experience.



The effect of the change is to dilute the qualifications of the Skilled and Technical
Sciences Teacher. For example, the current standards would authorize certification if an
applicant with a Bachelor’s degree has 4 years of work experience. Under the new standards, an
applicant would be certified with a Bachelor’s degree and 2 years of work experience. Since the
DOE offers no rationale for the proposed change, it is difficult to assess justification for the
dilution in standards. Perhaps the Department views this dilution of qualifications as justified
given a shortage of candidates who meet the current standard. ~ Given the lack of a disability
nexus, and lack of a rationale for the amendment, the Councils may wish to share the above
observations while taking no position on the proposed regulation.

4. DMMA Prop. LTC Facility Personal Needs Allowance Reg. [19 DE Reg. 893 (4/1/16)]

The Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance proposes to raise the personal needs
allowance for Medicaid-funded individuals residing in long-term care facilities.

Under CMS regulations, Medicaid-funded individuals residing in long-term care facilities
are generally required to contribute to costs of institutional services after deducting certain
allowable amounts. At 894, quoting 42 CFR §435.725. One deduction is a “personal needs
allowance (PNA)” which, for “aged, blind, or disabled  persons must be at least $30/month for
individuals and $60/month for couples. Id. The purpose of the PNA is to provide an “allowance
that is reasonable in amount for clothing and other personal needs of the individual while in the
institution”.

The current PNA established by DMMA is $44/month for individuals and $88/month for
couples. These amounts have not changed in 14 years, i.e., since 2002. At 894. The Division
proposes to increase the PNA from $44/month to $50/month for individuals and from $88/month
to $100/month for couples. The change would be effective July 1,2016. The change is
“subsidized” by federal funds. For example, in FFY17, the projected fiscal impact of the change
is $71,596 in federal funds and $60,500 in State funds. At 895.

I have the following observations.

First, DMMA could consider a larger increase in the PNA. Consistent with the
attachment, $44 in 2002 equates to $57.99 in 2016 based on inflation. Adopting a $50 rate
reflects an increase of less than half the inflation rate. Moreover, since the State infrequently
changes the rate, adopting an overly restrained benchmark in 2016 which will remain in effect for
many years will accentuate the disparity. DMMA could consider adopting a $58 rate for
individuals and a $116 rate for couples which would fully account for the inflation rate. This
would ostensibly raise the State fiscal impact from $60,500 to $141,167 while increasing the
federal contribution from $71,596 to $167,057.



Second, on p. 896, DMMA may wish to consider substituting “ICF/IID for ICF/MR. See
CMS attachment, Title 29 Del.C. §608, and DMMA references to ICF/IID at 19 DE Reg. 888, 889
and 892.

Third, on p. 897, the following reference should be reconsidered in consultation with
DDDS:

If the recipient regularly attends a rehab/educational program off the grounds of his
nursing or her long-term care facility, including employment for the purpose of

rehabilitation in a sheltered workshop offthegroundsof the-facitity, $50.00 per month
Grather-than-$44)-will be protected; ...

The reference is somewhat archaic given Title 19 Del.C. §§740-747 (Employment First
Act) and could be interpreted as excluding PNA eligibility to participants in supported
employment as well as day habilitation programs. It may violate public policy to limit PNA to
participants (including group home and foster home residents) in sheltered workshops to the
exclusion of participants in supported employment.

Fourth, on p. 897, there are two references to an SGA limit of $700. That was the SGA
limit in 1999-2000. See attachment. There is also an incorrect reference to “Department of
Social Services (DSS)” rather than Department of Health & Social Services and references to
“DSS” that ostensibly should be “DMMA”.

Fifth, on p. 897, the reference to “unimpaired people” should be reconsidered. See Title
29 Del.C. §608.

The Councils may wish to share the above observations with DMMA, DDDS, the
Employment First Commission, and AARP. The Councils may also wish to share at least the
first observation with the co-chairs of the JFC.

5. DMMA Prop. Drug Rebate Agreement Regulation [19 DE Reg. 884 (4/1/16)]

The Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance proposes to amend its Medicaid State
Plan in the context of its drug rebate agreement.

As background, drug manufacturers are required to offer rebates on drugs used in the
Medicaid program. States may enter into separate or supplemental drug rebate agreements as
long as they achieve drug rebates equal to or greater than the drug rebates contained in a national
HHS rebate agreement. At 885. Delaware currently participates in a multi-state purchasing pool
(“TOP$”) which generates rebates. However, DMMA proposes to discontinue participation in
“TOP$” and enroll in the “SSDC” pool based on the following rationale:



The administration of the TOP$ Medicaid multi-state purchasing pool has (since) changed.
This change has caused costs to increase, and made DMMA’s ability to administer the
drug rebate program more difficult. The Sovereign State Drug Consortium (SSDC)
Medicaid multi-state purchasing pool provides states with more options and control when
negotiating supplemental rebate rates, and allows for easier administration of the drug
rebate program.

At 885. Enrollment in the new pool would be effective July 1, 2016. There would be no direct
impact on Medicaid beneficiaries:

The agency’s proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive
pharmaceutical services, and the Medicaid prescribed drugs benefit available to eligible
recipients remains the same. In addition, the agency’s proposal involves no change to
providers’ current practices.

At 886.

I did not identify any concerns with the proposed Medicaid State Plan amendment. Since
the switch to a new pool is expected to provide increased flexibility and easier administration of
the drug rebate program, the Councils may wish to consider endorsement.

6. DMMA Prop. Medicaid LTC “Bed Hold” Payment Regulation [19 DE Reg. 888 (4/1/16)]

The Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance proposes to amend its Medicaid “bed
hold” standards applicable to long-term care facilities.

As background, a CMS regulation (42 CFR §447.40) allows states, at state option, to make
“bed hold” payments to a long-term care facility during a resident’s temporary absence due to
hospitalization or other specified reasons. At 889. DMMA currently implements this option but
plans to modify it for residents of an ICF/IID. In a nutshell, the normal paid 7-day bed-hold
period per hospitalization would be extended to 14 days for Delaware’s only ICF/IIDs - Stockley
Center and Mary Campbell Center. The expected fiscal impact for FFY17 is $25,000 in State
funds and $29,585 in federal funds. At 890-891.

I have the following observations.

First, on p. 889, the reference to 42 CFR §440.40 is incorrect. The reference should be to
42 CFR §447.40.



Second, consistent with 42 CFR §447.40, DMMA reaffirms the current policy of allowing
up to 18 days per calendar year of “bed-hold” payments if included in the resident’s plan of care.
At 891. It would be informative to include the following clarifying sentence after Par. “2" on p.
891: “This may include absences included in a plan of care due to transfers to a ‘specialized
treatment facility’ consistent with Title 16 Del.C. §1121(18).” This would be instructive to
providers and residents seeking to reconcile Medicaid payment standards and the overlapping
State “bed -hold” statute. For similar reasons, the same sentence could be added to §20650.2.1
on p. 892.

Third, waiver of the 18 day paid leave of absence limit can be obtained if the LTC facility
applies and its medical director confirms medical necessity. This may be unduly limiting. It
would be preferable to allow either the LTC facility or the resident [supported by his personal
attending physician [16 Del.C. §1121(21)] to apply for a waiver since a resident’s view may be
different than the facility’s view. CMS recognizes the divergence of interest in the context of
transfers and discharges. See 42 C.F.R. §483.12(a)(3)(1 ); attached CMS Surveyor Guidance
F201-203; and attached CMS proposed regulations, 80 Fed Reg. 42247-42249, 42254-42255.
For example, the facility may prefer that the resident or resident’s family “private pay” for the
period in excess of 18 days since that results in higher payment.

The Councils may wish to consider endorsement of the extended paid “bed-hold” period
for ICF/IIDs while also sharing the above observations with DMMA, DDDS, and AARP.

7. DMMA Prop. Medicaid Autism Spectrum Disorder Services Reg. [19 DE Reg. 898 (4/1/16)]

The Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance proposes to amend the Medicaid State
Plan to address coverage and reimbursement of treatment services for beneficiaries up to age 21
with a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (“ASD”).

As background, CMS issued the attached July 7, 2014 guidance outlining approaches to
provide Medicaid services to eligible individuals with ASD. CMS noted that services often “fit”
under the following categories: 1) other licensed practitioner services; 2) preventive services;

3) therapy services; 4) waivers; and 5) EPSDT benefit. See also related articles. DMMA is now
- implementing the guidance by adopting conforming Medicaid State Plan amendments.

Thave the following observations.

First, there is some “tension” between the proposed requirement that a Medicaid
beneficiary be “under 21 years of age” to qualify for “autism spectrum disorder treatment
services” (p. 900) and special education eligibility extending to the end of the school year in
which a student turns 21. See Title 14 Del.C. §3101(1). The age standard is ostensibly based on
the EPSDT age limit but EPSDT should not be the sole eligibility basis for autism-related

services. Moreover, “other licensed practitioner services”, “preventive services”, and “therapy
services” are not limited to individuals under age 21.




Second, ASD services are barred if an individual is not “medically stable” At 900.
Therefore, individuals with the most severe medical needs are anomalously ineligible for services.
For example, query whether a beneficiary would be unable to obtain occupational or physical
therapy services to remediate an “unstable” medical condition (e.g. helmet or assistive technology
to address head banging or SIBS). Conceptually, the autism treatment services may be necessary
to achieve medical stability.

Third, ASD services are barred if an individual qualifies for ICF/IID placement. At 900.
This would ostensibly exclude anyone enrolled in the DDDS waiver (in which eligibility begins at
age 12) which categorically requires that participants meet an ICF/IID level of care. See attached
excerpts from DDDS waiver.

Fourth, the projected fiscal impact of the regulation is high, i.e., $1,223,105 in State funds
in FFY17. At901. Since the identified services (other licensed practitioner services; preventative
services; therapy) are already covered by the State Plan, it’s unclear why the projected fiscal
impact is so high. Moreover, since private insurers must cover treatment of autism spectrum
disorders (S.B. No. 22 from 146™ General Assembly), private insurance should cover most
services if an individual has both Medicaid and private health insurance.

Fifth, an individual cannot obtain a functional behavioral assessment, a behavioral support
plan, or any ASD treatment services until a licensed medical professional under Delaware State
regulation completes an evaluation. See Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum la. This
categorical requirement appears unduly strict if an individual with an ASD diagnosis for years,
perhaps based on an out-of-state evaluation, desires a behavioral support plan or ASD services.

Sixth, there is some “tension” between the following requirements:

These evaluations may not be performed by the same professional who delivers or
supervises the beneficiary’s direct ASD treatment.

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum 1b (describing neurodevelopmental review by psychologists
and psychiatrists).

The provider who develops the behavioral plan of care should be the same provider who
performed the behavioral assessment, except in extenuating circumstances, ...

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum 1g.

As a practical matter, it may be impractical and counterproductive to exclude an evaluator
from also providing services. This is not the standard model within the Delaware Medicaid
program. For example, an ST, OT, or PT often performs an assessment of need, develops a
‘treatment plan, and provides therapy pursuant to the plan.



Seventh, the sources of information for the functional behavioral assessment includes
everyone but the individual with the ASD diagnosis. See Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6, Addendum
lc. It would be preferable to include the individual in the list which otherwise includes schools,
family, pediatricians, etc.

Eighth, DMMA may wish to amend the following provision in Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6,
Addendum 1d by adding the underlined language: “(6) The use of Behavior Modifying
Medications without a formal assessment and diagnosis of a corresponding mental health disorder
by physician or advance practice registered nurse .” See 24 Del.C. §1902.

Ninth, in Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum le, Par (12), DMMA may wish to
substitute “individual” for “child”.

Tenth, the following requirement is highly objectionable:

(€) Presence/Availability of Caregiver. In order to ensure that the services are covered
under the preventive services benefit category and do not include non-coverable services
such as child care, respite, or related services, as well as to ensure the clinical success of
the services, a caregiver must be present and/or available in the setting where services are
being provided at all times (even when not directly participating in the services) in order to
care for individuals under the age of eighteen.

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum 1f.

This is a discriminatory requirement which “stereotypes” all individuals under 18 with an
ASD diagnosis as requiring 24/7 care under constant adult supervision. It is not required that
parents of minors with other conditions be physically present on-site when a minor receives
Medicaid services. There are 17 year old individuals with Aspergers who could drive themselves
to an appointment and have absolutely no need for parental accompaniment. Moreover, the
statement that “respite” is categorically a “non-coverable” service is incorrect. It is a covered
service under the DSHP+ program and may be available under the EPSDT benefit.

Eleventh, the following utilization limit is highly objectionable:

(f) Limitations on ASD Treatment Services: Total ASD treatment services from all sources
may only be the amount medically necessary for each individual, up to 25 hour (sic
“hours”) per week, which may be exceeded with prior authorization based on medical
necessity.

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum 1f.



A. This limitation is at odds with the EPSDT expectation that covered individuals will
receive all Medicaid services needed to ameliorate conditions identified through screening and
assessment. See Attachment 3.1-A, Page 6 Addendum 1. See also attached CMS EPSDT
guidance:

The goal of this benefit is to ensure that children under the age of 21 who are enrolled in
Medicaid receive age-appropriate screening, preventive services, and treatment services
that are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate any identified conditions - the right
care to the right child at the right time in the right setting. This broad scope supports a
comprehensive, high-quality health benefit.

At3.
NHeLP characterizes attempts to place hard caps on ASD services as illegal under EPSDT:

Another common problem is that some states place hard limits on the hours of service
Medicaid will provide in a week or a month. These limits, which are illegal under
EPSDT, prevent children with the highest need from getting all the medically necessary
care to which they are entitled. (See CMS, EPDST Coverage Guide at 23).

NHeLP, “Autism Spectrum Disorders”, Health Advocate (October, 2015) at 3 (attached).
The CMS EPSDT Guide is corroborative:

Because medical necessity decisions are individualized, flat limits or hard limits based on a
monetary cap or budgetary constraints are not consistent with EPSDT requirements. ...For
example, while a sate may place in its State Plan a limit of a certain number of physical
therapy visits per year for individuals age 21 and older, such a “hard” limit could not be
applied to children.

At 23-24 (attached). Although CMS suggests some leeway with “soft” limits incorporated into
medical necessity standards, DMMA is not amending its medical necessity regulation. Rather, it
is manifestly imposing a cap based on budgetary considerations. '

B. There is no comparable cap on ST, OT, or PT, preventive services, and other licensed
practitioner services in the Medicaid State Plan generally so imposing a cap simply because a
beneficiary has an ASD diagnosis is ostensibly impermissible discrimination under the ADA and
Section 1557 of the ACA. See attachment.

The Councils may wish to consider sharing the above observations with DMMA and
autism advocacy organizations. The Councils may also wish to consider sharing the observations
with CMS.



8. S.B. No. 214 (Emplovment Discrimination

This legislation was introduced on March 24, 2016. As of April 11, it awaited action by
the Senate Labor & Industrial Relations Committee.

As background, Delaware law currently imposes a 120-day statute of limitation for the
filing of an employment discrimination complaint. This includes complaints based on the
“Persons with Disabilities Employment Protections Act”. See Title 19 Del.C. §§712 and 727.
The 120-day standard does not conform to federal law. Consistent with the attached excerpt from
the EEOC Website, the statute of limitation is 300 days for states whose departments of labor are
authorized to process complaints:

IX. What Agency Handles a Charge that Is also Covered by State or Local Law?

Many states and localities have anti-discrimination laws and agencies responsible for
enforcing those laws. EEOC refers to these agencies as “Fair Employment Practices
Agencies (FEPAs)”. Through the use of “work sharing agreements”, EEOC and the
FEPAs avoid duplication of effort while at the same time ensuring that a charging party’s
rights are protected under both federal and state law.

VIII. What Are the Time Limits for Filing a Charge of Discrimination?
...There are strict time limits within which charges must be filed:

. A charge must be filed with EEOC within 180 days from the date of the alleged
violation, in order to protect the charging party’s rights.

. This 180-day filing deadline is extended to 300 days if the charge is also covered by

state or local anti-discrimination law.
[emphasis supplied]

S.B. No. 214 conforms the State statute of limitations to match the above federal standard,
i.e., 300 days. This is highly preferable for multiple reasons. First, individuals looking at the
current Delaware Code may be misled into believing they only have 120 days to file a charge
under both federal and state law. Second, it facilitates the administration of the State Department
of Labor to have a State charge time line equal to the federal standard. Under current law,
Delawareans who file charges within 120 days can have their claims processed by the State while
those filing between 121-300 days have their claims routed to the federal EEOC for processing.
See attached excerpt from Delaware DOL Website. This is an awkward and confusing system for
consumers.

For the above reasons, the Councils may wish to consider endorsement.
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9. H.B. No. 211 (Youth Shackling)

This legislation was introduced on March 17, 2016. As of April 11, it had been approved
by the House Judiciary Committee but awaited action by the House Appropriations Committee.

Background on the bill is provided by the attached January 23, January 30, and March 16,
2016 News Journal articles. In a nutshell, the bill would bar automatic use of restraints (e.g.
handcuffs; chains; straitjackets) for juveniles appearing in Family Court delinquency proceedings.
The Court could authorize use of restraints only on a case-by-case basis justified by findings that
restraints are necessary and there are no less restrictive alternatives (lines 32 - 48). The preamble
to the bill, as well as the 3 attached articles, underscore the reasons why shackling of juveniles
should be limited. It undermines the presumption of innocence, is demeaning and traumatizing,
and deters dialog. Since minorities are statistically more likely to be placed in juvenile detention
facilities, the use of shackles is disproportionately applied to minorities. According to the January
23 article, 71.8% of juveniles admitted to detention facilities in Delaware are minorities - “making
it seven time more likely that African-American youth will be placed in a state detention center
than white youth.”

According to the January 23, 2016 article, “twenty-three states have banned the practice of
juvenile shacking by legislation or court order” and “about half of those have done so since 2014.”
Many prominent organizations are supporting a national initiative to ban or reduce the use of
restraints in delinquency proceedings (lines11-20). For example, the American Academy of Child
& Adolescent Psychiatry issued a policy statement characterizing the routine shackling of
juveniles as “demeaning, humiliating, and stigmatizing” and contributing to trauma (lines 14-16).

The bill is accompanied by the attached $232,996.24 fiscal note. It envisions the hiring of
four YRS counselors to “enable two YRS staff members to be present with each youth in a court
room.”

Given the compelling justification for the legislation, the Councils may wish to consider
endorsement. The Councils may wish to share commentary with the Public Defender and ACLU.

10. S.B. No. 221 (Employer Tax Credit: DVR & DVI Referrals)

This legislation was introduced on March 24, 2016. As of April 11, it awaited action by
the Senate Finance Committee.

As background, only 34.5% of non-institutionalized Americans ages 21-64 with a
disability are employed. The Delaware statistic is similar, i.e., only 36.1% of such adults with a
disability are employed. See attachment. Delaware has several laws which promote the hiring of
individuals with disabilities (lines 5-6 and 16 Del.C. §5503). In the past few years, multiple
programs have been initiated to “jump-start” training and employment opportunities for this
constituency. Such initiatives include the DHSS Pathways to Employment program and the
PROMISE program. See attached summaries. These programs are helpful but may be limited to
certain age groups and disabilities. For example, individuals with traumatic brain injury, the
“signature” injury of the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts, do not qualify for either program.
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Federal tax incentives exist to promote hiring of individuals with disabilities. See
attachment. Many states, including Maryland and New York, offer a State tax credit to
supplement the federal incentives. See attached article.

S.B. No. 221 is similar to proposed legislation shared by the Councils with the JEC in
February, 2013. S.B. No. 221 authorizes a State tax credit for employers who hire referrals from
the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation or the Division for the Visually Impaired after January 1,
2017. The amount of the credit would be equal to 10%, but in no event greater than $1,500, of the
gross wages paid to a qualifying person. The credit would be available for the year in which the
employee is hired and the 2 taxable years thereafter (lines 28-38).

One advantage to linking the credit to DVR referrals is that DVR is not limited to only
certain disabilities. DVR serves individuals with a wide range of physical and mental
impairments, including traumatic brain injury. It focuses on individuals with “most significant”
and “significant” disabilities. Consistent with the attached excerpt from 2015 Annual Report
from DVR’s Rehabilitation Council, in FY'15 it served 7,757 clients of whom 2,861 were new
applicants. It achieved a successful employment outcome for 1,138 clients with an average hourly
wage of approximately $10.50/hour. The availability of a State tax credit should bolster DVR’s
prospects for securing successful employment outcomes since hiring DVR referrals will be more
attractive to employers.

Since the employment rate for Delawareans with disabilities is very low (36.1%), and this
legislation would encourage the hiring of individuals with disabilities, the Councils may wish to
consider endorsement.

11. S.B. No. 186 (Disabled Veteran School Tax Refund Fund)

This legislation was introduced on January 28, 2016. As of April 11, it awaited action by
the Senate Finance Committee.

The bill (lines 39-42) would establish a fund of $3,000,000 to cover the cost of maximum
school tax refunds as follows:

. $200 for qualified veteran with a V.A. disability rating of 10% to 20%;

. $350 for qualified veteran with a V.A. disability rating of 30% to 50%;

. $500 for a qualified veteran with a V.A. disability rating of 60% or higher.

A qualified veteran would have to be legally domiciled in the State and the credit would
only apply to the veteran’s principal residence (lines 32-38). Consistent with the attached fiscal

note, the legislation is expected to benefit approximately 4,346 veteran homeowners in Delaware.
Likewise, the fiscal note anticipates that the average refund under the bill would be $368.

12



I have the following observations.

First, the reference to “disabled veteran” does not reflect “people-first” language and is
ostensibly disfavored under Title 29 Del.C. §608.

Second, at first glance, the references in lines 40-42 appeared “underinclusive” since they
omitted disability ratings between 21-29% and 51%- 59%. However, consistent with the attached
article, the V.A. system only uses 10% increments in its disability rating system so the references
are accurate.

Third, if claims exceed the amount in the “Disabled Veteran School Tax Refund Fund”, the
“shortfall” may be derived from “the general contingency appropriation in the Department of
Education” (lines 8-9). Since the attached fiscal note only contemplates an annual cost of $1.6
million of the $3.0 million fund, there may not be a shortfall in the near future. However, this
feature of the legislation may be of some concern to public educational interests.

Fourth, New Castle County already reduces the assessed value of homes owned by
qualifying persons with disabilities. Consistent with the attached NCC summary, qualifying
individuals are eligible for the following subsidy:

School Tax - They receive a reduction in their assessed value of up to $32,000. For loss of
limbs or loss of limbs requiring home to be equipped with special fixtures, an additional
$42,000 may be added to a maximum of $74,000. ... If the disability is Armed Forces
Related, the taxpayer may receive an additional reduction of $5,000 off the assessed value
of the residence for both County and School Taxes.

Thus, a veteran with a service-connected disability in New Castle County would ostensibly benefit
from both a reduced “countable” assessment and the school tax refund authorized by this
legislation.

Since the legislation would benefit veterans with disabilities, and prioritize a higher refund
based on extent of service-connected disability, the Councils may wish to consider endorsement.

12. H.B. No. 268 (Substance Exposed Infants & Medically Fragile Children)

This legislation was introduced on March 3, 2016. As of April 11, it awaited action by the
House Judiciary Committee.

Background is included in the attached articles. In a nutshell, approximately 3% of babies
born in Delaware qualify for a diagnosis of neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) in which the
infant undergoes opiate withdrawal. That percentage has been growing in recent years. DFS
substantiates abuse in approximately 10% (44/448) of cases of suspected neglect or abuse reported
to it among babies born with drugs or alcohol in their system. See attached Mach 7, 2016 News
Journal article. Medical professionals prefer to place pregnant women with addictions on
methadone resulting in only short-term effects on babies treated for withdrawal upon birth. See
attached “Addicted babies”, Delaware News Journal (November 20, 2015).
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H.B. No. 268 (lines 63-64) would require health care providers to report substance
exposed infants not more than 4 weeks of age (line 51) to the DSCY&F. Such reports would be
entered into the child protection registry on the same basis as reports of abuse or neglect (lines 79-
81). Although reports of abuse or neglect can be made anonymously, this is not permitted for
reports of substance exposed infants (lines 82-84). A “plan of safe care” would be developed for
cases accepted by DFS for investigation or family assessment (lines 16-19 and 110-111). Apart
from substance exposed infants, the bill would also require development of a plan of care for cases
accepted for investigation or family assessment involving any “medically fragile child” (lines 126-
127) of any age (lines 42-44).

I have the following observations.

First, the legislation reinforces an autocratic model in which the State imposes
requirements and offers little help to new mothers with substance abuse profiles. The bill (lines
45-50) contemplates unilateral development of the “plan of safe care” with zero input from the
parent. This “top-down” plan is then shared with agencies but not the parent (lines 47-49). This
kafkaesque approach is not a collaborative model which “engages” the new mother in a joint
venture to benefit her infant.

Second, the articles describe successful outcomes for parents receiving wrap-around
services while highlighting the paucity of resources available to many parents:

Holly Rybinski, of Newport, said she had to go to jail in order to get the drug treatment she
needed. That was almost two years ago. She had stayed clean for five years, but while she
was pregnant with his child, her partner overdosed and died. Consumed with grief,
Rybinski turned to heroin and cocaine during the last five months of her pregnancy. After
she gave birth to the son James April 8, 2014, at Christiana Care’s Wilmington Hospital,
she was ready to be clean. She said the Division of Family Services told her that they had
to take custody of him since James tested positive for drugs, she wasn’t in a treatment
program and Rybinski had a record. They told her she had 90 days to find employment,
treatment and stable housing and then they could discuss putting him back in her care.
That request was easier said than done. ...”I tried five different times to get into treatment,”
Rybinski said. “It was one obstacle after the other.” As the number of pregnant and
addicted mothers grows, the need for treatment is even more critical. Community
members, families and those now in recovery, like Rybinski, have long lamented
Delaware’s lack of residential treatment options. Many people have to wait days and even
weeks to get a bed. ...Currently, there is one state-run treatment program for expectant or
new mothers recovering from addiction in Delaware, but it is only for women who are

incarcerated and it is in Newark. ...Brandywine Counseling ran a program for expecting

moms wrestling with addiction, called Lighthouse, downstate in Ellendale. but is closed in

September due to budget cuts and staffing shortages. ...(I)t was extremely successful.
Nearly 100 percent of women were able to give birth to babies free of drugs.

“More treatment key for addicted moms”, Delaware News Journal (March 4, 2016)
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Third, the bill envisions development of the same autocratic “plan of safe care” for any
parent of a “medically fragile child” of any age if the parent is “unable” to “provide or ensure
necessary care” (lines 42-44 and 126-127). The definition of “medically fragile child” is
extremely broad, i.e., essentially covering any child at risk of a condition that requires services of a
type or amount beyond that of an average child (lines 42-44). The implication is that parents of a
child with a disability are at fault, culpable if they cannot guarantee (“ensure”) necessary care, and
subject to the same “plan of safety care” as parents delivering addicted babies. This is
reminiscent of the 1960s view of autism as caused by “frigid” mothers - stereotyping parents of
children with disabilities as ‘at fault” for their child’s medical condition.

Fourth, the central plan of care for medically fragile infants and toddlers is the
collaborative family support plan developed under Title 16 Del.C. §§214 and 215. Itis
counterproductive to supplant the family support plan with a “plan of safe care” administered by a
child neglect/prevention agency. :

The Councils may wish to consider the following recommendations:
1. The “medically fragile child” references (lines 42-44 and 126-127) should be deleted.
2. The “plan of care” provisions (lines 45-50) should be amended as follows:
a. Ensure parental input and collaboration in development of the plan; and
b. Ensure that the plan includes support services rather than simply directives or
benchmarks for parents to achieve on their own. For example, consider the following
amendment:
The plan of care shall identify all material impediments to family preservation and the
itemized, available resources specifically offered to the parent to overcome each
impediment including, if relevant:
a. mental health treatment;
b. substance abuse treatment;
c. safe housing; and

d. any public assistance program operated or administered by a State agency.

3. The State should expand resources and programs available to expectant mothers with
addictions and mothers of substance exposed infants.

The Councils may wish to share commentary with other disability advocacy agencies, the
Attorney General, and the Public Defender.
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13. H.B. No. 214 (Nurse Workplace Violence Protection)

This legislation was introduced on June 30, 2015. On March, 23, 2016, it was released
from the House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee. As of April 11, it awaited
action by the House. I previously provided a condensed analysis of the bill to the GACEC which
resulted in submission of the attached March 24 memo to the General Assembly. The attached
Committee report includes the following commentary: “The committee found that the language in
this bill needs to be reworked in order to address punishments for individuals who are mentally
handicapped.”

I have the following observations.

Under current law, if a person intentionally causes “physical injury” to a member of the general
public, the crime is a misdemeanor A punishable by up to 1 year in prison. See attached 11 Del.C. §§611
and 4206. There is special statute [11 Del.C. § 612] which elevates the misdemeanor to a felony D ifa
person intentionally causes “physical injury” to a nurse “while [the nurse] is rendering emergency care”.
The penalty for a class D felony is up to 8 years in prison. See attached 11 Del.C. §4205(b). The
definition of “physical injury” is “impairment of physical condition or substantial pain”. See
attached 11 Del.C. §222(23). Therefore, the current law elevates the maximum 1 year prison term
to a maximum 8 year term for an assault on a nurse providing emergency care with no significant
injury apart from “pain”. H.B. No. 214 would expand the application of the 8-year prison term to
nurses in non-emergency contexts, i.e., while “performing a work-related duty” (lines 17-18).
While well intentioned, my concern is that authorizing a prison term not double, triple, or
quadruple but 8 times in length for an assault resulting only in some pain seems disproportionate
to the offense. One compromise would be to elevate the offense against a nurse to a felony F or G
which carry 2 and 3 year prison terms respectively.

Authorizing excessive prison term runs counter to recent, high-publicized legislative
initiatives to deter sentences disproportionate to the offense. See attached March 27, 2016 and
April 3, 2016 News Journal articles. The March article highlights the following information:

Nationally, lawmakers are revisiting the tough sentencing laws that made the United States
the world’s number 1 jailer. In recent years, voices from the left and right have joined
together in challenging the scale of incarceration. Delaware has engaged in similar efforts
too, but lags behind the country in downscaling its prison population....The growth of
incarceration in Delaware resulted from the choices of lawmakers to increase the use and
severity of prison sentences. Delawares’ correctional population has grown by more than
207 percent since 1980; taxpayers spend more than $32,900 to incarcerate each prisoner.
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Policymakers may wish to consider unintended consequences. The bill could easily result
in prosecution of patients with compromised capacity at the time of the alleged crime. For
example, individuals with urinary tract infections may display symptoms akin to mental illness.
Individuals with an intense fear of needles may defensively strike out at a nurse attempting to
perform an injection. An elderly patient may strike out defensively at a nurse attempting to
impose wrist or mechanical restraints on the patient to prevent the patient from removing tubes or
aggravating wounds. Medications or a high fever may compromise executive functioning and
self-control. A patient who does not speak English may defensively try to block an injection or
push a nurse away out of a lack of understanding. A patient may experience involuntary
movements or seizures which a nurse could misinterpret as voluntary acts of aggression. A
patient with an undiagnosed TBI may strike out as a function of brain injury. The “unintended
consequence” of the bill may be to unnecessarily “criminalize” a large number of vulnerable
patients.

Finally, I am dubious that there would be any practical deterrent effect if the legislation
were enacted. It is unlikely that aggressive or disoriented patients will deliberate and gauge their
behavior based on whether an assault is a misdemeanor versus a felony under the Delaware Code.

In conclusion, while well intentioned, the legislation ostensibly authorizes a penalty
disproportionate to the offense and may unnecessarily “criminalize” a large number of vulnerable
patients.

The SCPD may wish to share the above observations with policymakers, including the
Attorney General, Public Defender, and ACLU.

Attachments

E:legis/416bils
F:pub/bjh/legis/2016p&1/416bils
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STATE OF DELAWARE

STATE COUNCIL FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES
"MARGARET M. O’NEILL BUILDING
410 FEDERAL STREET, SUITE 1 o Voice: (302) 739-3620
DOVER, DE 19901 TTY/TDD: (302) 739-3699
FAaX: (302) 739-6704

February 22,2016

Ms. Tina Shockley, Education Associate
Department of Education

401 Federal Street, Suite 2

Dover, DE 19901

RE: 19 DE Reg. 712 [DOE Proposed New Teacher Hiring Data Reporting Regulation]

Dear Ms. Shockley:

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) has reviewed the Department of
Education’s (DOE’s) proposal to amend its regulations covering district reporting of information
on hiring of teachers. The proposed regulation was published as 19 DE Reg. 712 in the February
1, 2016 issue of the Register of Regulations. It requires districts to report hiring and vacancy
information based on a DOE form. The DOE contemplates compilation of data into an annual
report issued by March 31. SCPD has only two (2) observations.

First, the title of the regulation refers to “775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting”. Since the
title of the report has changed to “an Educator Hiring Practices and Needs Report” (§3.0) from
“New Teacher Hiring Date Report”, the DOE could consider a revised title. Perhaps “Data”
could be substituted for “Date” based on §1.0. '

Second, if the DOE form includes positions apart from teachers, the title and §1.0 could be
revised to refer to “educator” hiring data. This would conform to the reference in §3.0 to

“Bducator Hiring Practices and Needs Report”.

Thank you for your consideration and please contact SCPD if you have any questions or
cominents regarding our position on the proposed regulation.

Sincerely,

Do Tt frrus?

Daniese McMullin-Powell, Chairperson
State Council for Persons with Disabilities



cc:  The Honorable Steven Godowsky, Ed.D, Secretary of Education
Mr. Chris Kenton, Professional Standards Board
Dr. Teri Quinn Gray, State Board of Education
Ms, Mary Ann Mieczkowski, Department of Education
Ms. Kathleen Geiszler, Esq., Department of Justice
Ms. Terry Hickey, Esq., Department of Justice
Ms. Tlona Kirshon, Esq., Department of Justice
Mz, Brian Hartman, Esq. :
" Developmental Disabilities Council

Governor’s Adyisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
19reg712 doe-new teacher hiring dala reporting 2-22-16



STATE OF DELAWARE
STATE COUNCIL FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES
MARGARET M. O’NEILL BUILDING
410 FEDERAL STREET, SUITE 1 Voice: (302) 738-3620
DOVER, DE 13501 TTY/TDD: (302) 739-3699
Fax: (302) 739-6704

January 29,2016

Myr. Jamie Mack
Division of Public Health
Jesse Cooper Building
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901

RE: 19 DE Reg. 637 [DPH Final DMOST Regulation (1/1/16)]

Dear Mr. Mack:

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) has reviewed the Department of Health and
Social Services/Division of Public Health’s (DPH’s) final regulation 1o repeal'and replace its Delaware
Medical Orders for Scope-of Treatment (“DMOST”) regulation. The final regulation was publ ished as 19
DE Reg. 637 in the January 1, 2016 issue of the Register of Regulations. SCPD tomniented on the
proposed version of this regulation in November. DPH has now adopted a final regulation incorporating

several amendments prompted by the commentary.

First, the Council recommended an amendment to clarify that an AHCD valid in-another state would
qualify under the regulatory definition of AHCD. The Division agreed and adopted a conforming,
amendment. - ' , _

Second, the Council recommended consideration of additional safeguards for persons with
communication deficits. The Division added safeguards to $7.7.2.

Third, the Council recommended inclusion of a reference to “effective communication” based on the
ADA. A conforming reference was added to §4.7.

Fourth, the Council identified a grammatical error in the DMOST form. The error was corrected.

Fifth, the Council identified an ambiguity in the signature line in the DMOST form. The Division edited
the form. ' ‘

"Sixth, the Council recommended an edit to highlight a form provision addressing the representative’s

authority to alter a DMOST. The Division altered the format for greater clarity.

SCPD certainly appreciates that the Division adopted edits consistent with each of the Council’s
comments.

Ry



~ Sincerely,

f A

D Amd8ed A8 1in-Powedl, Chairperson
State Council for Persons with Disabilities

ce: Ms. Karyl Rattay, DHSS-DPH
Ms. Deborah Gottschalk, DHSS
Mr. Brian Hartman, Esq.
Developmental Disabilities Council

Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
191eg637 dph DMOST TY 1-27-16



Inflation Calculator | Find US Dollar's Value From 1913-2016 | Page 1 of 5

(http://iwww.usinflationcalculator.com/)

The US Inflation Calculator measures the buying power of the dollar over time. Just enter any two dates between
1913 and 2016, an amount, and click "Calculate’.

Inflation Calculator
If in 2002 (enter year)
| purchased an item for $ 44.00
then in 2016 (enter year)
that same item would cost: _ $57.99
Cumulative rate of inflation: | 31.8%
CALCULATE

*Learn how this calculator works (http://www. usinflationcalculator.com/frequently-asked-questions-faqs/#Howlnflation CalculatorWorks). This US Inflation
Calculator uses the latest US government CPI data (http:/fwww.usinflati lculator.com/inflatic lculator-information/consumer-price-index-and-annual-
percent-changes-from-1913-to-2008/) published on March 16, 20176 to adjust for inflation and calculate the cumulative inflation rate through February 2016. The
Consumer Price Index (CPI) and inflation for March 2016 is scheduled for release by the United States government on April 14, 201 6. (See a chart of recent inflation
rates (http://www.usinflationcalculator. com/inflation/current-inflation-rates/).)

“INFLATION (HTTPZ/WWW.USINFLATIONCALCULATOR COMICATEGORY/INFLATION)

US Inflation Falls in February, Annual Inflation
Rate Eases
(http://www.usinflationcalculator.com/inflation/us-
inflation-falls-in-february-annual-inflation-rate-
eases/10001949/)

MARCH 16, 2016 (HTTP://WWW.USINFLATIONCALCULATOR.COM/INFLATION/US-INFLATION-FALLS-IN-FEBRUARY-ANNUAL-INFLATION-
RATE-EASES/10001949/) | LEAVE A COMMENT (HTTP://WWW.USINFLATIONCALCULATOR.COM/INFLATION/US-INFLATION—FALLS-IN-
FEBRUARY-ANNUAL-INFLATION-RATE-EASES/10001949/#RESPOND)

US consumer prices declined in February alongside plunging gasoline but underlying inflation advanced more than expected,
a government report released on Wednesday, March 16, shows. Costs climbed for a broad section of goods and services to
include big ticket items like shelter and medical care.

Overall in the past 12 months, inflation eased compared to the annual rate of a month earlier yet the pace clocked higher than
any other since late 2014.

http://www.usinflationcalculator.com/ 4/9/2016



Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) - Cent... Page 1 of 1

CMS.gov
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Home > Regulalions and Guidance > Conditions for Covarage (CfCs) & Conditions of Participalions (CoPs) > Intermediate Care Fagcilities for Individuals with intellectual Disabilities

(ICF/ID)

Interme)diate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities
(ICF/ID

Publication date:

1988

Effective date:

1988

CFR section numbers:

483,400 — 483.480
CFR section descriptions:

Based on changes made in Rosa's Law in 2010, Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Mental Retardation
(ICFIMR) will now reflect nationwide changes and be referred to as Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with
Inteliectual Disabilities (ICFAID).

Sections 483.400 — 483.480 are located in Part 483 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Subpart I- Conditions of
Participation for Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID). These CaPs establish
the health and safety requirements that ICF/HD providers must mest in order to participate in the Medicare and
Medicaid programs. The health and safety requirements address topics such as the provider's governing body, client
protections, facllity staffing, facility environment, and services provided.

Brief description of document(s):

The links below provide more detailed information about the CoPs for ICF/IID providers, surveyor guidelines, payment
policy information, and the statutory authority governing ICF/IID providers.

Downloads

Surveyor Guidelines [PDF, 714KB
ICFIID Background [PDF, 31KB

% Related Links

CONDITIONS OF PARTICIPATION: ICF/IID (483.400-480)

Payment Information

Social Security Act Section 1902(a)

Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities ({CFs/1ID)

Page last Modified: 01/21/2015 4:16 PM
Help with File Formats and Plug-ins

. fﬂhu%
CMS g OV A federal government website managed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 5’ ‘/g'
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7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244 \-,
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Substantial Gainful Activity Page 1 of 2

Social Security

Official Social Security Website

Substantial Gainful Activity

Automatic To be eligible for disability benefits, a person must be unable to
Determinations engage in substantial gainful activity (SGA). A person who is
earning more than a certain monthly amount (net of impairment-
related work expenses) is ordinarily considered to be engaging in

Determinations:

SGA for blind ‘ SGA. The amount of monthly earnings considered as SGA
d'SG:i f;’r non-blind depends on the nature of a person's disability. The Social Security
isapie

Act specifies a higher SGA amount for statutorily blind individuals;
Federal regulations specify a lower SGA amount for non-blind

Wage-indexed 4
individuals. Both SGA amounts generally change with changes in

amounts -
the national average wage index.
Amounts for 2016 .
The monthly SGA amount for statutorily blind individuals for 2016
is $1820. For non-blind individuals, the monthly SGA amount for
2016 is $1130. SGA for the blind does not apply to Supplemental
Security Income (SSI) benefits, while SGA for the non-blind
disabled applies to Social Security and SSI benefits. See historical
series of SGA amounts below. ‘
Trial work period
After a person becomes eligible for disability benefits, the person
may attempt to return to the work force. As an incentive, we
provide a trial work period in which a beneficiary may have
earnings and still collect benefits.
Monthly substantial gainful activity amounts by disability type
Year Blind Non-blind Year Blind Non-blind Year Blind Non-blind
1975 $200 $200 1990 $780 $500 2005 $1,380 $830
1976 230 230 1991 810 500 2006 1,450 860
1977 240 240 1992 850 500 2007 1,500 900
1978 334 260 1993 880 500 2008 1,570 940

https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html 4/10/2016




Substantial Gainful Activity

Page 2 of 2

1979 375 280 1994 930 500 2009 1,640 980
1980 417 300 1995 940 500 2010 1,640 1,000
1981 459 300 1096 960 500 2011 1,640 1,000
1982 - 500 300 1997 1,000 500 2012 1,690 1,010
1983 550 300 1998 1,050 500 2013 1,740 1,040
1984 580 300 1999 1,110 700- 2014 1,800 1,070
1985 610 300 2000 1,170 700 2015 1,820 1,090
1986 650 300 2001 1,240 740 2016 1,820 1,130
1087 680 300 2002 1,300 780
1988 700 300 2003 1,330 800
1989 740 300 2004 1,350 810
2$500 amount applied in the ﬁrst.half of 1999,
4/10/2016

https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/sga.html



State Operations Manual

Pce RET

Appendix PP - Guidance to Surveyors for

Long Term Care Facilities

Table of Contents

(Rev. 149, 10-09-13)

Transmittals for Appendix PP
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§483.10 Resident Rights

§483.10(a) Exercise of Rights

§483.10(b) Notice of Rights and Services
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§483.10(e) Privacy and Confidentiality
§483.10(t) Grievances |

§483.10(g) Exar;lination of Survey Results
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§483.10(0) Refusal of Certain Transfers

§483.12 Admission, Transfer, and Discharge Rights
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§483.12(b) Notice of Bed-Hold Policy and Readmission
§483.12(c) Equal Access to Quality Care
§483.12(d) Admissions Policy

§483.13 Resident Behavior and Faciiity Practices



hospitalization or therapeutic leave, and whose absence exceeds the bed-hold period as defined
by the State plan, to return to the facility in the first available bed. (See §483.12(b).)

A resident cannot be transferred for non-payment if he or she has submitted to a third party payor
all the paperwork necessary for the bill to be paid. Non-payment would occur if a third party
payor, including Medicare or Medicaid, denies the claim and the resident refused to pay for his or

her stay.

§483.10(0), Tag F177, addresses the right of residents to refuse certain transfers within an
institution on the basis of payment status.

F201
§483.12(a)(2) Transfer and Discharge Requirements

The facility must permit each resident to remain in the facility, and not transfer or
discharge the resident from the facility unless--

(i) The transfer or discharge is necessary for the resident’s welfare and the resident’s -
needs cannot be met in the facility;

(ii) The transfer or discharge is appropriate because the resident’s health has improved
sufficiently so the resident no longer needs the services provided by the facility;

(iii) The safefy of individuals in the facility is endangered;

(iv)The health of individuals in the facility would otherwise be endangered;

(v) The resident has failed, after reasonable and ‘appropriate notice, to pay for (or to
.have paid under Medicare or Medicaid) a stay at the facility. For a resident who
becomes eligible for Medicaid after admission to a nursing facility, the nursing facility
may charge a resident only allowable charges under Medicaid; or

(vi) The facility ceases to operate.

SEE GUIDANCE UNDER TAG 202

F202
(Rev. 127, Issued: 11-26-14, Effective: 11-26-14, Implementation: 11-26-14)

§483.12(a)(3) Documentation

When the facility transfers or discharges a resident under any of the circumstances
specified in paragraphs (a)2)(d) through (v) of this section, the resident’s clinical record
must be documented. The documentation must be made by--

e



(i) The resident’s physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph
(2)(2)(i) or paragraph (a)(2)(ii) of this section; and

(i) A physician when transfer or discharge is necessary under paragraph (a)(2)(iv) of
this section.

Interpretive Guidelines:§483.12(a)(2) and (3)

If transfer is due to a significant change in the resident’s condition, but not an emergency

requiring an immediate transfer, then prior to any action, the facility must conduct the

appropriate assessment to determine if a new care plan would allow the facility to meet the
resident’s needs. (See §483.20(b)(4)(iv), F274, for information concerning assessment upon
significant change.)

Conversion from a private pay rate to payment at the Medicaid rate does not constitute non-
payment.

Refusal of treatment would not constitute grounds for transfer, unless the facility is unable to
meet the needs of the resident or protect the health and safety of others.

Documentation of the transfer/discharge may be completed by a physician extender unless
prohibited by State law or facility policy.

If a nursing home'discharges a resident or retaliates due to an existing resident’s failure to sign or
comply with a binding arbitration agreement, the State and Region may initiate an enforcement

action based on a violation of the rules governing resident discharge and transfer. A current
resident is not obligated to sign a new admission agreement that contains binding arbitration.

Procedures:§483.12(a)(2) and (3)
During closed record review, determine the reasons for transfer/discharge.
If the entity to which the resident was discharged is another long term care facility, evaluate the

extent to which the discharge summary and the resident’s physician justify why the facility could
not meet the needs of this resident.

Probes: §483.12(a)(2) and (3)
Do records document accurate assessments and attempts through care planning to address
resident’s needs through multi-disciplinary interventions, accommodation of individual needs

and attention to the resident’s customary routines?

Did the resident’s physician document the record if:



o The resident was transferred/discharged for the sake of the resident’s welfare and
the resident’s needs could not be met in the facility (e.g., a resident develops an
acute condition requiring hospitalization)? or '

o The resident’s health improved to the extent that the transferred/discharged
resident no longer needed the services of the facility.

Did a physician document the record if residents were transferred because the health of
individuals in the facility is endangered?

Do the records of residents transferred/discharged due to safety reasons reflect the process by
which the facility concluded that in each instance transfer or discharge was necessary? Did the
survey team observe residents with similar safety concerns in the facility? If so, determine
differences between these residents and those who were transferred or discharged.

Look for changes in source of payment coinciding with transfer. If you find such transfer,
determine if the transfers were triggered by one of the criteria specified in §483.12(a)(2).

«  Ask the ombudsman if there were any complaints regarding transfer and/or discharge. If
there were, what was the result of the ombudsman’s investigation?

F203
(Rev. 107, Issued: 04-04-14, Effective: 04-04-14, Implementation: 04-04-14)

§483.12(a)(4) Notice Before Transfer
Before a facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility must--
(i) Notify the resident and, if known, a family meémber or legal representative of the
resident of the transfer or discharge and the reasons for the move in writing and in a
language and manner they understand.
(ii) Record the reasons in the resident’s clinical record; and
(iii) Include in the notice the items described in paragraph (2)(6) of this section.
§483.12(a)(5) Timing of the notice.
(i) Except when specified in paragraph (a)(5)(ii) of this section, the notice of transfer or
discharge required under paragraph (a)(4) of this section must be made by the facility

at least 30 days before the resident is transferred or discharged.

(ii) Notice may be made as soon as practicable before transfer or discharge when--
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or money without the resident’s
consent.

Neglect is the failure of the facility, its
employees or service providers to
provide goods and services to a resident
that are necessary to avoid physical
harm, pain, mental anguish or mental
illness.

Nurse aide. A nurse aide is any
individual providing nursing or
nursing-related services to residents in a
facility. This term may also include an
individual who provides these services
through an agency or under a contract
with the facility, but is not a licensed
health professional, a registered
dietitian, or someone who volunteers to
provide such services without pay.
Nurse aides do not include those
individuals who furnish services to
residents only as paid feeding assistants
as defined in § 488.301 of this chapter.

Person-centered care. For purposes of
this subpart, person-centered care
means to focus on the resident as the
locus of control and support the
resident in making their own choices
and having control over their daily
lives.

Resident representative. For purposes
of this subpart, the term resident
representative means an individual of
the resident’s choice who has access to
information and participates in
healthcare discussions or a personal
representative with legal standing, such
as a power of attorney, legal guardian,
or health care surrogate appointed or
designated in accordance with state law.
If selected as the resident representative,
the same-sex spouse of a resident must
be afforded treatment equal to that
afforded to an opposite-sex spouse if the
marriage was valid in the jurisdiction in
which it was celebrated.

Sexual abuse is non-consensual
sexual contact of any type with a
resident.

Transfer and discharge includes
movement of a resident to a bed outside
of the certified facility whether that bed
is in the same physical plant or not.
Transfer and discharge does not refer to
movement of a resident to a bed within
the same certified facility.
® 13. Section 483.10 is revised to read
as follows:

§483.10 Resident rights.

The resident has a right to a dignified
existence, self-determination, and
communication with and access to
persons and services inside and outside
the facility, including those specified in
this section.

(a) Exercise of rights. (1) The resident
has the right to exercise his or her rights
as aresident of the facility and as a
citizen or resident of the United States.

{2) The resident has the right to be
free of interference, coercion,
discrimination, and reprisal from the
facility in exercising his or her rights
and to be supported by the facility in
the exercise of his or her rights as
required under this subpart.

(3) A resident has the right to
designate a representative, in
accordance with State law.

(i) The resident representative has the
right to exercise the resident’s rights to
the extent those rights are delegated to
the resident representative. .

(ii) The resident retains the right to
exercise those rights not delegated to a
resident representative, including the
right to revoke a delegation of rights,
except as limited by State law.

(4) In the case of a resident adjudged
incompetent under the laws of a State
by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
rights of the resident devolve to and are
exercised by the resident representative
appointed under State law to act on the
resident’s behalf.

(i) The resident may exercise his or
her rights to the extent not prohibited by
court order.

(ii) The court-appointed resident
representative exercises the resident’s
rights to the extent judged necessary by
a court of competent jurisdiction, in
accordance with State law. ’

(iii) The resident’s wishes and
preferences must be considered in the
exercise of rights by the representative.

(iv) To the extent practicable, the
resident must be provided with
opportunities to participate in the care
planning process.

(5) In the case of a resident who has
not been adjudged incompetent by the
state court, any legal surrogate
designated in accordance with state law
may exercise the resident’s rights to the
extent provided by state law. The same-
sex spouse of a resident must be
afforded treatment equal to that afforded
to an opposite-sex spouse if the
marriage was valid in the jurisdiction in
which it was celebrated.

(b) Planning and implementing care.
The resident has the right to be
informed of, and participate in, his or
her treatment, including:

(1) The right to be fully informed in
language that he or she can understand
of his or her total health status,
including but not limited to, his or her
medical condition.

(2) The right to be informed, in
advance, of the care to be furnished and
the disciplines that will furnish care.

(3) The right to be informed in
advance of the risks and benefits of
proposed care, of treatment and
treatment alternatives or treatment

options and to choose the alternative or
option he or she prefers.

(4) The right to request, refuse, and/
or discontinue treatment, to participate
in or refuse to participate in
experimental research, and to formulate
an advance directive as specified in
§483.11(e)(6).

(5) The right to participate in the
development and implementation of his
or her person-centered plan of care,
including but not limited to:

(i) The right to participate in the
planning process, including the right to
identify individuals or roles to be
included in the planning process, the
right to request meetings and the right
to request revisions to the person-
centered plan of care.

(ii) The right to participate in
establishing the expected goals and
outcomes of care, the type, amount,
frequency, and duration of care, and any
other factors related to the effectiveness
of the plan of care.

(iii) The right to be informed, in
advance, of changes to the plan of care.

(iv) The right to receive the services
and/or items included in the plan of
care.

{v) The right to see the care plan,
including the right to sign after changes
to the plan of care. .

(6) The right to self-administer
medications if the interdisciplinary
team has determined that this practice
is clinically appropriate in accordance
with §483.11(b)(2). -

(7) Nothing in this paragraph should
be construed as the right of the resident
to receive the provision of medical
treatment or medical services deemed
medically unnecessary or inappropriate.

(c) Choice of attending physician. The
resident has the right fo choose iis or

her attending physician.
b_[TT'TFPﬁ%l_cﬁﬁﬁﬁfbe licensed to
practice, and

(2) The physician must meet the
professional credentialing requirements
of the facility.

(3) If the physician chosen by the
resident refuses to or does not meet
requirements specified in this part, the
facility may seek alternate physician
participation as specified in § 483.11{c)
to assure provision of appropriate and
adequate care and treatment.

(d) Respect and dignity. The resident
has a right to be treated with respect and
dignity, including:

(1) The right to be free from any
physical or chemical restraints imposed
for purposes of discipline or
convenience, and not required to treat
the resident’s medical symptoms.

(2) The right to retain and use
personal possessions, including
furnishings, and clothing, as space
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permits, unless to do so would infringe
upon the rights or health and safety of
other residents.

(3) The right to reside and receive
services in the facility with reasonable
accommodation of resident needs and
preferences except when to do so would
endanger the health or safety of the
resident or other residents.

(4) The right to share a room with his
or her spouse when married residents
live in the same facility and both
spouses consent to the arrangement.

(5) The right to share a room with his
or her roommate of choice when :
practicable, when both residents live in
the same facility and both residents
consent to the arrangement.

(6) The right to receive notice before
the resident’s room or roommate in the
facility is changed.

(7) The right to refuse to transfer to -
another room in the facility, if the
purpose of the transfer is to relocate:

(i) A resident of a SNF from the
distinct part of the institution that is a
SNF to a part of the institution that is
not a SNF, or

(ii) A resident of a NF from the
distinct part of the institution that is a
NF to a distinct part of the institution
that is a SNF.

{8) A resident’s exercise of the right to
refuse transfer does not affect the
resident’s eligibility or entitlement to
Medicare or Medicaid benefits. '

(e) Self-determination. The resident
has the right to self-determination,
including but not limited to the right
to—

(1) Choose activities, schedules
(including sleeping and waking times),
health care and providers of health care
- services consistent with his or her
interests, assessments, and plan of care;

(2) Interact with members of the
community and participate in
community activities both inside and
outside the facility;

(3) Receive visitors of his or her
choosing at the time of his or her
choosing, subject to the resident’s right
to deny visitation, and in a manner that
does not impose on the rights of another
resident, including the individuals
specified in §483.11(d);

{4) Organize and participate in
resident groups in the facility;

(5) Participate in family groups;

{6) Have family member(s) or other
resident representative(s) meet in the
facility with the families or resident
representative(s) of other residents in
the facility;

(7) Participate in other activities,
including social, religious, and
community activities that do not
interfere with the rights of other
residents in the facility;

(8) Choose to or refuse to perform
services for the facility subject to the
facility requirements in § 483.11(d)(4);

{9) Manage his or her financial affairs.
This includes the right to know, in
advance, what charges a facility may
impose against a resident’s personal
funds as specified in §483.11(d)(6)(ii);

(10) Make choices about aspects of his
or her life in the facility that are .
significant to the resident.

() Access to information. (1) The
resident has the right to be informed of
his or her rights and of all rules and
regulations governing resident conduct
and responsibilities during his or her
stay in the facility.

(2) The resident has the right to
receive notices verbally (meaning
spoken) and in writing (including
Braille) in a format and a language he or
she understands, including

{i) Required notices as specified in
§483.11(e);

(ii) Information and contact
information for State and local advocacy
organizations, including but not limited
to the State Long-Term Care
Ombudsman program {established
under section 712 of the Older
Americans Act of 1965, as amended
2006 (42 U.S.C. 3001 et seq) and the
protection and advocacy system (as
designated by the state, and as
established under the Developmental
Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights
Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C. 15001 et seq.);
 (iii) Information regarding Medicare
and Medicaid eligibility and coverage;

{iv) Contact information for the Aging
and Disability Resource Center
(established under Section -
202(a)(20)(B)(iii) of the Older Americans
Act); or other No Wrong Door Program

(v) Contact information for the
Medicaid fraud control unit; and

(vi) Information and contact
information for filing grievances or
complaints about abuse, neglect,
misappropriation of resident property in
the facility, and non-compliance with
§489.102 of this chapter.

(3) The resident has the right to access
medical records pertaining to him or
herself,—

(i) Upon an oral or written request, in
the form and format requésted by the
individual, if it is readily producible in
such form and format (including in an
electronic form or format when such
medical records are maintained
electronically); or, if not, in a readable

‘hard copy form or such other form and
_format as agreed to by the facility and

the individual, including current
medical records, within 24 hours
{excluding weekends and holidays); and
(ii) After receipt of his or her medical
records for inspection, to purchase, a

copy of the medical records or any
portions thereof (including in an
electronic form or format when such
medical records are maintained
electronically) upon request and 2
working days advance notice to the
facility. The facility may impose a
reasonable, cost-based fee on the
provision of copies, provided that the
fee includes only the cost of:

(A) Labor for copying the medical
records requested by the individual,
whether in paper or electronic form;

(B) Supplies for creating the paper
copy or electronic media if the
individual requests that the electronic
cogy be provided on portable media;
an '
(C) Postage, when the individual has
requested the copy be mailed.

(4) The resident has the right to—

(i) Examine the results of the most
recent survey of the facility conducted
by Federal or State surveyors and any
plan of correction in effect with respect
to the facility; and

(i1} Receive information from agencies
acting as client advocates, and be
afforded the opportunity to contact
these agencies.

(g) Privacy and confidentiality. The
resident has a right to personal privacy
and confidentiality of his or her
personal and medical records.

(1) This includes the right to privacy
in his or her verbal (that is, spoken),
written, and electronic communications,
including the right to send and
promptly receive unopened mail and
other letters, packages and other
materials delivered to the facility for the
resident, including those delivered
through a means other than a postal
service.

(2) Personal privacy includes
accommodations, medical freatment,
written and telephone communications,
personal care, visits, and meetings of
family and resident groups, but this
does not require the facility to provide
a private room for each resident;

(3) The resident has a right to a secure
and confidential medical record.

(4) The resident has the right to refuse
the release of personal and medical
records except as provided at
§ 483.70(i)(2) or other applicable federal
or state laws.

(h) Communication. (1) The resident
has the right to have reasonable access
to the use of a telephone, including TTY
and TDD services, and a place in the
facility where calls can be made without
being overheard. This includes the right
to retain and use a cellular phone at the
resident’s own expense.

(2) The resident has the right to have
reasonable access to and privacy in their
use of electronic communications such
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as email and video communications and
for internet research.

(i) If the access is available to the
facility.

(ii) At the resident’s expense, if any
additional expense is incurred by the
facility to provide such access to the
resident.

(3) The resident has the right to send
and receive mail, and to receive letters,
packages and other materials delivered
to the facility for the resident through a
means other than a postal service,
including the right to:

(i) Privacy of such communications
consistent with paragraph (g)(1) of this
section; and

(ii) Access to stationery, postage, and
writing implements at the resident’s
OWIL expense.

(i) Safe environment. The resident has
aright to a safe, clean, comfortable and
homelike environment in accordance
with § 483.11(g), including but not
limited to receiving treatment and
supports for daily living safely.

g?Gn’evances. (1) The resident has the
right to voice grievances to the facility
or other agency or entity that hears
grievances without discrimination or
reprisal and without fear of
discrimination or reprisal. Such
grievances include those with respect to
care and treatment which has been
furnished as well as that which has not
been furnished.

(2) The resident has the right to
prompt efforts by the facility to resolve
grievances in accordance with
§483.11(h).

m 14. Section 483.11 is added to subpart
B to read as follows:

§483.11 Facility responsibilities.

A facility must treat each resident
with respect and dignity and care for
each resident in a manner and in an
environment that promotes maintenance
or enhancement of his or her quality of
life, recognizing each resident’s
individuality. The facility must protect '
and promote the rights of the resident as
specified in § 483.10, including, but not
limited to the following obligations:

~ (a) Exercise of rights. (1) The facility
must ensure that the resident can
exercise his or her rights without
interference, coercion, discrimination,
or reprisal from the facility.

(2) The facility must provide equal
access to quality care regardless of
diagnosis, severity of condition, or
payment source. A facility must
establish and maintain identical policies
and practices regarding transfer,
discharge, and the provision of services
under the State plan for all residents
regardless of payment source.

(3) The faci%ty must treat the

decisions of a resident representative as

the decisions of the resident to the
extent required by the court or delegated
by the resident, in accordance with
applicable law.

(4) The facility shall not extend the
resident representative the right to make
decisions on behalf of the resident
beyond the extent required by the court
or delegated by the resident, in
accordance with applicable law.

(5) If the facility has reason to believe
that a resident representative is making
decisions or taking actions that are not
in the best interests of a resident, the
facility may report such concerns as
permitted and shall report such
concerns when and in the manner
required under State law.

(b) Planning and implementing care.
(1) The facility shall inform the resident
of the right to participate in his or her
treatment and shall support the resident
in this right, consistent with § 483.10(b).
The planning process must:

(i) Facilitate the inclusion of the
resident or resident representative.

(ii) Include an assessment of the
resident’s strengths and needs.

(iii) Incorporate the resident’s
personal and cultural preferences in
developing goals of care.

(2) The interdisciplinary team, as
defined by § 483.21(b)(2)(ii), is
responsible for determining if resident
self-administration of medications is
clinically appropriate.

(c) Attending physician. (1) The
facility must ensure that each resident
remains informed of the name,
specialty, and way of contacting the
physician and other primary care
professionals responsible for his or her
care.

(2) The facility roust inform the
resident if the facility determines that
the physician chosen by the resident is
unable or unwilling to meet
requirements specified in this part and
the facility seeks alternate physician
participation to assure provision of
appropriate and adequate care and
treatment. The facility must discuss the
alternative physician participation with
the resident and honor the resident’s
preferences, if any, among options.

3) If the resident subsequently selects
another attending physician who meets
the requirements specified, in this part,
the facility must honor that choice.

(d) Self-determination. The facility
must promote and facilitate resident
self-determination through support of
resident choice as specified in
§ 483.10(e) and as follows:

(1) The facility must:

(1) Provide immediate access to any
resident by:

{A) Any representative of the
Secretary,

(B) Any representative of the State,

{C) Any representative of the Office of
the State long term care ombudsman,
(established under section 712 of the
Older Americans Act of 1965, as
amended 2006 {42 U.S.C. 3001 et seq.);

(D} The resident’s individual
physician,

(E) Any representative of the
protection and advocacy systems, as
designated by the state, and as
established under the Developmental
Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights
Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C. 15001 et seq.),

(F) Any representative of the agency
responsible for the protection and
advocacy system for individuals with
mental illness (established under the
Protection and Advocacy for Mentally
111 Individuals Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C.
10802); and

(G) The resident representative.

(ii) Provide immediate access to a
resident by immediate family and other
relatives of the resident, subject to the
resident’s right to deny or withdraw
consent at any time;

(iii) Provide immediate access to a
resident by others who are visiting with
the consent of the resident, subject to
reasonable clinical and safety
restrictions and the resident’s right to
deny or withdraw consent at any time;

(iv) Provide reasonable access to a
resident by any entity or individual that
provides health, social, legal, or other
services to the resident, subject to the
resident’s right to deny or withdraw
consent at any time; and

(2) The facility must have written
policies and procedures regarding the
visitation rights of residents, including
those setting forth any clinically
necessary or reasonable restriction or
limitation or safety restriction or
limitation that the facility may need to
place on such rights and the reasons for
the clinical or safety restriction or
limitation. A facility must meet the
following requirements:

(i) Inform each resident (or resident
representative, where appropriate) of his
or her visitation rights, including any
clinical or safety restriction or limitation
on such rights, when he or she is
informed of his or her other rights under
this section.

(ii) Inform each resident of the right,
subject to his or her consent, to receive
the visitors whom he or she designates,
including, but not limited to, a spouse
(including a same-sex spouse), a
domestic partner (including a same-sex
domestic partner), another family
member, or a friend, and his or her right
to withdraw or deny such consent at
any time.

(iii) Not restrict, limit, or otherwise
deny visitation privileges on the basis of
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(B) Each covered individual shall
report not later than 2 hours after
forming the suspicion, if the events that
cause the suspicion result in serious
bodily injury, or not later than 24 hours
if the events that cause the suspicion do
not result in serious bodily injury.

(ii) Posting a conspicuous notice of
employee rights, as defined at section
1150B(d)(3) of the Act.

(iii) Prohibiting and preventing
retaliation, as defined at section
1150B{d)(1) and (2) of the Act.

(c) In response to allegations of abuse,
neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment,
the facility must:

(1) Ensure that all alleged violations
involving abuse, neglect, exploitation or
mistreatment, including injuries of
unknown source and misappropriation
of resident property, are reported
immediately to the administrator of the
facility and to other officials (including
to the State survey and certification
agency and adult protective services
where state law provides for jurisdiction
in long-term care facilities) in
accordance with State law through
established procedures.

(2) Have evidence that all alleged
violations are thoroughly investigated.

(3) Prevent further potential abuse,
neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment
while the investigation is in progress.

(4) Report the results of all
investigations to the administrator or his
resident representative and to other
officials in accordance with State law
(including to the State survey and
certification agency) within 5 working
days of the incident, and if the alleged
violation is verified appropriate
corrective action must be taken.

§483.13 [Removed]

m 16. Remove §483.13.

W 17. Section 483.15 is revised to read
as follows:

§483.15 Transitions of care.

Transitions of care include
admissions to and discharges or
transfers to or from a SNF or NF. This
section also addresses bed-hold policies
and therapeutic leave.

(a) Admissions policy. (1) The facility
must establish and implement an
admissions policy.

(2) The facility must—

{i) Not request or require residents or
potential residents to waive their rights
as set forth in this subpart and in
applicable State, Federal or local
licensing or certification laws, including
but not limited to their rights to
Medicare or Medicaid; and

(ii) Not request or require oral or
written assurance that residents or -
potential residents are not eligible for,

or will not apply for, Medicare or
Medicaid benefits.

(iii) Not request or require residents or
potential residents to waive potential
facility liability for losses of personal
property ’

(3) The facility must not request or
require a third party guarantee of
payment to the facility as a condition of
admission or expedited admission, or
continued stay in the facility, However,
the facility may request and require a
resident representative who has legal
access to a resident’s income or
resources available to pay for facility
care to sign a contract, without
incurring personal financial liability, to
provide facility payment from the
resident’s income or resources.

{4) In the case of a person eligible for
Medicaid, a nursing facility must not
charge, solicit, accept, or receive, in
addition to any amount otherwise
required to be paid under the State plan,
any gift, money, donation, or other
consideration as a precondition of
admission, expedited admission or
continued stay in the facility.
However,—

(i) A nursing facility may charge a
resident who is eligible for Medicaid for
items and services the resident has
requested and received, and that are not
specified in the State plan as included
in the term “nursing facility services” so
long as the facility gives proper notice
of the availability and cost of these
services to residents and does not

condition the resident’s admission or

continued stay on the request for and
receipt of such additional services; and

(ii) A nursing facility may solicit,
accept, or receive a charitable, religious,
or philanthropic contribution from an
organization or from a person unrelated
to a Medicaid eligible resident or
potential resident, but only to the extent
that the contribution is not a condition
of admission, expedited admission, or
continued stay in the facility for a
Medicaid eligible resident.

(5) States or political subdivisions
may apply stricter admissions standards
under State or local laws than are
specified in this section, to prohibit
discrimination against individuals
entitled to Medicaid.

(6) A nursing facility must disclose
and provide to a resident or potential
resident, at or prior to time of
admission, notice of special
characteristics or service limitations of
the facility.

(7) A nursing facility that is a
composite distinct part as defined in
§ 483.5(c) must disclose in its admission
agreement its physical configuration,
including the various locations that
comprise the composite distinct part,

and must specify the policies that apply
to room changes between its different
locations under paragraph (b)(10) of this
section.

(b) Transfer and discharge—(1)
Facility requirements—(i) Equal access
to quality care. (A) A facility must
establish, maintain and implement
identical policies and practices
regarding transfer, discharge, and the
provision of services for all individuals
regardless of source of payment;

(B) The facility may charge any
amount for services furnished to non-
Medicaid residents unless otherwise
limited by state law and consistent with
the notice requirement in
§483.11(e)(11)(i) and (e)(12) describing
the charges; and

(C) The State is not required to offer
additional services on behalf of a
resident other than services provided in
the State plan.

(ii) facili . i
resident to remain in the facility, and

~ not transfer or discharge the resident

e facility unless—

(A)The i ¢ is
@ecessary for the resident’s welfare and
he resident’s needs cannof be metan
«the.facility:,

(B).The transfer or discharge is

appropriate because the resident’s
health has improved sufficiently.so the
o)

resid er needs the services

~proyvided by.the facility, _
(C) The safety of individuals in the

facility is endangered due to the clinical
or behavioral status of the resident;

(D) The health of individuals in the
facility would otherwise be endangered;

(E) The resident has failed, after
reasonable and appropriate notice, to
pay for (or to have paid under Medicare
or Medicaid) a stay at the facility. Non-
payment does not apply unless the
resident does not submit the necessary
paperwork for third party payment or
until the third party, including
Medicare or Medicaid, denies the claim
and the resident refuses to pay for his
or her stay. For a resident who becomes
eligible for Medicaid after admission to
a facility, the facility may charge a
resident only allowable charges under
Medicaid; or

(F) The facility ceases to operate.

(iii) ili '

ing, pursuant to §431.230 of this
chapter, when a resident exercises his or
her right to appeal a transfer or
discharge notice from the facility
pursuant to §431.220(a)(3) of this
chapter.. :

(2) Documentation. When the facility
transfers or discharges a resident under
any of the circumstances specified in
paragraphs (b)(1)()(A} through (F) of
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this section, the facility must ensure
that the transfer or discharge is
documented in the resident’s clinical
record and appropriate information is
communicated to the receiving health
care institution or prov1der

(i) Documentation in the resident’s
clinical record must include:

(A) The basis for the transfer per
paragraph (b)(1)(ii).

(B) In the case of paragraph
(b)(1){ii)(A) of this section, the specific
resident need(s) that cannot be met,
facility attempts to meet the resident
needs, and the service available at the
receiving facility to meet the need(s).

(ii) The documentation must be made

¥V —

(A) The resident’s physician when
transfer or discharge is necessary under

@magraph (b)(1)(3)(A) or (B) of this
and

(B) A physician when transfer or
discharge is necessary under paragraph
(b)(1)(1)(C) or (D) of this section.

(iii) Information provided to the
receiving provider must include a
minimum of the following:

(A) Demographic information
including but not limited to name, sex,
date of birth, race, ethnicity, and
preferred language.

(B) Resident representative
information including contact
information.

(C) Advance Directive information.
(D) History of present illness/reason
for transfer including primary care team

contact information.

(E) Past medical/surgical hlstory,
including procedures.

(F) Active diagnoses/Current problem
list and status.

(G) Laboratory tests and the resulis of
pertinent laboratory and other
diagnostic testing.

(H) Functional status.

(I) Psychosocial assessment, including
cognitive status.

(J} Social Supports

(K) Behavioral Health Issues

(L) Medications.

(M) Allergies, including medication
allergies.

(N) Immunizations.

(O) Smoking status.

(P) Vital signs.

(Q) Unique device identifier(s) for a
patient’s implantable device(s), if any.

(R) Comprehensive Care plan goals,
including health concerns, assessment
and plan, resident preferences,
interventions, including efforts to meet
resident needs, and resident status.

(iv) This requirement may be satisfied
by the discharge summary providing it
meects the requirements of § 483.21(c)
and includes at a minimum the
information specified in paragraph
(b)(2)(iii) of this section.

(3) Notice before transfer. Before a
facility transfers or discharges a
re51dent the facility must—

(i) Notify the resident and the
remdent s representative(s) of the
transfer or discharge and the reasons for
the move in writing and in a language
and manner they understand. Subject to
the resident’s agreement, the facility
must send a copy of the notice to a
representative of the Office of the State
Long-Term Care Ombudsman.

(ii) Record the reasons for the transfer
or discharge in the resident’s clinical
record in accordance with paragraph
(b)(2) of this section; and

(iii) Include in the notice the items
described in paragraph (b)(5) of this
section.

(4) Timing of the notice. (i) Except as
specified in paragraphs (b)(4){(ii) and
(b)(8) of this section, the notice of
transfer or discharge required under this
section must be made by the facility at
least 30 days before the resident is
transferred or discharged.

(ii)} Notice must be made as soon as
practicable before transfer or discharge
when—

(A) The safety of individuals in the
fac1hty would be endangered under

aragraph (b)(1)(ii)(C) of this sectlon,

B) The health of individuals in the
facility would be endangered, under
para h (b)(1)(1i)(D) of this section;

T e resident’s healthimproves
suff1c1ent1y to allow a more immediate
transfer or discharge, under paragraph
{(b)(1)(i1){B) of this section;

(D) An immediate transfer or
discharge is required by the resident’s
urgent medical needs, under paragraph
(b)(2)(i1)(A) of this section; or

(E) A resident has not resided in the
facility for 30 days.

(5) Contents of the notice. The wntten
notice specified in paragraph (b)(3) of
this section must include the following:

(i) The reason for transfer or
discharge;

(i) The effective date of transfer or
discharge;

(iii) The location to which the
resident is expected to be transferred or
discharged;

(iv) A statement that the resident has
the right to appeal the action to the
State, the name, address (mailing and
email), and telephone number of the
State entity which receives such
requests; and information on how to
obtain an appeal form and assistance in
completing the form and submitting the
appeal hearing request;

(v) The name, a dress (mailing and
email) and telephone number of the
Office of the State Long-Term Care
Ombudsman;

{vi) For nursing facility residents with
intellectual and developmental

disabilities, the mailing and email
address and telephone number of the
agency responsible for the protection
and advocacy of individuals with
developmental disabilities established
under Part C of the Developmental
Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights
Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C. 10802); and

(vii) For nursing facility residents
with mental illness, the mailing and
email address and telephone number of
the agency responsible for the
protection and advocacy of individuals
with mental illness established under
the Protection and Advocacy for
Mentally 11l Individuals Act.

(6) Changes to the notice. If the
information in the notice changes prior
to effecting the transfer or discharge, the
facility must update the recipients of the
notice as soon as practicable once the
updated information becomes available.

{7} Orientation for transfer or
discharge. A facility must provide and
document sufficient preparation and
orientation to residents to ensure safe
and orderly transfer or discharge from
the facility. This orientation must be
provided in a form and manner that the
resident can understand.

(8) Notice in advance of facility
closure. In the case of facility closure,
the individual who is the administrator
of the facility must provide written
notification prior to the impending
closure to the State Survey Agency, the
Office of the State Long-Term Care
Ombudsman, residents of the facility,
and the resident representatives of the
residents or other responsible parties, as
well as the plan for the transfer and
adequate relocation of the residents, as
required at § 483.70(1).

(9) Room changes in a composite
distinct part. Room changes in a facility
that is a composite distinct part (as
defined in §483.5) are subject to the
requirements of § 483.10(d)(7) and must
be limited to moves within the
particular building in which the
resident resides, unless the resident
voluntarily agrees to move to another of
the composite distinct part’s locations.

(c) Notice of bed-hold policy and
readmission—(1) Notice before transfer.
Before a nursing facility transfers a
resident to a hospital or the resident
goes on therapeutic leave, the nursing
facility must provide written
information to the resident or resident
representative that specifies—

(i) The duration of the state bed-hold
policy, if any, during which the resident
is permitted to return and resume
residence in the nursing facility;

(ii) The reserve bed payment policy in
the state plan, under § 447.40 of this
chapter, if any;
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CMCS Informational Bulletin

DATE: July 7,2014

FROM: Cindy Mann, Director
Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services

SUBJECT: Clarification of Medicaid Coverage of Services to Children with Autism

In response to increased interest and activity with respect to services available to children with
autism spectrum disorder (ASD), CMS is providing information on approaches available under .
the federal Medicaid program for providing services to eligible individuals with ASD.

Backgroun'd

Autism spectrum disorder is a developmental disability that can cause significant social,
communication and behavioral challenges. A diagnosis of ASD now includes several conditions
that used to be diagnosed separately: autistic disorder, pervasive developmental disorder not
otherwise specified (PDD-NOS), and Asperger syndrome. These conditions are now all called
autism spectrum disorder. Currently, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
estimates that approximately 1 in 68 children has been identified with ASD. !

Treatments for children with ASD can improve physical and mental development. Generally
these treatments can be categorized in four categories: 1) behavioral and communication
approaches; 2) dietary approaches; 3) medications; and 4) complementary and alternative
medicine. 2 While much of the current national discussion focuses on one particular treatment
modality called Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA), there are other recognized and emerging
treatment modalities for children with ASD, including those described in the ASD Services,
Final Report on Environmental Scan (see link below)”. This bulletin provides information
related to services available to individuals with ASD through the federal Medicaid program.

The federal Medicaid program may reimburse for services to address ASD through a variety of
authorities. Services can be reimbursed through section 1905(a) of the Social Security Act (the
~ Act), section 1915(i) state plan Home and Community-Based Services, section 1915(c) Home

* htip://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/facts.html

2 http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/treatment.html

3 http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid—CHIP-Program-lnformation/Bv-Topics/Long—Term—Services-and-
Supports/Downloads/Autism-Spectrum-Disorders.pdf
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and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver programs and section 1115 research and
demonstration programs.

State Plan Authorities

Under the Medicaid state plan, services to address ASD may be covered under several different
section 1905(a) benefit categories. Those categories include: section 1905(a)(6) - services of
other licensed practitioners; section 1905(a)(13)(c) - preventive services; and section 1905(2)(10)
- therapy services. States electing these services may need to update the Medicaid state plan in
order to ensure federal financial participation (FFP) is available for expenditures for these
services. In addition, for children, as discussed below, states must cover services that could
otherwise be covered at state option under these categories consistent with the provisions at
1905(a)(4)(B) for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment services (EPSDT).
Below is information on these coverage categories for services to address ASD. Under these
section 1905(a) benefit categories all other state Medicaid plan requirements such state-wideness

and comparability must also be met.

Other Licensed Practitioner Services
Other Licensed Practitioner services (OLP) services, defined at 42 CFR 440.60, are “medical or

remedial care or services, other than physicians’ services, provided by licensed practitioners
within the scope of practice as defined under State law.” If a state licenses practitioners who
furnish services to address ASD, the state may elect to cover those providers under this section
of their state plan even if the providers are not covered under other sections of the plan (e.g.,
physical therapist, occupational therapist, etc.). A state would need to submit a state plan
amendment (SPA) to add the new licensed provider to their Medicaid plan. The SPA must
describe the provider’s qualifications and include a reimbursement methodology for paying the

provider.

In addition, services that are furnished by non-licensed practitioners under the supervision of a
licensed practitioner could be covered under the OLP benefit if the criteria below are met:

o Services are furnished directly by non-licensed practitioners who work under the
supervision of the licensed practitioners;

o The licensed provider is able to furnish the service being provided;

e The state’s Scope of Practice Act for the licensed practitioners specifically allows the

licensed practitioners to supervise the non-licensed practitioners who furnish the service;

e The state’s Scope of Practice Act also requires the licensed practitioners to assume
professional responsibility for the patient and the service furnished by the unlicensed
practitioner under their supervision; and

o The licensed practitioners bill for the service;

Preventive Services
Preventive Services, defined at 42 CFR 440.130(c) are “services recommended by a physician or

other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of his practice under state law to—
(1) Prevent disease, disability, and other health conditions or their progression;
(2) Prolong life; and
(3) Promote physical and mental health and efficiency”
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A regulatory change that took effect January 1, 2014, permits coverage of preventive services
furnished by non-licensed practitioners who meet the qualifications set by the state, to furnish
services under this state plan benefit as long at the services are recommended by a physician or
other licensed practitioner. Under the preventive services benefit, in the state plan, the state must
1) list the services to be provided to ensure that services meet the definition of preventive
services as stated in section 4385 of the State Medicaid Manual (including the requirement for
the service to involve direct patient care); 2) identify the type(s) of non-licensed practitioners
who may furnish the services; and 3) include a summary of the state’s provider qualifications
that make these practitioners qualified to furnish the services, including any required education,
training, experience, credentialing, supervision, oversight and/ or registration.

Therapy Services
Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for individuals with speech, hearing and

language disorders, may be covered under the Medicaid therapies benefit at 42 CFR 440.110.
Physical and occupational therapy must be prescribed by a physician or other licensed
practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of his/her practice under state law and provided
to a beneficiary by or under the direction of 2 qualified therapist. Services for individuals with
speech, hearing and language disorders mean diagnostic, screening, preventive or corrective
services provided by or under the direction of a speech pathologist or audiologist, for which a
patient is referred by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the
scope of his or her practice under state law.

States would need to include an assurance in the state plan that the state furnishes the therapy in
accordance with 42 CFR 440.110. States would also need to describe the supervisory
arrangements if a practitioner is furnishing the therapy under the direction of a qualified
therapist. Finally, for audiology services, the state plan must reflect the supervision requirements
as set forth at 42 CFR 440.110(c)(3).

Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act

States can offer a variety of services under a section 1915(i) state plan Home and Community-
Based Services (HCBS) benefit. The benefit may be targeted to one or more specific populations
including individuals with ASD and can provide services and supports above and beyond those
included in section 1905(a). Participants must meet state-defined criteria based on need and
typically receive a combination of acute-care medical services (like dental services, skilled
nursing services) and other long-term services such as respite care, supported employment,
habilitative supports, and environmental modifications. :

Other Medicaid Authorities

There are several other Medicaid: authorities that may be used to provide services to address
ASD. Below is a discussion of each of those authorities:

Section 1915 (c) of the Social Security Act
The section 1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services waiver program allows states to
provide a combination of medical services and long-term services and supports. Services include
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but are not limited to adult day health services, habilitation (both day and residential), and respite
care. States can also propose “other” types of services that may assist in diverting and/or
transitioning individuals from institutional settings into their homes and community. Participants
must meet an institutional level of care but are served in the community. Section 1915(c) waiver
programs also require that services be furnished in home and community-based settings. For
individuals under the age of 21 who are eligible for EPSDT services, an HCBS waiver could
provide services and supports for ASD that are above and beyond services listed in section
1905(a), such as respite care. Additionally, for individuals who are receiving state plan benefits
as part of EPSDT that are not available to adults under the state plan, waiver services may be
used to help these individuals transition into adulthood and not lose valuable necessary services

and supports.

Section 1115 Research and Demonstration Waiver

Section 1115 of the Act provides the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services
broad authority to authorize experimental, pilot, or demonstration programs that promote the
objectives of the Medicaid program. Flexibility under section 1115 is sufficiently broad to allow
States to test substantially new ideas, including benefit design or delivery system reform, of
policy merit. The Secretary can approve an 1115 demonstration for up to five years, and states
may submit extension requests to continue the program for additional periods of time.
Demonstrations must be "budget neutral" over the life of the program, meaning they cannot be
expected to cost the Federal government more than it would cost without the demonstration.

EPSDT Benefit Reguirements.

Section 1905(r) of the Act defines the EPSDT benefit to include a comprehensive array of
preventive, diagnostic, and treatment services for low-income infants, children and adolescents
under age 21. States are required to arrange for and cover for individuals eligible for the EPSDT
benefit any Medicaid coverable service listed in section 1905(a) of the Act that is determined to
be medically necessary to correct or ameliorate any physical or behavioral conditions. The
EPSDT benefit is more robust than the Medicaid benefit package required for adults and is
designed to assure that children receive early detection and preventive care, in addition to
medically necessary treatment services, so that health problems are averted or diagnosed and
treated as early as possible. All children, including children with ASD, must receive EPSDT
screenings designed to identify health and developmental issues, including ASD, as early as
possible. Good clinical practice requires ruling out any additional medical issues and not
assuming that a behavioral manifestation is always attributable to the ASD. EPSDT also
requires medically necessary diagnostic and treatment services. When a screening examination
indicates the need for further evaluation of a child’s health, the child should be appropriately
referred for diagnosis and treatment without delay. Ultimately, the goal of EPSDT is to assure
that children get the health care they need, when they need it — the right care to the right child at
the right time in the right setting.

The role of states is to make sure all covered services are available as well as to assure that
families of enrolled children, including children with ASD, are aware of and have dccess to a
broad range of services to meet the individual child’s needs; that is, all services that can be
covered under section 1905(a), including licensed practitioners’ services; speech, occupational,
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and physical therapies; physician services; private duty nursing; personal care services; home
health, medical equipment and supplies; rehabilitative services; and vision, hearing, and dental

services.

If a service, supply or equipment that has been determined to be medically necessary for a child
is not listed as covered (for adults) in a state’s Medicaid State Plan, the state will nonetheless
need to arrange for and cover it for the child as long as the service or supply is included within
the categories of mandatory and optional services listed in section 1905(a) of the Social Security
Act. This longstanding coverage design is intended to ensure a comprehensive, high-quality
health care benefit for eligible individuals under age 21, including for those with ASD, based on
individual determinations of medical necessity.

Implications for Existing Section 1915(c), Section 1915 (i) and Section 1115 Programs

In states with existing 1915(c) waivers that provide services to address ASD, this 1905(a) policy
clarification may impact on an individual’s eligibility for the waiver. Waiver services are
separated into two categories: waiver services and extended state plan services. Extended state
plan services related to section 1905(a) services are not available to individuals under the age of
21 (individuals eligible for EPSDT) because of the expectation that EPSDT will meet the
individual’s needs. There are therefore a limited number of services that can be provided to this
age group under 1915 (c) waivers, primarily respite, and/or environmental/vehicle modifications.

For states that currently provide waiver services to individuals under age 21 to address ASD, the
ability to provide services under the 1905(2) state plan may have the effect of making these
individuals ineligible for the waiver unless another waiver service is provided. This implication
is especially important for individuals with ASD who may not otherwise be eligible for Medicaid
absent the (c) waiver. States need to ensure that these individuals are receiving a waiver service,
not coverable under section. 1905(a), to ensure that they do not lose access to all Medicaid
services by losing waiver eligibility. Individuals age 21 and older may continue to receive
services to address ASD through the waiver if a state does not elect to provide these services to

adults under its Medicaid state plan.

The same issues arise for children under the 1915(i) authority, which allows for services above
and beyond section 1905(a) to be provided under the state plan. CMS is available to provide
technical assistance to states that currently have approved waivers or state plans that may be
impacted by this clarification. Similarly, states with existing 1115 demonstrations authorizing
reimbursement for services provided to children with autism should contact CMS to ensure that

EPSDT requirements are met.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have questions please send them to
AutismServicesQuestions@cms.hhs.gov.
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CMS Issﬁ“es’ Clarification of Medicaid Coverage of
Services to Children With Autism

(July 17, 2014) Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services officials released federal guidance for states on
Medicaid coverage of therapies for autism, and that guidance indicates such treatments are covered for
beneficiaries under age 21. While the guidance focuses on the provision of applied behavior analysis (ABA)

therapy, it also acknowledges other treatments,

The Center for Medicaid and CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Plan) Services, a division of CMS, released
an informational bulletin to clarify Medicaid coverage of services to children with autism. The bulletin was
issued in response to increased interest in this topic—specifically, the provision of ABA therapy. Although
the bulletin was written to address services for children with autism under the Medicaid program, it also
serves to clarify services that speech-language patholdgists and audiologists may provide to individuals

diagnosed with other conditions.

Melissa Harris, director, Division of Benefits and Coverage, Disabled and Elderly Health Program Group at
CMS, addressed the meeting of the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee JACC) regarding this
bulletin and emphasized that Medicaid covers ABA and similar services for children with autism. Ms. Harris
noted that Medicaid and programs. such as Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT)
benefit requirements do not name a specific treatment, but instead address the service needs of the individual.
As noted in the bulletin, "the goal of EPSDT is to assure that children get the health care they need, when
they need it-the right care to the right child at the right time in the right setting.” For children, states must
cover services consistent with the EPSDT provision. Ms. Harris also discussed the application of habilitative
and rehabilitative services as defined in the Affordable Care Act (ACA) as extended to the Medicaid
population'and reminded the group of the definitions of those services as developed by the National

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

The bulletin outlines four major categories of treatment that are beneficial for children with autism spectrum
disorder (ASD)-specifically, services available to individuals with ASD through the federal Medicaid
program. The categories are (1) behavioral and communication approaches, (2) dietary approaches, (3)
medications, and (4) complementary and alternative medicine. ABA therapy is recognized as one treatment
for the child with autism, but the bulletin also identifies other treatments that are available to the ASD

population and to others in need of those services.

hitne Marans acha ara/Newe/201T4/ICMSTeanee-Clarification-af-Medicaid-Caverage-of-Serv 12/872014
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Medicaid funding for services to children with ASD and other conditions may be reimbursed through a
variety of authorities, such as specific sections of the Social Security Act, including Section 1915(c) Home
and Community-Based Services and Section 1115 Waiver and State Plan Authorities. States are required to
submit a state plan amendment (SPA) to address how all services are addressed, with inclusion of therapy
services covered under the Medicaid therapies benefit at 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 440.110 as

relating to qualified provider, referral, scope of services, and supervision/direction of services.

Background

About 1 in 68 children has been identified with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), according to estimates from
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM)
Network. The number of 1nd1v1duals with ASD has increased in the past several years, along with interest in

associated treatments and resources to cover payment for those services.

Resources
= Clarification of Medicaid Coverage of Services to Children With Autism [PDF]

» Habilitative and Rehabilitative Services Defined [PDF]

For more information, please contact Laurie Alban Havens, ASHA's director of privafe health plan and

Medicaid advocacy, at lalbanhavens@asha.org

©1997-2014 American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
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Application for a §1915(c) Home and
Community-Based Services Waiver

PURPOSE OF THE HCBS WAIVER PROGRAM

The Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver program is authorized in §1915(c) of the Social Security
Act. The program permits a State to furnish an array of home and community-based services that assist Medicaid beneficiaries
to live in the community and avoid institutionalization. The State has broad discretion to design its waiver program to address
the needs of the waiver’s target population. Waiver services complement and/or supplement the services that are available to
participants through the Medicaid State plan and other federal, state and local public programs as well as the supports that
families and communities provide.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) recognizes that the design and operational features of a waiver program
will vary depending on the specific needs of the target population, the resources available to the State, service delivery system
structure, State goals and objectives, and other factors. A State has the latitude to design a waiver program that is cost-effective
and employs a variety of service delivery approaches, including participant direction of services.

Request for a Renewal to a §1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services
' Waiver

1. Major Changes

Describe any significant changes to the approved waiver that are being made in this renewal application:

This is a renewal of the DDDS Waiver that has been in continuous operation since 1987. The DDDS waiver is targeted to
individuals with intellectual disabilities and autism spectrum disorder who can no Tonger live independently or with their
family. The waiver includes an array of services and supports designed to enable the individual to live safely in the
community and to respect and support their desire to work or engage in other productive activities.

The following changes are being made in this renewal application:

The term "Mental Retardation" has been changed to "Intellectual Developmental Disability" throughout the document.

Appendix A : SR
* Performance measure A-3: Number and percent of performance reports reviewed by the Medicaid agency" was deleted.
DDDS felt that this measure was redundant of PM A-5: Number and percent of DMMA/DDDS Quarterly Waiver Mandatory
meetings during which the waiver quality assuance and quality improvement activities are discussed."
* Performance measure "A-1; Number and percent of waiver policies approved by the Medicaid agency prior to
implementation" '

was deleted.

Appendix B

* Minimum waiver eligibility age changed from four (4) years to twelve (12) years of age. There were only three clients
under the age of 12 who have ever received a waiver service under any of the previous renewals. These clients were all
eligible for SSI prior to their enroliment in the DDDS waiver.

* Qualifications for who may perform a Level of Care initial certification and recertification were changed from a physician
and a psychologist, respectively, to a QIPD for both the initial and recertifications

« The minimum requirement for waiver services received per month was reduced from two (2) to one (1) because case
management is no longer claimed as a waiver service

* Per the CMS Crosswalk of Current vs Revised Assurances, sub-assurance B-b-1, LOC annual reevaluations completed
within 365 days of previous détermination was deleted. DDDS will no longer report on this measure in the annual 372 report
but will continue to track it

Appendix C

« Supported Living was added as a new waiver service under "Other",

% Clinical Consultation: Behavioral and Nursing was broken out into two different waiver services. In the previous version of
the application, these two distinct services were combined into a single service category with different provider types

http://157.199.113.99/WMS/faces/protected/3 5/print/PrintSelector.jsp 2/20/2014
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3 3years @: 5 years

Original Base Waiver Number: DE.0009
Draft ID: DE.08.07.00

D. Type of Waiver (select only one): .
l}_l}ﬁqgu]ar Waiver

E. 'is}gi)osed Effective Date: (mm/dd} yy)
07/01/14 | |

1. Request Information (2 of 3)

F. Level(s) of Care. This waiver is requested in order to provide home and community-based waiver services to
individuals who, but for the provision of such services, would require the following level(s) of care, the costs of which
would be reimbursed under the approved Medicaid State plan (check each that applies):

[ Hospital
Select applicable level of care

) Hospital as defined in 42 CFR §440.10
If applicable, specify whether the State additionally limits the waiver to subcategories of the hospital level of
care: :

¢ Inpatient psychiatric facility for individuals age 21 and under as provided in42 CFR §440.160
Nursing Facility

~ Select applicable level of care

- {3 Nursing Facility As defined in 42 CFR §440.40 and 42 CFR §440.155
If applicable, specify whether the State additionally limits the waiver to subcategories of the nursing facility
level of care: :

") Institution for Mental Disease for persons with mental illnesses aged 65 and older as prbvided in 42
CFR §440.140 _ , ' : '
Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) (as defined in 42 CFR

% T 8440.150)

If applicable, specify whether the State additionally limits the waiver to subcategories of the ICF/IID level of care:

i

L. Request Information (3 of 3)

G. Concurrent Operation with Other Programs. This waiver operates concurrently With aﬁoth& program (or programs)
approved under the following authorities
Select one:
@> Not applicable
{"3 Applicable
Check the applicable authority or authorities: , :
Services furnished under the provisions of §1915(a)(1)(a) of the Act and described in Appendix I
Waiver(s) authorized under.§1915(b) of the Act,

Specify the §1915(b) waiver program and indicate whether a §1915(b) waiver application has been submitted
or previously approved:

Specify the §1915(b) authorities under which this prograrri_c—)f)'éréfé_s_ (bhéé:k each that dpplies): '

http://157.199.113.99/WMS/faces/protected/3 5/print/PrintSelector.jsp 2/20/2014
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Home > Medicaid > By Topic > Benefits

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and
Treatment

The Early and Periodic Screemng, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit provides comprehensive
and preventlve health care services for children under age 21 who are enrolled in Medicaid. EPSDT is
key to ensuring that children and adolescents receive appropriate preventive, dental, mental health, and

developmental, and specialty services.

[Early Assessing and identifying problems early

Periodic - |Checking children's health at periodic, age-appropriate intervals

Screening ' [Pr 0V1dmg physical, mental, developmental, dental, hearmg, vision, and other
_ » screehing tests to detect potential problems

[Diagnostic Performing diaghostic tests to follow up when a risk is identified, and

[Treatment Control, correct or reduce health problems found.

EPSDT Services

States are required to provide comprehensive services and furnish all Medicaid coverable, appropriate,
and medically necessary services needed to correct and ameliorate health conditions, based on certain
federal guidelines. EPSDT is made up of the following screening, diagnostic, and treatment services:

Screening Services

+ Comprehensive health and developmental history

+ ‘Comprehiensive unclothed physical exam :
» Appropriate immunizations (according to the Adv1sory Commlttee on Immumzatlon Practices)

+ Laboratory tests (including lead toxicity screening
Health Education (anticipatory. guidance including child development healthy hfestyles and

accident and disease prevention)

. Vision Services
At a minimuih, diagnosis and treatment for defects in vision, including eyeglasses. Vision services
must be provided according to a dlstmct periodicity schedule developed by the state and at other

intervals as medically necessary.

Dental Services

At a minimum, dental services include relief of pain and infections, restoration of teeth, and
maintenance of dental health. Dental services may not be limited to emergency services. Each state is
required to develop a dental periodicity schedule in consultation with recognized dental organizations

involved in child health.

https://www.medicaid. gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Benefits/Earl... 4/11/2016
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Hearing Services
At a minimum, hearing services include diagnosis and treatment for defects in hearing, including

hearing aids.

Other Necessary Health Care Services

States are required to provide any additional health care services that are coverable under the Fede1 al
Medicaid program and found to be medically necessary to treat, correct or reduce illnesses and
conditions discovered regardless of whether the service is covered in a state's Medicaid plan, It is the
responsibility of states to determine medical necessity on a case-by-case basis.

_ Diagnostic Services
When a screening examination indicates the need for further evaluation of an individual's health
diagnostic services must be provided. Necessary referrals should be made without delay and there
should be follow-up to ensure the enrollee receives a complete diagnostic evaluation. States should
develop quality assurance procedures to assure that comprehensive care is provided.

Treatment
Necessary health care services must be made available for treatment of all physical and mental |

illnesses or conditions discovered by any screening and diagnostic procedures.

State Program Guidelines -

State Medicaid agencies are required to:

+ Inform all Medicaid-eligible individuals under age 21 that EPSDT services are available and of
the need for age-appropriate immunizations;
» Provide or arrange for the provision of screening services for all children;
. Arrange (directly or through referral) for corrective treatment as determined by child health
screenings; and
Report EPSDT performance information annually via Form CMS-416 (/medicaid- chm -program-
information/by-topics/benefits/downloads/form-416.zip).

Periodicity Schedule

Periodicity schedules for periodic screening, vision, and hearing services must be provided at intervals
that meet reasonable standards of medical practice. States must consult with recognized medical
organizations invelved_in child health care in developing their schedules. Alternatively, states may elect
to use a nationally recognized pediatric periodicity schedule (i.e., Bright Futures
(http://brightfutures.aap.org/index.html)). A separate dental periodicity schedule is also required.

Developmental and Behavioral Screening

Periodic developmental and behavioral screening during early childhood is essential to identify possible
delays in growth and development, when steps to address deficits can be most effective. These
screenings are required for children enrolled in Medicaid, and are also covered for children enrolled in
CHIP. This CMS Fact Sheet (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-topics/quality-of-
care/downloads/cms_fact sheet dev_screening.pdf) describes CMS resources to support states in
ensuring enrolled children receive these screenings. Birth to 5: Watch Me Thrive!
(http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ecd/watch-me-thrive), a joint effort between the Department of

https://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Benefits/Earl... 4/1 1/2016
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Health and Human Services and the Department of Education, provides additional resources to support
states, providers and communities to increase developmental and behavioral screening of young

children.

Lead Screening

CMS has updated its Medicaid lead screening policy for children eligible for EPSDT services. For more
information, see the June 2012 Informational Bulletin (. /federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib-06-22-
12.pdf). CMS recognizes that lead poisoning continues to be a problem for a small share of low-income
: children. To improve screening of children most at risk for lead exposure, CMS is aligning Medicaid

? lead screening policy with current recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC). The new policy encourages a targeted screening approach in States that have sufficient data to
support this action. We have developed materials to assist States with the process of determining their
lead screening approach going forward. CMS and CDC have developed guidance and process

( /medicaid-chip—progTam-information/bv-topics/beneﬁts/downloads/tar,qetedleadscreening.pdﬂ for
States that want to request to move to a targeted screening approach. Interested States should send
requests and supporting documentation to the EPSDT mailbox at EPSDT@cms.hhs.gov
(mailto:EPSDT@cms.hhs.gov), with the subject line: "Request for Use of Targeted Lead Screening."

EPSDT Strategy Guides to Support States with the Medicaid Benefit for Children
and Adolescents

In 1967, Congress introduced the Medicaid benefit for children and adolescen‘t‘s, known as Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT). The goal of this benefit is to ensure that
children under the age of 21 who are enrolled in Medicaid receive age-appropriate screening, preventive
services, and treatment services that are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate any identified
conditions — the right care to the right child at the right time in the right setting. This broad scope
supports a comprehensive, high-quality health benefit. States share responsibility for implementing the
EPSDT benefit with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. (For more information, see "What
You Need to Know about EPSDT (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by- ‘
topics/benefits/downloads/what-you-need-to-know-about-epsdt.pdf)".)

As one outcome of a National EPSDT Improvement Workgroup, the Center for Medicaid & CHIP
Services is developing a set of strategy guides, each on a specific topic, to support states and their
partners as they implement the EPSDT benefit. Each strategy guide identifies specific, doable
approaches to improve access, utilization and-quality of care for children and adolescents enrolled in -
Medicaid. Examples of staté successes ate offered along with web-based liriks to resources, tools and
more in-depth.

The first four guides in the series are:

« EPSDT - A Guide for States: Coverage in the Medicaid Benefit for Children and Adolescents
(/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-topics/benefits/downloads/epsdt coverage guide.pdf)

« Keep Kids Smiling: Promoting Oral Health Through the Medicaid Benefit for Children &
Adolescents (http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program~Information/By-' '
Topics/Benefits/Downloads/Keep-Kids-Smiling.pdf)

« Pavine the Road to Good Health: Strategies for Increasing Medicaid Adolescent Well-Care Visits
(/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-topics/benefits/downloads/paving-the-road-to-good-
health.pd

https://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Pro gram-Information/By-Topics/Benefits/Earl... 4/11/2016
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« Making Connections; Strategies for Strengthening Care Coordination in the Medicaid Benefit for
Children & Adolescents (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-
topics/benefits/downloads/epsdt-care-coordination-strategy-guide. pdf)

EPSDT Data

The Form CMS-416 (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-topics/benefits/downloads/form- 416.zip)
is used by CMS to collect basic information on State Medicaid and CHIP programs to assess the
effectiveness of EPSDT. See Form CMS-416 instructions (/medicaid-chip-program- -information/by-
topics/benefits/downloads/cms-416-instructions.pdf). States must provide CMS with the following
information:

1. Number of children provided child health screening services

2. Number of children referred for corrective treatment

3. Number of children receiving dental services

4. State's results in attaining goals set under section 1905(r) of the Social Security Act.

+ CMS-416 Instructions (/medicaid-chin-program-information/bv-topics/beneﬁts/downloads/cms-

416-instructions.pdf) (Version 3, Updated 11/17/2014)
o Webinar Slides on CMS-416 Instructions (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-
topics/benefits/downloads/revised4 16instructionswebinar.pdf) (12/11/2014)
o Crosswalk of CPT Codes to CDT Codes (01/22/2015)
o CMS-416 Final Revised Instructions: Questions and Answers (/medicaid-chip-program-
" information/by-topics/benefits/downloads/416-fags.pdf) (02/19/2015) '
o Learn How to Report the CMS 416 Dental Data (/medicaid- chm-nrogram-mformatlon/bv—
topics/benefits/41 6-dental-reporting-training.html)

« Electronic Form CMS-416 (Excel) (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-
topics/benefits/downloads/form-416.zip). To request a 508-version of the form, please email
EPSDT@cms.hhs.gov (mailto:EPSDT@cms.hhs.gov).

« FY 2014 Data (/medicaid-chip-program- 1nformatlon/bv—tomcs/beneﬁts/downloads/fv 2014-epsdt-

data.zip) (as of 1/15/16. Now includes data from PR)
» FY 2013 Data (/medicaid-chip- program-information/by-topics/benefits/downloads/fy-2013- epsdt—
data.zip) (as of 10/22/ 14)

» FY 2012 Data (/medicaid-chip-program- 1nformat1on/bv-tomcs/beneﬁts/downloads/fy 2012-epsdt-
data.zip) (as of 10/22/14)

e FY 2011 Data (/medicaid-chip-program- 1nformatlon/bv-tomcs/beneﬁts/downloads/fv 2011 -epsdt-

data.zip) (as.of 1/07/14) .
« FY 2010 Data (/medicaid- Cth -program- 1nformat10n/bv-tomcs/beneﬁts/downloads/fv 2010-epsdt-

data.zip) (as of 11/19/14)
e FY 1995-2009 Data (/medicaid- chm-program—mformatlon/bv-top1cs/beneﬁts/downloads/fy 1995-

10-2009-epsdt-data.zip)

National EPSDT Improvement Workgroup

In December 2010, CMS convened a National EPSDT Improvement Workgroup that included state
representatives, children's health providers, consumer representatives, and other experts in the areas of
maternal and child health, Medicaid, and data analysis. The members of the group will help CMS
identify the most critical areas for improvement of EPSDT. The group, which meets periodically -
throughout the year, will also discuss steps that the federal government might undertake in partnership

https://www.medicaid. gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/B enefits/Earl... 4/11/2016
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with states and others to both increase the number of children accessing services, and improve the
quality of the data reporting that enables a better understanding how effective HHS is putting EPSDT to

work for children.

Benefits Content

» Autism Services (/m_edicaid—chip-program-information/by-popu_lation/autisrn-services.html)

« Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis & Treatment ( /medicaid-chip-program-information/by-
topics/béheﬁts/ear].vAand-Deriodic-screenjng-diagnostic—and-tr‘eatment.htmh ,

« Dental Care (/medicaid—chip-program-information/by-topics/beneﬁts/dental-care.htm;l)

« Alternative Benefit Plans ( medicaid-chip-program-information/by-topics/benefits/alternative-
benefit-plans.html) .

« Prescription Drugs (/me_dicaid—chip-pro,qram-information/bv-topics/beneﬁts/prescription—‘
drugs/prescription-drugs.html)

« Prevention (/1lledicaid:chiﬁ?brogram—informatiqn/by-topi'cs/beneﬁts/prevention.htnm

« Behavioral Health Services (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-topics/benefits/mental-

health-services.html)
-+ Tobacco Cessation ( /medioaid-chip-program-information/bv-topics/beneﬁts/tobacco.htmﬂ

Rel,a‘ted Rés‘burc'es |

« CMS and State EPSDT Contacts (/medicaid-chip-program-information/by-
topics/ beheﬁts/downloads/ebsdt—contacts.bdf) »

+ InsureKidsNow.gov ( hittp://www.insurekidsnow.gov/)

« EPSDT Information from the Health Resources & Services Administration

(http://mchb.hrsa.gov/epsdt/)

https://www.medicaid. gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program—Information/By-Topicszeneﬁts/Earl. . 4/11/2016
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Introduction

The Early and Petiodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) mandate of the
Medicaid Act requires states to cover a wide variety of health setvices to correct or
ameliorate the illnesses ot conditions of children under age 21 in Medicaid. As new
treatments and services are developed and incorporated into the standard of care for
treating children’s illnesses and conditions, the Centets for Medicare & Medicaid Services
(CMS) has struggled to ensure that state EPSDT programs keep up with the evolving
standard of care for children. ‘

A recent example involves behavioral treatments for Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), a. .
developmental disability that can cause significant delays in social, communication, and
othier behavioral skills. The standard of care for children with ASD for many years has
included intensive behavioral interventions such as Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA)
therapy. ABA therapy is based on a one-on-one teaching approach that relies on
reinforced practice of various skills. Yet states have been slow to cover these
interventions under theit Medicaid programs, and CMS had also not requited states to
cover them until last yeat. Due in part to NHeLP’s advocacy, in July 2014, CMS issued a
Clarification of Medicaid Coverage of Services to Children with Autism (ASD CMS Guidance),
which made clear that states must provide evidence-based treatments for children with
ASD in Medicaid. This month’s Health Advocats reviews the advocacy history that led up
to this guidance, and then examines trends in the states’ implementation of the guidance.

—
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Ttreatment for Autism Spectrum Disordets
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The CDC tecently estimated that approximately one in every 68 children has been
identified with ASD. (CDC, Prevalence of Autism Specirum Disorder Among Children lged 8
Years (2014).) Since the 1980s, intensive behavioral interventions have become
increasingly used to treat children with ASD by assisting them in building skills and
reducing maladaptive behaviors. ABA therapy is pethaps the best-known of these
therapies. ABA thetapy is based on a one-on-one teaching approach that relies on
teinforced practice of vatious skills. ABA therapy is typically provided by certified
therapists and a team of behavior technicians, pursuant to 2 referral from a licensed
practitioner such as a neutologist or psychologist. Although state laws are beginning to
change, in most states, the thetapists and paraprofessional staff who administer ABA
therapy, though certified by a national board, ate not licensed under state law. While ABA
therapy is particularly well-known, many individuals with ASD receive other evidence-
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based intensive behavioral interventions. These interventions may be as effective, or even more effective, for some
children with ASD, depending on their individual needs. Togethet, this cohott of intensive behavioral interventions
constitutes the standard of care for in treatment for children with ASD.

| CMS Issued Gﬁidance on Treatment for ASD in Medicaid Under EPSDT

Since the late 1990s through the 2000s, advocates began to push their states to provide intensive behavioral
interventions for ASD in Medicaid. For several years advocates around the county—including NHeLP—have
argued that for children with ASD, ABA therapy and other intensive behavioral interventions for ASD must be
covered under EPSDT, since they have been shown to be effective treatments at correcting and ameliorating ASD.
But many states considered these intensive behavioral interventions to be “habilitative” setvices aimed at acquiring
new skills rather than restoting or preventing deterioration of an existing condition. States are not required to cover
hahilitative services under EPSDT. As such, many states only provided ABA therapy and other intensive behavioral
interventions through a Medicaid waiver home and community-based waiver progtams, which may limit the
number of children who can get the setvices and how much of the services they can get.! Therefore, not all children
with ASD in Medicaid were able to access treatments they need. In the late 2000s, families in Florida, Louisiana,
Ohio, and Washington successfully sued their states to obtain coverage of intensive behavioral interventions in
Medicaid putsuant to the EPSDT mandate. Moteovet, in the months before releasing its July 2014 Guidance, CMS
approved requests by Louisiana and Washington to cover ABA therapy under EPSDT.*

NHeLP and othet advocates asked CMS to clarify that states must provide evidence-based treatments for children
with ASD, including intensive behavioral interventions, under EPSDT. In July 2014, CMS responded to these
requests by releasing guidance that explained that states are obligated to cover these setvices for children under age
21 when they are medically necessary, even if they are not covered for adults in Medicaid. In September 2014, CMS
issued an FAQ, further explaining states’ obligation to cover services for childten with ASD under EPSDT. The
FAQ stated that CMS would be working with states to update and expand the menu of setvices available to children
with ASD. It clarified that CMS would require states that previously only offered intensive behavioral interventions
for children with ASD through a Medicaid waivet to transition provision of those services to regular Medicaid
program. CMS declined to set a particular deadline by which states must come into compliance with its guidance,
but indicated that states should “wotk expeditiously and should not delay or deny provision of medically necessary

services.”

State Activity to Provide Treatment for ASD in Medicaid in the Last Year

Following up on last year’s guidance and FAQ, NHeLP and other advocates quickly began working with states to
2dd intensive behavioral intetventions for children with ASD to their state Medicaid programs under EPSDT. Our
research suggests that as of September, 2015, 24 states and the Disttict of Columbia are alteady offering intensive
behavioral interventions to children with ASD in their regular Medicaid programs. Following the plans CMS
approved last spring for Washington and Louisiana, the agency has approved requests (through state plan
amendments) in three additional states to include intensive behavioral interventions for children with ASD in their

Medicaid programs.

1 Home and community-based waiver programs allow states to provide long-tetm care services in home and community-based settings
under the Medicaid Program. Programs can provide a combination of standard medical services and non-medical services. But states can

also place limits in these programs that would not be allowed in their regular Medicaid programs. (Se¢ CMS, 1915(c) Home and Community
Based Waivers.)

2 Bach state must submit 2 state Medicaid plan to CMS that sets forth, among other things, the benefits that the state covers in its Medicaid
program. When a state changes the benefits offered in its Medicaid program, it generally must submit 2 proposal, called a “state plan

amendment,” to CMS for approval.
October 2015 www.healthlaw.org
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Several other states have submitted state plan amendments to CMS
proposing to add intensive behavioral interventions to theit Medicaid
programs (and many of those states have already begun providing services
while CMS reviews their proposals). Other states had existing language in
their state Medicaid plan that permitted them to offer intensive behavioral
interventions without submitting a state plan amendment to CMS. Some
states are still in the very eatly planning stages of crafting a state plan
amendment or other policy documents to make intensive behavioral
interventions available in their Medicaid programs. Some states have not
yet taken any steps to implement the guidance.

Next Steps

While neatly half of states are working to implement CMS’s guidance on
services for children with ASD under EPSDT, 25 states have yet to make
significant headway. NHeLP is working with advocates in those states to
push their states and CMS to ensute that children with ASD gain access to
the full scope of services to which they are legally entitled.

Even among the states that have already begun providing intensive
behavioral interventions to children with ASD, we are seeing some
common themes that can create barriers to care. In many states, advocates
report the reimbursement rates for intensive behavioral intetventions ate
very low. As a result, those state Medicaid programs struggle to attract
enough trained, quality providers to meet the state’s need. Another
common problem is that some states place hard limits on the hours of
service Medicaid will provide in 2 week or a month. These limits, which are
illegal under EPSDT, prevent children with the highest need from getting
all of the medically necessary care to which they are entitled. (See CMS,
EPSDT Coverage Guide at 23.) Another common problem is state refusal
to-provide services to. children during the school day. Such limitations
violate EPSDT and can prevent children who expetience the most severe
symptoms of their ASD at school from receiving adequate treatment. See
42 U.S.C. § 1396b(c). NHeLP is wotking with advocates around the
country to address these and other barriers to cate under EPSDT. We
encourage advocates to work with CMS and thelit states to ensure that
intensive behavioral interventions for children with ASD are available
through Medicaid whenever they are needed.

|
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EPSDT: A Guide for States

A. Individual Medical Necessity

Services that fit within the scope of coverage under EPSDT must be provided to
a child only if necessary to correct or ameliorate the individual child’s physical
or mental condition, i.e., only if “medically necessary.” The determination of
whether a service is medically necessary for an individual child must be made on
a case-by-case basis, taking into account the particular needs of the child. The
state (or the managed care entity as delegated by the state) should consider the
child’s long-term needs, not just what is required to address the immediate
situation. The state should also consider all aspects of a child’s needs, including
nutritional, social development, and mental health and substance use disorders.
States are permitted (but not required) to set parameters that apply to the
determination of medical necessity in individual cases, but those parameters may
not contradict or be more restrictive than the federal statutory requirement. As
discussed above, services such as physical and occupational therapy are covered
when they have an ameliorative, maintenance purpose.

Because medical necessity decisions are individualized, flat limits or hard limits
based on a monetary cap or budgetary constraints are not consistent with EPSDT
requiremen’cs.42 States may adopt a definition of medical necessity that places
tentative limits on services pending an individualized determination by the state,
or that limits a treating provider’s discretion, as a utilization control, but
additional services must be provided if determined to be medically necessary for

2 CFA, Regional Transmittal Notice (Region IV) (Sept. 18, 1990); Memorandum from Rozann
Abato, Acting Director, HCFA, to Associate Regional Administrator, Atlanta (Sept. 5, 1990);
Memorandum from Christine Nye, HCFA Medicaid Director, to Regional Administrator Region
VI (FME-42) (1991).

23
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an individual child.*® For example, while a state may place in its State Plan a
limit of a certain number of physical therapy visits per year for individuals age
21 and older, such a “hard” limit could not be applied to children. A state could
impose a “soft” limit of a certain number of physical therapy visits annually for
children, but if it were to be determined in an individual child’s case, upon
review, that additional physical therapy services were medically necessary to
correct or ameliorate a diagnosed condition, those services would have to be

covered.

While the treating health care provider has a responsibility for determining or
recommending that a particular covered service is needed to correct or ameliorate
the child’s condition,* both the state and a child’s treating provider play a role in
determining whether a service is medically necessary. If there is a disagreement
between the treating provider and the state’s expert as to whether a service is
medically necessary for a particular child, the state is responsible for making a
decision, for the individual child, based on the evidence. That decision may be
appealed by the child (or the child’s family) under the state’s Medicaid fair
hearing procedures, as described in Section VIII below.

B. Prior Authorization

States may impose utilization controls to safeguard against unnecessary use of
care and services. For example, a state may establish tentative limits on the
amount of a treatment service a child can receive and require prior authorization
for coverage of medically necessary services above those limits.** Prior
authorization must be conducted on a case-by-case basis, evaluating each child’s
needs individually. Importantly, prior authorization procedures may not delay
delivery of needed treatment services and must be consistent with the “preventive
thrust” of EPSDT.* As such, prior authorization may not be required for any
EPSDT screening services. In addition, medical management techniques used for
mental health and substance use disorders should comply w1th the Mental Health
Parity and Addiction Equity Act. :

C. Experimental Treatments

EPSDT does not require coverage of treatments, services, or items that are
experimental or investigational. Such services and items may, however, be
covered at the state’s discretion if it is determined that the treatment or item
would be effective to address the child’s condition.* Neither the Federal
Medicaid statute nor the regulations define what constitutes an experimental

4342 C.F.R. §§ 440.230(c), (d); HCFA Dear State Medicaid Director (May 26, 1993).
4 Sectlons 1905(a) and (¢) of the Social Security Act.

"GHR Rep. No. 101-247 at 399, reprinted in U.S.C.C.AN. 1906, 2125,
47 CMS, State Medicaid Manual §§ 4385.C.1, 5122.F.
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H H S . gOV U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Civil Rights
ection 0] e rFatien rotection an ordaple Lare AC

Section 1557 is the civil rights provision of the Affordable Care Act. Section 1557 prohibits discrimination
on the ground of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability under “any health program or activity,
any part of which is receiving Federal financial assistance ... or under any program or activity that is
administered by an Executive agency or any entity established under [Title | of ACA]....” Section 1557 is
the first Federal civil rights law to prohibit sex discrimination in health care. To ensure equal access to
health care, Section 1557 also applies civil rights protections to the newly created Health Insurance
Marketplaces established under the Affordable Care Act.

Section 1557 is consistent with and promotes several of the Administration’s key initiatives that advance
prevention and wellness, reduce health disparities, and improve access to health care services. The
Office for Civil Rights in HHS is responsible for enforcing Section 1557 with respect to covered
programs. The law was effective upon enactment and OCR has been accepting and investigating
complaints under this authority. If you believe you have been discriminated against on one of the bases
protected by Section 1557, you may file a complaint with OCR. OCR also addresses Section 1557 in
conducting outreach and providing technical assistance to covered entities and consumers.

ACA Enforcement: Sex Discrimination Cases

OCR Issues Proposed Rule on Nondiscrimination under Section 1557 of the
Affordable Care Act

Note that the comment period ended at midnight on November 9, 2015. The NPRM is available for review
at: http://www.regulations.gov/#!docketDetail;D=HHS-OCR-2015-0006

» Click here for a Summary
Espafiol, 8937, Tiéng Viét, $+20], Tagalog,Pycckuit, iz Y, Kreyol ayisyen, Francais, Portugués, Polsk,
i AZAEE, Italiano, Deutsch, o=

« Click here for the Questions and Answers about the NPRM

- Espafiol, 53, Tiéng Viét, 3+=0{, Tagalog, Pycckuit, & -l Kreyol ayisyen, Francais, Portugués, Polsk,
i HASEE, taliano, Deutsch, ()4

« Click here for the Press Release

« For documents in alternative formats, please call (800) 368-1019 or (800) 537-7697 (TDD)

Content created by Office for Civil Rights (OCR)

http://www.hhs.gov/civil-rights/for-individuals/section-1557/index. html 4/10/2016
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Grow Your Leqal Practice (hitp://www.martindalenolo.com/resources/grow-your-practice)
Lawyer Directory (http://www.nolo.com/lawyers}

Time Limits for Filing a Charge of
Discrimination

Before you can sue your employer for discrimination, you must first file a charge of
discrimination with the EEOC or a similar state agency.

Talk to an Employment Lawyer

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

| Enter zip Code |( sEARCH ]

(https: (ht

Before an employee may sue for discrimination, harassment, or retaliation (/topics/discrimination-and-
harassment) under federal law, the employee must file a charge of discrimination with the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and get a right to sue letter. This is a necessary prerequisite to filing a
lawsuit; If an employee files a lawsuit without first filing an administrative charge, the lawsuit will be
dismissed. - '

Which Laws Are 'Cove.re'd'

An employee is required to file a charge of discrimination with the EEOC before filing a lawsuit against an
employer for violating Title VIl {the federal law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color,
national origin, religion, and sex), the Americans with Disabilities Act {/famerican-disabilities-act.cfm), the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act, or the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act. An employee alleging
harassment or retaliation under any of these laws must also first file a charge. However, an employee does
not have to file a charge before bringing a lawsuit for violation of the Equal Pay Act, which requires
employeesto pay men and women equally for equal work.

Most states have their own laws that prohibit certain types of discrimination. Some states also require
employees to file a charge of discrimination before filing a lawsuit for violation of state law; others don't.

Learn more about Your Rights in a Discrimination Case (/topics/asserting-your-rights).

Time Limits for Filing a Charge

The statute of limitations for filing a charge of discrimination depends on state and local law. Generally, an
employee has 180 days from the date the alleged discrimination took place to file a charge. If a state or local
agency enforces a law prohibiting the same type of discrimination, the time limit is extended to 300 days.
For age discrimination cases, the rule is different: The deadline is extended to 300 days only if a state
agency (not a local agency) enforces a law prohibiting age discrimination. '

http://www.employmentlawfirms.com/statutes-of-limitations.cfm 3/29/2016
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Work-Sharing Agréements

In many states, the EEOC has entered into a work-sharing agreement with the state fair employment
practices agency. If you file a charge of discrimination-with either the EEOC or the state agency in one of
these states, it will automatically be filed with the other agency, too. If your state doesn't have a work-sharing
agreement, and you want to preserve your rights under both federal and state law, you may file a charge
with both agencies yourself.

Filing a Charge

Currently, you may file a charge of discrimination with the EEOC in person or by mail. To file by mail, you
must inctude the following information: ’

.your name, address, and phone number

.the name, address, and phone number of the employer

- how many employees the employer has

. a short description of the discriminatory incident(s), including when it took place, and

.the basis for the discrimination {that is, whether the employer discriminated against you based on race,

religion, or sex, for example). '

You can find detailed information on the EEOC's charge-filing procedures at the EEQOC website
(http://www.eeoc.gov). To find out how to file a charge of discrimination under state law, contact your state's

fair employment practices agency.

Getting Legal Help

If you believe you have been discriminated against, you may want to contact an experienced employment
lawyer right away. A lawyer can help you figure out how best to protect your rights going forward, including
whether and when to file a charge of discrimination and what to include in it. Once you file a charge, a
lawyer can help you negotiate with your employer, participate in the agency's investigation (if there is one),
and file a lawsuit. '

(ht (ht

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

Practice Area: | Employment | Zip Code: | Enter Zip Code l SEARCH J
How It Works
Briefly tell us about your case Provide your contact Connect with local attorneys
information )

Free Legal Information (http://www.empioymentiawﬁrms.com/topics/empioyment-iavﬂ

http://www.employmentlawfirms.com/ statutes-of-limitations.cfm 3/29/2016
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e (http://lwww.delaware.gov)

(http://www.delaware.gov)

Department of Labor (http://dol.delaware.gov/)>>Division of Industrial Affairs
(/index.php)

Home (/index.php)

About IA (/fabout-ia.php)

Divisions/Programs (/divisions.php)

Employment (https://joblink.delaware.gov/)

State Public Meeting Calendar (http://egov.delaware.gov/pmc/#agency211)
Related Links (/related-links.php)

Office Locations (/office-locations.php)

Services +

Information +

File a Charge

NAVIGATE

NAVIGATE

Discrimination Home (/discrimination/)

Practices (/discrimination/discriminatory-practices.php)
Race/Color (/discrimination/race.php)

Sex-Based (/discrimination/sex-discrimination.php)

Sexual Harassment (/discrimination/sexual-harassment.php)
Sexual Orientation (/discrimination/sexual-orientation.php)
Pregnancy (/discrimination/pregnancy.php)

Disability (/discrimination/disability.php)

http://dia.delawareworks.com/discrimination/file-a-charge.php 3/30/2016
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Age (/discrimination/age.php)
National Origin (/discrimination/national-origin.php)

Religion (/discrimination/religion.php)

File a Charge (/discrimination/file-a-charge.php)

Charge Processing Procedures (/discrimination/procedures.php)

What An Employer Should Know (/discrimination/what-an-employer-should-know.php)
Mediation at DDOL (/discrimination/mediation.php)

Facts About Mediation (/discrimination/mediation-facts.php)

Discrimination Intake Form (/discrimination/discrimination-questionnaires.php)

Questions & Answers About Mediation (/discrimination/mediation-g-and-a.php)

NOTE: Federal employees or applicants for Federal employment should contact the EEOC
for information on procedures to make a complaint of discrimination. '

Who Can File a Charge of Discrimination?

- Any individual who believes that his or her employment rights have been violated under
the Delaware Discrimination in Employment Act
(http://deicode.delaware.gov/title19/c007/sc02/index.shtml) or the Handicapped
Persons Employment Protections Act
(http://delcode.delaware.govititle19/c007/sc03/index.shtml) may file a charge of
discrimination with DDOL.

How is a Charge of Discrimination filed?

- A charge may be filed in person at the DDOL office in Dover or Wilmington.

- You may start the process by downloading and completing Discrimination Intake Form
(discrimination-questionnaires.php). Submit the completed questionnaire to our
offices. We will contact you to set up an appointment to finalize the filing process.

. Individuals who need an accommodation in order to file a charge (e.g., sign language
interpreter, print materials in an accessible format) should inform the DDOL office in
advance so appropriate arrangements can be made.

‘What Information Must Be Provided to File a Charge?
« The complaining party's name, address, and telephone number;

http://dia.delawareworks.com/discrimination/ ﬁle—a—charge.php 3/30/2016
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. The name, address, and telephone number of the respondent employer, employment
agency, or union that is alleged to have discriminated, and number of employees (or

union members), if known;

. A short description of the alleged violation (the event that caused the complaining party
to believe that his or her rights were violated); and

. The date(s) of the alleged violation(s).

. The Discrimination Intake Form (discrimination-questionnaires.php) will help you
gather the information we will need for your specific situation.

‘What Are the Time Limits for Filing a Charge of Discrimination?

All laws enforced by DDOL require filing a charge with DDOL before a private lawsuit may be.
* filed in court. There are strict time limits within which charges must be filed:

- A charge must be filed with DDOL within 120 days from the date of the alleged violation,
in order to protect the charging party's rights to file an action in state court.
« The filing deadline is to 300 days under federal law. A charge filed between 121 and 300

days will be forwarded to the EEOC for processing.
. To protect legal rights, it is always best to contact DDOL promptly when discrimination is

suspected.

What Agency Handles a Charge that is also Covered by Federal Law?

Through the use of "work sharing agreements,” EEOC and the DDOL avoid duplication of
effort while at the same time ensuring that a charging party's rights are protected under both
federal and state law.

« If a charge is filed with the DDOL and is also covered by federal law, the DDOL "dual
files" the charge with EEOC to protect federal rights. The charge usually will be retained

by the DDOL for handling.
. If a charge is filed with EEOC and also is covered by state or local law, EEOC "dual files"

the charge with the state or local FEPA, but ordinarily retains the charge for handling.

(findex.php)
Division of Industrial Affairs (/index.php)
Workers' Compensation (/workers-comp/) | Labor Law Enforcement (/labor-law/)
|Safety and Health Consuitation (losha-consultation/) | Discrimination (/discrimination/)

Share (http://www.addthis.com/bookmark.php?v=250&pub=stateofdelaware)

Delaware.gov (http://www.delaware.gov) | Privacy
(http://www.delaware.gov/help/privaoy.shtml) | Translate
(http://www.delaware.gov/help/translate.shtml) | Contact
(http‘://smu.portal.delaware.gov/cgi-bin/mail.php’?contact_us) | Phone Directory
(http://Www.de!aware.gov/phonedirectory/)

http://dia.delawareworks.com/ discrimination/file-a-charge.php ' 3/30/2016
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A push to end shackling of children in Delaware courts

Jessica Masulli Re es, The News Journal  3:25 p.m. EST January 23, 2016

Children and teens appear every day in Delaware courtrooms with ankles locked together by metal leg irons.

Their crimes range from drug possession and theft to gun charges and rape. All are in state custody because
they cannot afford to post bail. All are presumed innocent until proven guilty.

"They are shackled and brought into court like a slave more or less," said state Rep. James Johnson, D-New
Castle. "That is something that will stick with with you the rest of your life.”

(Photo: Getly Images/iStockphoto)

Defense attorneys and child advocates say this daily scene in Family Court is grisly — youth are restrained and
left traumatized by a criminal justice system that is supposed to rehabilitate, not punish, them. That is why there

is an effort to end the shackling of youth during proceedings at the the state's three courthouses.

Adult defendants in Delaware are not usually shackled during trials so as not to influence juries. Typically, adult defendants wear leg irons only during

other court proceedings.

For juveniles, handcuffs and belly chains are removed once they get to the courtroom, but leg irons remain during all proceedings. Nearly haif of all states
have ended this practice in the United States.

Johnson introduced a bill in the House of Representatives in June to limit the use of shackles except in rare circumstances where the court can show that
restraints are necessary to prevent flight or physical harm to the child or others. The bill is on hold in the House Judiciary Committee and could get
support if the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families doesn't change its policy on shackling juveniles on its own.

Al
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SPONSOR: Rep. ., Johnson & Sen. Townvend
Reps. Baumbsach, Benniett, Kuwalkes, Lynn; Sen. Petenon

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
148th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE BILL NO, 211

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE ¢ OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
PROCEEDINGS AND THE USE OF RESTRAINTS ON A CRILD.

8, juvenile delir 3 ings In Delawans’s Family Cours are nelabilitative in nsne and in the

Intzrest of ratler than aguinst the child; and
WHEREAS, Delaware law prohibits a child allogad 1 be delinguent from bekny placed in secune detention unfess

i
2
3
4 nomeansess rastrictive of the child’s libery will assure the chitd's appecrance for court and detention is necessary based
5 onthe nature of the offeasc or for the pmtection of e public: and
6 WHEREAS. the mandatory or indiscrimisae shackfing of juveniles in custody during their epurt sppeanances fs
7 conaryio the eehobilititive puspose of the juvenile justice syvicrn: and
8 WHEREAS, the United Stales Supreme Coust has held the mandoiory shockling of aduit defendams
9 unconstitmiona becanse visible shochting undermines the presumption of innesence and can interfere with an accused’s
30 abilhry 1o communicate with their attomey; nnd

i WHEREAS. the American Bar Assuciation has adopted a resolutivn urging all federal, sate, Jocal, territorial and

! 12 uibal governments to adop a presumption gainst the use of resistints o fuveniles in coust and permitting the use of
13 resiminis unly when pecessaty $o prevent flight ur Barm to the jusenile or others; and
14 WHEREAS, the Ametican Acsdemy of Chill & Adolescent Paychiatry has issucd o policy statement opposing

15 mandatury of soutine shackling of juyeniles os “Uemeaning, humilisting and stigmatizing” of juveniles wsd # prxtive that

16 ads 1o the traunx many justico-involswd yeuth hawe alrcady & and

17 WHEREAS, many other child advocacy orpanizations = including the Child Welfare League of America, the
183 Amesican Ondwpsychistie Avocitioa. e Nutiowsd Center for Mental Healih and Juvenile Justice, fhe Nutiona!
19 Association of Counsel for Children and 1he National Juvenile Defender Center ~ all oppose the indiseriminaie use of
20 physieat restints on youth appearing i court; and

21 WHEREAS. the General Assembly believes the use of physical restruinis on youth appearing in court should occur
22 enly in those rare cases where po Jess restrictive allematives will preven flight < physical harm to the child of other

23 countroum panicipanis;
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24 NOW, THEREFORE:
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1 Ne aepartmnents avision nat Nanaies youtn aetenuon ana ransport 10 Court IS 100KINg 1orwara 1 young peopie anenaing court ree or snackies, a
spokeswoman said, but is concerned about the layout of the Family Court facilities in Dover and Georgetown. The 3-decade-old courts are in desperate
need of upgrades and pose security concerns, court officials have said.

In November, Delaware Supreme Court Chief Justice Leo E. Strine Jr. stressed to lawmakers the need for funds to upgrade these buildings.

One judge in Dover was spat on by an inmate when they were forced to share the same elevator in the back of the courthouse, according to an attorney.
And because the facilities are small, those seeking protective orders bump into people they are accusing and lawyers have little space to discuss cases
with their clients.

"We will need to wark with our system parthers — Family Court, the Attorney General's Office and the Public Defender’s Office — to ensure that any
changes that are implemented can be done in a way that can provide for the safety of the youth and others in the courthouse provided the challenges of

the physical plant in some of the court facilities," department spokeswoman Dawn Thompson said in a statement. Buy Bhot
uy Photo

Chief Defender Brendan O'Neill in his office in Wilmington. The Office of Defense Services is supporting legislation that would eliminate the shackling of juveniles in
Delaware. (Photo: The News Joumnal)

Delaware Chief Public Defender Brendan O'Neill said the matter is pressing and can't wait for those changes.

"The practice of routinely shackling kids coming into court without an affirmative finding that they pose a genuine security risk is just flat out wrong," he
said. "We are trying to change it."

Feeling like a 'caged animal’

In January 2014, the National Juvenile Defender Center, a nonprofit in Washington, D.C., launched a nationwide campaign to end indiscriminate juvenile
shackling. The campaign comes amid a flurry of criminal justice reform efforts, including pushes to end the money bail system

{/story/news/crime/2015/11/07/doing-away-cash-bail/74619298/) and a proposal to scale back mandatory minimum sentences
(Istory/news/crime/2015/12/28/inmates-serving-life-prison-hope-end-three-strikes-law/76792526/).

"People are realizing that the things we have done in the past have not worked and should be changed," Johnson said. "This is one of the changes
that should be made."

Twenty-three states have banned the practice of juvenile shackling either by legislation or court order. About half of those have done so since 2014.

Most recently, in September, the Maryland Court of Appeals and the state Judicial Council adopted an anti-shackling policy that leaves the decision to
shackie a youth up to a judge if there are safety concerns.

Maryland Public Defender Paul B. DeWolfe, a strong supporter of the change, wrote in an editorial in the Baltimore Sun last year that during the media
storm surrounding the death of Freddie Gray, one instance of juvenile shackling stood out fo him. A teen was arrested by Baltimore police during protests
and toid an NBC reporter that being shackled felt iike a "caged animal.” (http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/opinion/oped/bs-ed-shackling-juveniles-

20150519-story.html)

"It's tragic," DeWolfe told The News Journal. "It's tragic to see a 12- or 13-year-old coming into a courtroom ... in chains. It's completely unnecessary and
goes against the whole principle of juvenile court.”

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/crime/2016/01/23/push-end-shackling-children-delaware-co... 3/28/2016
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Six in 10 Delaware inmates are black

(http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/crime/2015/10/17/six-10-delaware-
inmates-black/73585456/)

DELAWAREONLINE

Will death penatty ruling affect Delaware?

(http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2016/01/14/supreme-court-
ruling-ﬂoridas-death-nenaltwaffect-dd awme/78745 3741)

DeWolfe praised the end of the practice in Maryland, but said there are still some jurisdictions not complying with the new policy. in particular, Baltimore
has resisted the change and continued to keep leg irons or handcuffs on children during hearings, he said.

"We are litigating those cases and trying to get that before the Court of Appeals,” he said. "But, by and large across the state, once the proclamation was
put into effect, the practice stopped. It's been a great success and long overdue.”

Christina Gilbert, a staff attorney and policy counsel at the National Juvenile Defender Center, said this shows the importance of ensuring the change is

mandatory statewide.

"A number of states, | anticipate, in addition to Delaware, will shift in the next year or so," she said.

What does Delaware do?

Juveniles who are detained in Delaware are transported by the Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services to the state's three courthouses in Kent, Sussex

and New Castle counties.

When they arrive, handcuffs and belly chains are removed, but leg irons remain during court proceedings. On a case-by-case basis, judges can consider
if an individual poses a safety risk and should have the additional restraints left on.

Even with the restraints on, youth can still pose a risk, some say. For example, a 17-year-old defendant kicked out the window in a van that was taking
him in shackles from a family court proceeding in September.
Buy Photo

Wilmington police searching for a 17-year-old who escaped from a juvenile correction van in September. He was caught about a month later. (Phofo: JOHN J. JANKOWSKI
JR/SPECIAL TO THE NEWS JOURNAL) ’

He jumped out of the moving vehicle in Wilmington and was on the run from authorities for about a month.

. Advocates say these types of scenarios are rare — and need to be weighed against the more widespread harm that shackles can inflict on children.

The developing brain
http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/crime/2016/01/23/push-end-shackling-children-delaware-co... 3/28/2016
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Attempts by The News Journal to speak with youth who have been detained
and their families were unsuccessful.

Karen DeRasmo, executive director of Prevent Child Abuse Delaware, said the
experience of being shackled can impact a child's brain at a time when it is
still developing.

"What we always have to imagine and appreciate is that kids' brains are in
the process of developing," she said. "They tend to think much
more concretely about things. They don't have some of the higher level of

thought processes that adults have.”

For that reason, shackling could be traumatizing to a young person, especially because those who are entering the juvenile justice system are
probably already experiencing a higher level of toxic stress in iife, she said.

"It could indeed cause them more frauma because they don't have the same facilities to deal with that situation,” she said. "It could actually affect the way
their brain is developing and how they are going to view the world going forward."

Gilbert said eliminating juvenile shackling can also change the courtroom environment from one of an authoritative, penal system to one of openness and

fairness.

mWe know that the idea of procedural justice is so important to youth," she said. "The juvenile court is designed to be different from the adult court
system. It is supposed to be rehabilitative, not punishing."

Shackling also more heavily impacts poor biack and Hispanic youth who enter the system and cannot afford to pay bail, O'Neill and DeRasmo said.

In 2014 4,303 juveniles arrested in Delaware and 1,038 admissions into juvenile detention facilities. Of those detained, 71.8 percent were African-
: i =utf-8) — making it seven times more likely that African-American

youth will be placed ina state detention center than white youth.

"It seems like one more way we are doing harm when we don't have to," DeRasmo said.

Although House Bill 211 is on hold, Johnson said that if an agreement with the children's department does not eliminate juvenile shackling soon, the bill
could be put to the forefront in the legisiative session.

"f think now is the time," Johnson said. "We want to move forward with it."
Contact Jessica Masulli Reyes at (302) 324-2777, jmreyes@delawareonline.com or Twitter @JessicaMasulli,

Read or Share this story: http://deloniine.us/1VgP7Vg

Zip Code l Get a Quote
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Juvenile shackling, three-strikes bill take first steps

5{2’? Matthew Albright, The News Journal  6:19 p.m. EDT March 16, 2016

A bill that would stop the shackling of juvenile defendants in court and a bill that would scale back the state's
three-strikes laws breezed through their first steps in the General Assembly Wednesday.

House Bill 211, sponsored by Rep. J.J. Johnson, D-New Castle, wouid require that courts not shackle juvenile
defendants unless there is a particular need to do so. Currently, Johnson says courts are shackling young
defendants by default.

“This legislation, to me, is bringing our justice system into the 21st century,” Johnson said.

(Photo: MATTHEW ALBRIGHT,
THE NEWS JOURNAL)

A News Journal articie in January exposed the practice of shackling children and teens who appear in

Delaware courtrooms.

Defense attorneys, lawmakers and child advocates argued at the time that the daily scene in Family Court was grisly with youth being restrained by

heavy metal leg irons.

The bill's supporters, including the ACLU, public defender's office and state Supreme Court Chief Justice Leo Strine Jr., say shackles are psychologically
damaging to young defendants and naturally make them seem guilty, hurting the presumption of their innocence around which the justice system is built.

Johnson also argues shackles are a troubling symbol "quite similar to a noose." He showed legislators some of the shackles at a Wednesday meeting in
the House Judiciary Committee, the chains clinking as he moved.

"This is something we should have moved away from years ago,"” Johnson said.

STORY: A push to end shackling of children in Delaware courts (/story/news/crime/2016/01/23/push-end-shackling-children-delaware-
courts/78759444/)

STORY: Inmates serving life hope for end to three-strikes law (/story/news/crime/2015/12/28/inmates-serving-life-prison-hope-end-three-
strikes-law/76792526/)

The House Judiciary Committee unanimously voted Wednesday to send the bill to the full House. Should the House approve the bill, it would also have to
pass the Senate before heading to Gov. Jack Markell's desk.

Later, the Senate Judiciary Committee released a bill by Sen. Karen Peterson, D-Stanton, that wouid curtail the habitual offender, or "three-sirikes" laws

(http://legis.delaware.gov/legislature.nsf/FSMain?
OpenFrameset&Frame=right&src=/legislature.nsfi7F4F680C99ESEOD 1852569C 10055E9D4/39AA2F3C3C34CF5A85257EOEQ05A56CT) that place

mandatory harsh penaities on people convicted of a felony offense after two previous crimes. The bill would eliminate mandatory life sentences and
remove some crimes from the list of offenses that trigger mandatory sentences.

Supporters of the bill, from Attorney General Matt Denn to the ACLU, say the current law ties judges’ hands and leads to some people getting
disproportionately harsh penalties. ’

The bill has to pass both the full Senate and the House before heading to Markell for signature.

Contact Matthew Albright at malbright@delawareonline.com, (302) 324-2428, or on Twitter @ TNJ_malbright.

Don't miss a thing

Download our apps and get alerts for local news, weather, traffic and
H more. Search "The News Journal" in your app store or use these links
from your device: iPhone app (hitps://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-
news-journal/id4935452722mt=8) | Android app for phone and tablet
(https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?
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la=com.gannett.iocal.liprary.news.delawareontinesni=en) | I#ad app
(https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-news-journal-for-ipad/id600071882?mt=8) Don't
forget to "like" us on Facebook! (https://www.facebook.com/delawareonline)

Read or Share this story: http://delonline.us/1poJN82S
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BILL:

SPONSOR: Representative J. Johnson

DESCRIPTION: AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 10 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO

HOUSE BILL NO. 211

JUVENILE DELINQUENCY PROCEEDINGS AND THE USE OF RESTRAINTS ON
A CHILD.

ASSUMPTIONS:

This legislation is effective upon enactment.

This Act limits the use of shackles and other physical restraints on children appearing in juvenile
delinquency proceedings except in situations where the court determines that the use of restraints
is necessary and there are no less restrictive alternatives that will prevent flight or physical harm
to the child or other courtroom participants.

The Department of Children, Youth and Their Families, Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services
(YRS) is responsible for the transportation of juveniles from both the New Castle County Detention
Center (NCCDC) and the Stevenson House facilities to Family Court that would be impacted by
this Act.

There are currently 9.0 full-time and 1.0 casual/seasonal positions dedicated as Youth
Rehabilitative Counselors, two of which are Youth Rehabilitative Counselor Supervisors. The
current population at NCCDC is approximately 50 juveniles and 45 juveniles at Stevenson House.
This unit is responsible for transportation to and from Family Court, Superior Court, and any
medical related transports.

Based on current resources, YRS has indicated for the safety of all involved, 4.0 additional full-
time Youth Rehabilitative Counselors are required to cover statewide Family Court trips. This will
enable two YRS staff members to be present with each youth in a court room. In order to meet
the requirements of Preventing Prison Rap Act (PREA), at least one position will he female.

The estimated State agency costs for the 4.0 additional full-time Youth Rehabilitative Counselors
is $232,996.24 (estimate includes salary and other employment costs (OEC's)).

Fiscal Year 2017 $232,996.24
Fiscal Year 2018 $232,996.24
Fiscal Year 2019 $232,996.24

Office of Controller General (Amounts are shown in whole dollars)
March 15, 2016
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Pathways to Employment

General Information

Pathways to Employment is a program designed to support low-income teens and young adults with
disabilities in Delaware who want to work. The program heips participants get prepared for work, find
jobs, and succeed in the workplace.

Eligibility
In order to participate in the Pathways fo Employment program an individual must:

» Want to work

Be aged 14 to 25

Be enrolled in Medicaid and meet rélated financial eligibility criteria

Be in one of the targeted disability groups (persons with intellectual disabilities; autism
spectrum disorders; visual impairments; or physical disabilities)*

. Meet certain disability-specific functional criteria

* People with mental health support needs are served by a simitar program called PROMISE.

Services

Pathways to Employment participants receive employment-related services to meet their individual
needs.

Services available through Pathways to Employment include:

Employment Navigator

Career Exploration and Assessment

Supported Employment - Individual

Supported Employment - Small Group

Benefits Counseling

Financial Coaching

Non-Medical Transpartation

Personal Care (including a self-directed component)
Qrientation, Mobility, Assistive Technology

For a brief description of each service, visit the Pathways to Employment - Services page.

Learn More
Follow the links below to get more detailed information about Pathways to Employment.

« Pathways to Employment Brochure

« Pathways to Empioyment Fiver

« Pathways to Employment Presentation

. Pathways to Employment State Plan Amendment (approved by Centers for Medicaid and
Medicare Services effective 1/1/15)

How to Enroll or Make a Referral

3/30/2016



Pathways to Employment Page 2 of 2

To enroll in Pathways to Empioyment or to refer someone who you think might benefit from the
program, contact the Delaware Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC).

Information for Service Providers

To enroll as a service provider, please visit the Pathways to Employment - Information for Service
Providers page.

Last Updated: Thursday September 03 2015

site map | aboutthis site | contactus | ftranslate | delaware.gov

http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsaapd/pathways.html 3/30/2016
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PROMISE

What is PROMISE?

The PROMISE program (Promoting Optimal Mental Health for individuals through Supports and
Empowerment) will target individuals with behavioral health needs and functional limitations to offer an
array of home and community-based services (HCBS) that are person-centered, recovery-oriented,
and aimed at supporting beneficiaries in the community. PROMISE will help improve clinical and
recovery outcomes and reduce unnecessary institutional care through better care coordination, and
thereby also reduce the growth in overall program costs.

PROMISE will provide a variety of community based services such as:

Care Management

Individual Employment Supports

Short-Term Small Group Supported Employment
Financial Coaching

Benefits Counselling

Peer support

Non-Medical Transportation

Community-Based Residential Supports Exciuding Assisted Living
Nursing

Community Psychiatric Support and Treatment
Psychosocial Rehabilitation

Respite

independent Activities of Daily Living/Chore
Personai Care

Community Transition Services

For a description of each of the services listed above, please view the PROMISE Services
Presentation.

PROMISE Public Hearings

in September of 2014, the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH), along with the
Division of Medicaid and Medica! Assistance (DMMA) held three public hearings regarding the 1115
Waiver Amendment (PROMISE). The goal of the PROMISE program (Promoting Optimal Mental
Health for Individuals through Supports and Empowerment) is to imprave clinical and recovery
outcomes and reduce unnecessary institutional care through better care coordination, and thereby
also reduce the growth in overall program costs. During the public hearings, an overview of PROMISE
was presented to those in attendance, and as a result the state received and responded to numerous
guestions and comments from the public regarding the PROMISE pprogram.

For more information on PROMISE and how to qualify, please view the PROMISE Brochure.

Provider Information

3/30/2016



DSAMH - PROMISE Page 2 of 2

The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health will work with qualified mental health providers to
deliver home and community-based, person-centered, recovery-oriented services under the
PROMISE program for Delaware residents suffering from severe and persistent mental iliness and
substance use disorders.

New Provider Information/Training:

PROMISE Training Reguirements

PROMISE Training Curriculums

PROMISE Training Calendar
New Provider Implementation Checklist
Find Information on Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR)

Want to become a PROMISE provider in Delaware? Contact the Provider Relations Unit at (302)
255-9463 for information!

Provider Billing:
PROMISE HCBS Service Certification and Reimbursement Manual-Draft

Contact Information:

Contact the Eligibility and Enroliment Unit (EEU)
PROMISE Provider Directory.

You may also contact fhe DSAMH Provider Relations Unit with any additional questions or concerns
at (302) 255-9463 or by email at DSAMHPromise@state.de.us.

Beneficiary Information

Contact the Eligibility and Enroliment Unit (EEU)

Find a Nearby PROMISE Provider
Find Treatment Services

You may also contact the DSAMH Office of Consumer Affairs at (302) 255-9421 with any questions or
concerns.

Need Immediate Help?

Contact the Crisis Intervention Unit

i Please note: Some of the files available on this page are in Adobe PDF format which requires Adobe Acrobat
Reader. A free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded directly from Adobe . If you are using an assistive
technology unable to read Adobe PDF, please either view the corresponding text only version (if available) or visit Adobe's

Accessibility Tools page.

Last Updated: Monday February 08 2016

site map | aboutthissite | contactus | translate | delaware.gov

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/promise.html 3/30/2016
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Tax Credits for Hiring Disabled Workers

By Madison Garcia
eHow Contributor

@fﬁg‘*ﬁ { ©save )

Pin 15 Tweet Share  Emall . 18 Shares & Saves

Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, any employer with
more than 15 employees must provide reasonable
accommodation for disabled individuals. Although it's a federal
requirement, businesses can still get federal tax credits for hiring
disabled workers and restructuring the workplace to
accommodate them. Tax deductions and state tax credits are
also available.

Digital
Vision./Photodisc/Getty
Images

Pay $0 to file your taxes again this year
Promoted by Turho Tax

Work Opportunity Credit

The federal government offets a federal tax credit for employers that hire new
employees out of a targeted group that includes disabled individuals. in order to qualify
for this credit, the e'mployee must be certified as disabled by the appropriate’ -
governmental agencies. The credit offers employers up to 40 percent of the first
$6,000 of wages given to new disabled employees. To claim the credit, the employer
should complete IRS Form 5884, Work Opportunity Credit, and include it with the
annual business tax return. :

Disabled Access Tax Credit

Even if a business didn't hire any new disabled employees, it can still get a tax credit for
providing or improving disabled access. The Disabled Access Credit is available to small
businesses that earn less than $1 million and have fewer than 30 full time employees.
Eligible.expenditures include removing accessibility barriers, providing interpreters or
audio materials for the hearing-impaired, providing readers for the visually-impaired.
and purchases or improvements on any devices for disabled individuals. The maximum
annual credit is $5,000. Businesses can claim the tax credit by completing IRS Form
8826, Disabled Access Credit, and attaching it to the business return.

Barrier Removal Tax Deduction

Although large businesses may not qualify for the Disabled Access Credit, they can still
take advantage of the Barrier Removal tax deduction. Normally, a business must
capitalize any structural improvements to buildings and vehicles and depreciate them
over the assets' lives. However, if the improvement is related to improving accessibility
for the elderly or disabled, it can deduct the cost immediately. The maximum amount a
business can deduct each year is $15,000.

http://www.ehow.com/info_1003 9280 tax-credits-hiring-disabled-workers.html

3/30/2016
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State Tax Incentives

Along with federal tax credits, many states offer tax incentives for costs connected to
disabled individuals. For example, businesses based in Maryland can get 2 state tax
credit for hiring employees with disabilities. Employers can get a maximum credit of
$1,800 for employee wages the first year of employment and up to $1,200 in the
second year. Maryland also offers a credit up to $600 the first year and $500 the
second year for providing transportation and childcare expenses for disabled
individuals. New York offers a similar program that provides up to $2,100 in state tax
credits.

http://www.ehow.com/info_10039280_tax- credits-hiring-disabled-workers.html 3/30/2016
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DVR RECORDS AND ACHIEVEMENTS

The Division of Vocational Rehabilitation set a new record for successful employment
outcomes in FY 2015, increasing the number of individuals who were successfully
employed by 92 over the previous year for a total of 1,138! Among the individuals
who achieved successful employment outcomes, 1070 (94 %) individuals had
significant disabilities and 355 (31%) were individuals who had received Transition
services.

 Successful Outcomes

This chart indicates the five-year
trend in the number of total

 Successful Outcomes successful DVR outcomes,
with Significant successful outcomes for individuals
Disabilities with significant disabilities, and

successful outcomes for individuals

@ Successful Transition ) L .
who received transition services.

Outcomes
2011 2012 2013-2014 201

Average Hourly Wage

FY 2015 B — This chart indicates the

FY 2014 DS five-year trend for the average
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During FY 2015, DVR began formal implementation of Pre-Employment Transition
Services as required under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. The
division solicited bids for community partners to offer summer programs that would
offer transition students exposure to employment expectations and experience in
employment situations. DVR funded 11 programs statewide that offered services to
over 100 transition students. The feedback from these programs was overwhelmingly
" positive, and DVR is expanding Pre—Emponment Transition Services in FY 2016.
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DVR PERFORMANCE REPORT

Successful Rehabilitations: 1,138
Most Significant Disabilities 357 (31%)
94%
Significant Disabilities 715 (63%)
Transition Youth Rehabilitated 355

Total Clients Served: 7,757
Clients with Most Significant Disabilities 2,614 (34%)
909
Clients with Significant Disabilities 4,303 (56%) %

New Applicants in FY 2015: 2,861
Determined Eligible 2,501
Acceptance Rate 92%

New Transition Students:

Transition Students/Youth Served

Average Hourly Wage for FY 2015 closures:
All closures
Transition
Supported Employment
Adults (not TR or SE)

Individuals in Delayed Status at the end of FY 2015




BILL:

SPONSOR: Senator Townsend

DESCRIPTION: AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 14 AND TITLE 29 OF THE DELAWARE CODE

SENATE BILL NO. 186

RELATING TO SCHOOL TAXES.

ASSUMPTIONS:

This Act is effective upon signature of the Governor.

This Act will create the Disabled Veteran School Tax Refund Fund whereby a resident who is a
disabled veteran, regardless of age, and owns and occupies a principal residence, will receive a
refund against school property taxes depending on his/her disability rating. A qualified individual
with a disability rating of 10% to 20% may receive a refund of $200; a rating of 30% to 40% may
receive a refund of $350; and a rating of greater than 60% may receive a refund of $500.

An individual qualified to receive the Disabled Veteran School Tax Refund and the Senior School
Property Tax Refund will only receive one refund from either program, but not both.

There are an estimated 4,346 disabled veteran property owners under the age of 65 who would
be eligible to receive the Disabled Veteran School Tax Refund pursuant to this Act. Below is the
methodology used to develop this estimate based on the assumptions as indicated:

A. Number of Veterans in Delaware Receiving Disability Compensation: 11,404
B. Homeowner Rate in Delaware: 72.5%
C. Estimated Disabled Veterans Owning a Home: 8,268 (AXB =C)

D. Percentage of Delaware Veterans 65 or older: 47.4%
E. Estimated Disabled Veterans 65+ Receiving Sr. Property Credit: 3,922 (CXD=E)

F. Estimated Disabled Veterans Eligible for Disabled Veteran Refund: 4,346 (C—E = F)

Based on information from the Department of Finance, the estimated average Senior School
Property Tax Credit is $368 and this value is assumed as the average refund for the Disabled
Veteran School Tax Refund. ‘

This Act establishes the Disabled Veteran School Tax Refund Fund at $3,000,000. However, the
projected impact of the program is less than the $3,000,000 identified in the Act.

Fiscal Year 2017: $1,599,300
Fiscal Year 2018: $1,599,300
Fiscal Year 2019: $1,599,300

Office of Controller General (Amounts are shown in whole dollars)
March 01, 2016 ‘
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How Do Disability Ratings Work for Veterans Benefits?

The Department of Veterans Affairs uses a disability rating system to determine
the amount of compensation provided to disabled Armed Forces veterans.

Make the most of your claim. We've helped 225 clients find attorneys
oday :

Enter Zip Code Get Started

Make the most of your claim. We've helped 225 clients f"nd
attorneys today.

Has the applicant previously applied for social security disébility?

--Select an answer-- _ @

show a/l options '

by Jean C. ONeill (/law-authors/jean-c-oniell.html), Contributing Author

(ht (ht

Veterans of the United States Armed Forces with disabilities connected to, or
aggravated by, active service may be eligible for veterans disability benefits. After
the veteran has applied for benefits, the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
evaluates the medical evidence and determines whether or not the veteran

- qualifies for benefits. The VA then assigns the disability a rating level, which
dictates the amount of monetary compensation the veteran will receive due to his
disability or disease.

Disability Ratings

In order to qualify for veterans disability benefits, certain criteria must be met. (See
our article on filing for veterans disability benefits
(http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/resources/disability/veterans-

http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/resources/ disébility/how—do-disability—ratings-Work-veter. .. 3/30/2016
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disability/filing.htm).) If the VA determines that a the veteran qualifies for disability
benefits, it assigns the disability a rating to signify the extent of the disability or
disease. The disability rating represents the "average detriment to earning
capacity" resulting from the disability or disease.

The ratings are assigned in 10% increments, ranging from 10% to 100% disabled. A
higher disability rating indicates the veteran has a more severe disability, and
therefore receives a higher monthly compensation payment. For example, under
the current wartime rates for veterans without dependents, a 10% disabled veteran
is entitled to receive $123 per month, a 50% disabled veteran is entitled to receive
$770 per month, and a 100% (or totally) disabled veteran is entitled to receive
$2,673 per month. Generally, the compensation rates are subject to an annual cost
of living increase.

The law also provides for special compensation rates for many enumerated, more
serious disabilities or injuries. Injuries such as loss of a single hand or foot,
blindness or severe injury to one eye, loss of ability to speak, and deafness, to
name a few examples, are entitled to an increase of $96 per month per injury
(maximum $4,667 per month) above the base compensation rate. Loss of both
hands, both feet, blindness in both eyes, or a permanent bedridden state entitles
the veteran to $3,327 compensation per month. The law also lists several other
disabilities that may merit higher, specific payments. Additionally, the statute
allows for the Secretary of the VA to approve higher payments for more severe
disabilities if necessary, with a maximum of $4,667 per month.

Rating for Multiple Disabilities

When a veteran has more than one disease or disability, the disability ratings are
not simply added together (for example, a 40% disability rating plus a 20%
disability rating does not equal a total 60% disability rating.) Instead, a formula is
used to determine the total disability rating level for multiple disabilities. First, the
disabilities are ranked from most to least severe. Then, it is determined what
percentage of efficiency the veteran retains after the first, most severe disability.
For example, if the veteran's most severe disability is rated at 40%, he is still 60%
efficient.

After that, the second most severe disability is considered. That second disability
rating is applied to the vet's remaining efficiency. For example, if the veteran after
the first disability has a remaining 60% efficiency, and his second most severe

http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/resources/disability/how-do-disability-ratings-work-veter... 3/30/2016
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disability has a 20% disability rating, then 20% of the 60% efficiency is calculated —
in this case, 12%, and that number is added to the original disability rating (40%
plus 12% equals 52% disabled).

The new disability rating is rounded up or down to the closer 10% increment. In the
example above, the 52% rating would be rounded down to a 50% disability rating,
and that veteran would be considered 50% disabled.

Reexamination and Changes to Disability Ratings

Once a disability rating is assigned, it may be subject to change in certain
circumstances. For example, the VA may require medical re-examination of the
veteran six months after leaving service, and then again between two and five
years later. The VA does this to verify either the continued existence of or the
current severity of a disability, particularly in cases where it is likely that a disability
has improved, or if evidence indicates there has been a material change in a
disability, or that the current rating may be incorrect. In such cases it is possible
that the rating and benefits may be reduced or discontinued.

Re-examination would not likely occur in cases where the disability was
determined at the outset to be permanent, in cases where the disability has not
sustainably improved in five years, or in cases where the veteran is older than 55
years of age and his rating would not be changed by reexamination.

A veteran receiving benefits may file VA Form 21-4138 to request a new evaluation
if he develops a new disability or disease connected to his service, or if he finds
his condition worsening. The VA may then increase the veteran's disability rating
and therefore increase the monthly compensation.

When Benefits Cannot Be Reduced

The VA cannot reduce a disability rating for a veteran with a 100% disabled rating
unless there is a medical examination or evidence of ability to maintain
employment for 12 consecutive months that shows “material improvement” in his
physical or mental condition.

If a veteran has been deemed to have permanent and total disability and has been
receiving disability benefits for twenty years or more, his benefits cannot be
reduced. If the veteran's disability is less than permanent and total, and the

http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/resources/disability/how-do-disability-ratings-work-veter... 3/30/2016
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veteran has been receiving disability benefits for twenty years or more, and upon
re-examination by the VA the veteran's disability rating is lowered, the amount of
compensation will not drop below the original level. For example, if the veteran
has been deemed to be 40% disabled for a period of twenty continuous years or
more and is then re-evaluated to be only 30% disabled, the amount of his benefits
will not drop below the 40% compensation rate.

Learning More

For information on applying for benefits, and how veterans disability benefits relate
to Social Security disability benefits, see our section on veterans benefits
(http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/topics/social-security-disabled-veterans). If you
disagree with your disability rating and wish to challenge it, arrange a consultation
with a disability lawyer certified with the VA
(http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/consultation/request_details?).

(ht (ht

~ Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.
!

Practice Area: | Workers Compensation E
Zip Code: Enter Zip Code
I
SEARCH
How It Works

Briefly tell us about your case

Provide your contact information

Connect with local attorneys

http://www.disabilitysecrets.com/resources/disability/how-do-disability-ratings-work-veter... 3/30/2016
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Tax Exemptions

Partial tax exemptions are available for some taxpayers. Those
who are disabled or over 65 may be eligible, depending upon
income levels. Exemptions for non-profit organizations and for
agricultural property are also available, provided conditions are
met. The exemption application provides more complete
information on eligibility requirements.

Applications

Disability and Over-65 Exemption Requirements

Disability Exemption

Qver-65 Exemption

Farmiand Exemption

General Exemption

Senior School Property Tax Credit Application

Sewer Clean-out Reimbursement Exemption

Wiimington Tax Exemption

ittp://ncede.org/182/Tax-Exemptions

Page 1 of

Contact Us

Address:

Office of Assessment
NCC Government Center
87 Reads Way

New Castle, DE 18720

Phone: (302) 395-5520

3/28/201¢



Senior & Disability Property Tax Discounts

Qualification & Deadline Requirements

Over 65 Exemption Qualifications:

o Applicant must be 65 years of age before July 1% of the year you wish to apply

« Must be your primary residence and you must have been living in the State of Delaware for a
period of 3 years prior to October 1% of the preceding year of application .

e Must be an owner of record.

o Assessed value of the property cannot exceed $125,000. For those whose value exceeds the
$125,000 limit, and their Adjusted Gross Income (A.G.1.) less taxable Social Security does not
exceed $3,000, the State Senior Property Tax Exemption of $5,000 will apply.

o Applicant’s household A.G.L. from Federal Forms 1040 or 1040A from the preceding calendar
year must be no greater than $50,000 (single or married) not including Taxable Social Security
or Railroad Retirement (Tier 1) to qualify for the County Property Tax reduction. In order to
receive the Reduction on bath County and School, the limit is as follows: Single-$15,000
Married $19,000 not including Taxable Social Security, or Railroad Tier 1 Retirement.

« County Tax, School Tax and Sewer service charge accounts with New Castle County must be
current; or the applicant must be actively enrolled and making payments according to a
schedule set and approved by the Finance Department.

o Application must be signed and dated. (No photocopied applications allowed.)

Deadlines

« Applications are due in the Office of Property Assessment by June 1

o Exemptions become effective July 1t

« If an applicant that has been approved and was receiving the exemption on or before July 1,
2007 at their previous residence, and has moved to another residence in New Castle County,
an application of transfer must be filed including proper income and residency documentation
with the Office of Property Assessment within 30 days of settlement in order to continue
receiving a reduction on future bills at the new residence '

Benefits-(applicants approved July 1, 2007 and before):

« Sewer Service charge — receive 50% off that charge, or the minimum bill charge ($36),
whichever is higher.

« County Tax — Assessed value reduced up to $50,000

« School Tax — Assessed value reduced up to $32,000



« Sewer Lateral Cleanout — they receive a reimbursement of up to $75, once every 12 months
for charges incurred for sewer lateral clean-out.

Benefits-(applicants approved July 1, 2008 and thereafter):

« Sewer Service charge — receive 50% off that charge, or the minimum bill charge ($50),
whichever is higher. |

e County Tax — Assessed value reduced up to $32,000 (for A.G.I. $50,000 or less, Household
Income)

e School Tax — They receive a reduction in their assessed value of up to $32,000 (for A.G.I. of
$19,000 or less for a married couple and $15,000 or less for a single person)

e Sewer Lateral Cleanout — They may be eligible to receive a reimbursement of up to $75 once
every 12 months, of charges incurred for sewer lateral clean-out for those receiving the
exemption.

Disability Exemption Qualifications:

e Property must be applicant’s primary residence and applicant must have been living in the
State of Delaware for a period of 3 years prior to October 1% of the year of application.

¢ Must be an owner of record.

o Applicant must provide their current Social Security Award Notification, or have their treating
physician sign the application attesting to the stated disability (must be original signature, no
photocopies allowed)

e Applicant’s A.G.I. from Federal 1040 or 1040A form for the preceding calendar year must be
$50,000 or less in household income (single or married) not including Railroad Retirement Tier
1 or Taxable Social Security.

e County Tax, School Tax, and Sewer Service Charges must be current with New Castle County,
or the applicant must be actively enrolled in a payment plan according to a schedule set-up
and approved by the Finance Department.

Deadlines:

e Original Exemption applications must be received no later than June 1%

o Exemption becomes effective July 1%,

e If an applicant has been approved for this exemption on or before July 1, 2007, and moves to
a new property within New Castle County and files an application of transfer within 30 days of
settlement including proper income and residency documentation with the Office of Property
Assessment, the exemption will be applied to their new primary residence,



Benefits- (Applicants approved prior to July 1, 2008):

Sewer Service Charge - receive 50% off that charge, or the minimum bill charge ($50),
whichever is higher.

County Tax — They receive a reduction in their assessed value of up to $40,000. For loss of
limbs or loss of limbs requiring home to be equipped with special fixtures, an additional
$42,000 may be added to a maximum of $82,000.

School Tax — They receive a reduction in their assessed value of up to $32,000. For loss of
limbs or loss of limbs requiring home to be equipped with special fixtures, an additional
$42,000 may be added to a maximum of $74,000.

Sewer Lateral Cleanout - They may be eligible to receive a reimbursement of up to $75 once
every 12 months, of charges incurred for sewer lateral clean-out for those receiving the
exemption.

Benefits- (Applicants approved July 1, 2008 and thereafter):

Sewer Service Charge — receive 50% off that charge, or the minimum bill charge ($50),
whichever is higher.

County Tax — They receive a reduction in their assessed value of up to $32,000. For loss of
limbs or loss of limbs requiring home to be equipped with special fixtures, an additional
$42,000 may be added to a maximum of $74,000.

School Tax — They receive a reduction in their assessed value of up to $32,000. For loss of
limbs or loss of limbs requiring home to be equipped with special fixtures, an additional
$42,000 may be added to a maximum of $74,000.

Sewer Lateral Cleanout - They may be eligible to receive a reimbursement of up to $75 once
every 12 months, of charges incurred for sewer lateral clean-out for those receiving the
exemption.

Please Note: If the disability is Armed Forces Related, the taxpayer may receive an additional
reduction of $5,000 off the assessed value of the residence for both County and School Taxes.
Regarding Married Couples: Only one Exemption per household is allowed ex: One spouse

is already receiving the discount.and the remaining spouse turns 65 or becomes disabled, you

can not get another discount in addition to the existing discount.




State of Delaware — Senior School Tax Credit:

« Applicant must 65 years of age prior to July 1% of the year in which they wish to
apply and must provide a legible copy of their unexpired Delaware Driver’s

License or State of Delaware issued 1.D.
o The property must be the applicant’s primary residence, and must be an owner

of record. .
o The applicant must have been living in Delaware a minimum of 3 years prior to

April 30™ of the year of application.
« The application must have the original SIgnature (no photocopies)
e Tax and sewer accounts with NCC must be current. (No payment plan authorized

for approval.)

Deadlines:

« Applications must be received by New Castle Treasury Department' no later than
April 30™,
« The Credit becomes effective July 1% of the year of application.

Benefits:

e School Tax, a credit of 50% of the School Tax line item, not to exceed a credit
amount of $500



Delaware's heroin babies: Starting life in withdrawal

Addicted babies

CHAPTER 1
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Katie Morgan is a heroin addict in recovery, a 29-year-old expecting a child in January.

She is part of a novel Delaware corrections program: Rather than serving time in prison
for drug crimes and probation violations, Morgan is being held at a Newark group home —
where she receives treatment for addiction, and can retain custody of her baby.

Methadone, the synthetic opioid Morgan takes to treat her heroin addiction, courses
through her blood and the blood of the baby boy she's carrying. '

That means her newborn will likely spend his first weeks in the throes of opiate withdrawal
—fighting neonatal abstinence syndrome, or NAS, a condition that makes babies sleep-
deprived, irritable, prone to tremors and vomiting, and difficult to feed.

The first sensations felt by her child will be similar to what heroin addicts feel when they

quit cold turkey — wracked with pain, clawed by cravings.

“| can imagine what he's going to go through when he
comes out. I've been through withdrawal before,”
Morgan said, sniffling. “I'm really upset with myself. |
cry about it a lot because | did it to him. But he's
healthy, and the doctors say he’s going\t?E/e OK. So,
it's just a mistake | have to learn from.”

Morgan's predicament is becoming far more common
in America. Heroin use more than doubled in the last
decade, and more and more babies are starting their
lives in withdrawal. In 2004, 39 babies were
discharged from a Delaware hospital after being
treated for NAS. Last year, 300 babies received

that diagnosis — nearly 3 out of every 100 born here.

Page 1 of 11

-2 0a18”
MO

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752...  3/28/2016



Delaware's heroin babies: Starting life in withdrawal
while heroin and methadone are much less I|Kely to
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in Lewes. Forsyth's daily work involves caring for infants born with

affect a child later in life than other drugs expectant neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS), caused by their in-utero
dependence on illegal drugs, like heroin.
mothers are urged to avoid during pregnancy - such (Photo: JASON MINTO/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

as alcohol, tobacco and cocaine — the quick rise in
NAS cases in Delaware is an unsettling trend.

Christiana Hospital, which has seen more than twice as many NAS babies since 2010,
announced plans Thursday for a $260 million overhaul of its women and

children's services at its Stanton campus. That expansion will create eight new floors and
provide more room for its neonatal intensive care unit and a new nursery just for high-
risk infants, such as those exposed to opioid drugs during pregnancy.

To medical staff accustomed to giving care in stressful conditions, infants with NAS can

seem to be in agony. And caring for them is agonizing.

“What's different about babies who are born to moms on opiates is it does cause fairly
immediate withdrawal symptoms,” said Dr. David Paul, chief of pediatrics at Christiana
Care. “Immediate means babies can show symptoms of withdrawal in the first hours after
birth."

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752...  3/28/2016
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Adds Nancy Forsyth, a neonatal nurse at Beebe Hospital In Lewes: " hey may cry
inconsolably. If you listen to their cry, it's the cry of a baby that is in pain. It's really
distressing to see a baby going through this."

Like other states around America, Delaware is struggling through the heroin pandemic.
Overdose deaths have nearly tripled in the past decade — from 63 in 2004 to 185 in 2014.

High school nurses are being trained to give emergency doses of opiate-blocking drugs to
prevent fatal overdoses, and police officers and emergency medical technicians carry the
drug Narcan to save the lives of those who have overdosed.

In New Castle County, heroin seizures climbed 400 percent between 2012 and 2013, and
emergency rooms are being inundated with overdose victims.

The signs of stress are visible statewide.
"The addiction epidemic is straining our public system beyond its capacity, with many
people turned away for services when they are ready for treatment,” Gov. Jack Markell

said in August.

Jim Martin, the leader of a Georgetown home for homeless men and a director of a
Seaford addiction resource center, knows of parents in Seaford who routinely sweep
heroin baggies off their sidewalks so their children don't find them.

Heroin "has just exploded in our communities. It's like a nuclear bomb went off and little
heroin packets are going everywhere," Martin said. "The experience I'm having dealing
with heroin is folks seem to have so much more relapse. The drug just pulls you back,
even if you've had some clean time. It's just a terribly addictive drug.”

Three years into treatment for heroin addiction, Courtney Murphy, 31, brought her baby
girl, Sophia, into the world on Oct. 27. Murphy had taken methadone and the baby
showed signs of NAS in the hours after her birth, but made it through the rough patch and
was discharged without much fuss six days later. ~

“Her tremors did scare me a little bit. I'd never experienced that,” Murphy said as she
rocked Sophia, in her Nike booties and a pink-and-white outfit, to sleep in-her New Castle

apartment.

Murphy's sons, ages 2 and 6, watched cartoons in a bedroom while, nearby, her 11-year-
old daughter fussed with her hair. The church where Murphy attends addiction group
therapy each week is just a few minutes' walk down the street.

“It's an everyday struggle,” she said of her recovery
from addiction. She said it began at age 18 after a car
crash when she was prescribed opiate painkillers.
She's been clean three years now.

“It's made me become a better mom," Murphy said.
"My daughter's 11 — she’ll be 12 soon —and | was
actively using when she was younger” — taking street
drugs in the child's presence. “Now, |'ve been able to

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752... 3/28/2016
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be there a Iot. Not Just physically. Mentally. Knowing

what's going on with my kids. | mean, it's a big
difference.

*| am doing the right thing. It's not being embarrassed
\ by my drug history. I'm proud of myself today, from
: where | came from," she said.

CHAPTER 2

Page 4 of 11

31 year-old Courtney Murphy rocks her 2-week-old daughter Sophia
while talking to Daniel, her 6-year-old son. A younger son, 2-year-old
Duke, and Sophia were both born while Murphy was using methadone
to treat her addiction to heroin.

(Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE NEWS JOURNA)

Drugs and delivery

More than it ever has, heroin is reshaping lives throughout the United States. In 2005,
380,000 people said they had used heroin in the past year, according to the National
Institute on Drug Abuse. By 2012, 670,000 people were in that group.

As public policy measures deliberately made it harder for people to access and abuse
prescription drugs, they often turned to heroin ( http://www.drugabuse.gov/about-

nida/legislative-activities/testimony-to-congress/2015/americas-addiction-to-opicids-

obtain than prescription opioids,” the NIDA says.

heroin-prescription-drug-abuse), “which is cheaper and in some communities easier to

The rise in heroin use is happening even as use of most other illegal drugs is dropping,
according to the institute’s research. Fewer people use cocaine and hallucinogens now
than they did 10 years ago. But heroin's popularity is soaring.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752...  3/28/2016
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In interviews around the state, doctors and nurses who work In obstetrics departments say

an increasing amount of their time is spent in the care of women who are actively using
heroin and other opiate drugs or, more commonly, being treated for addiction with
methadone. It is a clinical scenario that used to pop up on occasion, but is now a near-

daily reality.

“This is constant. It's pretty much all the time. It's rare that | don’t have a baby who's been
exposed [to opiates] here," said Beebe's Forsyth. “We used to have a lot of moms coming
in on oxycodone, street or otherwise, when they came in to deliver. Now, we're not seeing
that, All we're seeing, pretty much, is the methadone. ... It's pretty much a constant. Ask
anybody else at a birthing hospital and they'll say the same thing.”

Nationwide, about 16 percent of pregnant teens and 7 percent of pregnant women ages
18 to 25 use illegal drugs when pregnant, according to a federal survey of recent data.
Between 2000 and 2009, the number of mothers using opiates during pregnancy
increased 500 percent, according to a 2012 report by the American Medical Association.

The obstetrics field has seen the effects of drug abuse on pregnant women before, when
the drugs involved were different. Alcohol abuse during pregnancy can lead to fetal
alcohol syndrome and can cause facial deformities and brain damage; cocaine use by the

mother can cause premature birth.

But heroin, as wel! as methadone, can lead to neonatal complications all their own, said
Paul, of Christiana. About 60 to 80 percent of babies born dependent on either heroin or
methadone develop symptoms of NAS.

An infant with NAS can show symptoms like
tremors, irritability, an unsettiing high-pitched cry,
seizures, poor feeding, sneezing a lot, vomiting,
diarrhea and difficulty breathing. All of this is
because after birth, “the infant then begins to
withdraw from the narcotics previously received
from the mother in utero,” as a 2013 article in the
International Journal of Childhood Education put it.
If not treated, NAS can be fatal.

In 2010, Paul said, 100 infants were treated for
NAS at Christiana. In 2014, 170 were diagnosed
there, the hospital where more babies are
delivered in Delaware than at any other hospital.
Statewide, 300 babies delivered at Delaware
hospitals were diagnosed with NAS in 2014,
compared to 242 babies in 2013, according to data
Paul presented to other physicians in April.

Page Sof 11

Dr. David Paul, chair of the pediatrics department at
. X . Christiana Care Health System, talks about the hospital's
About 10,900 babies were born in Delaware in care for drug-dependent infants right after they're born.

2014, according to federal health data. That means

2.7 percent of babies born that year were treated

for NAS. More than that were evaluated for

it because their mothers were known to have

methadone or opiates in their systems, but not diagnosed.

(Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/1 1/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752... 3/28/2016



Delaware's heroin babies: Starting life in withdrawal Page 6 of 11
1 he increased incidence ot NAS Is an echo ot overall heroin use in Delaware. LUrug

treatment programs funded by the Delaware Division of Substance Abuse and Mental
Health admitted 1,263 patients in 2011 whose primary drug was heroin. In 2014, that
number was up to 3,182 heroin-dependent people, and for the third year in a row, those
programs treated more heroin addicts in Delaware than users of any other drug.

“I've had 22-year-olds sit in my triage chair and they're crying. They're devastated. They
know their lives have changed. They've burned through all their support systems," said
Kathy Keating, a forensic nurse examiner program coordinator at Nanticoke Memorial
Hospital in Seaford, speaking to a community group in September about the heroin crisis.
"But when people are honest with me about their drug history, | thank them. As long as
you know what's in them it's much easier to treat them."

" am hopeful that at some point it's going to peak," Paul said of the heroin epidemic. "If
i we learn lessons going back to crack cocaine in the 1880s, it seemed like that was never
‘ going to end, but it largely went away as a problem. So it's my hope as a clinician, and as
a citizen of Delaware, that we're going to see this wane at some point.”

Pills led to addictions

CHAPTER 3

For many, opiate drugs legally prescribed for pain following an injury become the gateway
to heroin addiction. Brittny Yost, 23, of Seaford was a 16-year-old playing school sports .
when injuries aggravated by softball and martial arts led to physical therapy. A doctor
wrote her a scrip for Tramadol, an opiod pain medication; when Tramadol's usefulness
faded, she said, she was prescribed Percocet, another narcotic.

“Percosets became my new addiction and the way ! coped with a lot of the pain,” Yost
said in an interview at New Expectations, a Department of Corrections-supported home
for pregnant women who have been sentenced for criminal offenses and are also
undergoing methadone treatment. “And | found myself, every single time | got depressed,
using more and more all the time. Herdin was introduced by my brother.”

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752...  3/28/2016
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Criminal otténses and probation violations, the first at age 1/, led Yost to one of state’'s

1 substance abuse programs for offenders, and then supervised probation. But while on
probation, she used drugs again and her probation officer found out, landing her back

behind bars this year.

“| was three weeks' pregnant when | went to jail. |
didn't even know | was pregnant,” Yost said. “Going
through withdrawal, the risk of losing the baby and
miscarriage and stuff, that definitely isn’t an option for

me.

Women in Delaware's correctional system can get

methadone treatment while in prison only if they are
pregnant, and Yost did so. But she said she knew
other women in the prison considered her and other
pregnant, methadone-using women beneath them,

contemptible.

“There's a lot of other inmates who look down on you

Brittny Yost poses for a portrait at New Expectations in Newark.
- (Photo: KYLE GRANTHAM/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

being in a pregnancy pod" and getting methadone
treatments, Yost said. "It was depressing, in a way,
but at the same time | knew it was the best option.”

If she had not been caught using and learned of her pregnancy, Yostisn't sure she would
have sought treatment for her addiction.

“Probably not, to be honest,” she said quietly. The parole violation conviction, she said,
“was sort of a blessing. The influences that were around me back then, they're not now,
being that I'm in treatment.”

To an outsider, it might seem surprising that medical professionals encourage expectant
mothers addicted to opiates to use methadone instead of finding a way to completely flush
opiates from their bodies by the time the baby is born.

But doctors and nurses interviewed for this story said outcomes are better for the baby if
an expectant mother is following prescribed treatment for methadone, even though there
i is a decent chance the baby will develop NAS.

' "The long-term outcomes seem to be a lot better for these babies than with fetal alcohol

_syndrome or your cocaine-addicted babies," said Dr. Erin Fletcher, a Lewes pediatrician
who is on staff at Beebe Healthcare. "There are some studies showing possibly some
higher ADHD or learning disabilities in the long term. But for the most part, it's not causing
any major obvious birth defects. For the most part, once we get them through this
treatment period, these babies tend to do very well." '

For most people, going cold turkey is simply ineffective as a way of battling heroin
addiction; the cravings for the drug are just too powerful. Methadone helps block the
nervous system receptors in the brain that create the craving for the drug.

“Mothers in methadone programs are doing the best they can under unbelievably difficult
circumstances," said Forsyth, the Beebe nurse practitioner. "That is a piece | always share
with them. By seeking treatment and getting prenatal care, they have done the best thing

they can for their unborn baby."

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752...  3/28/2016
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Stigma anissue

CHAPTER 4

Underlying the concerns about NAS and newborn's health is a recognition that the infants'
mothers, in most cases, are struggling, often in the middle of difficult recovery from
addiction, and routinely stigmatized for being pregnant at the same time they're addicted
to drugs.

"Having a child is difficult; babies are very demanding. When you add intc that the stress
of a parent who is, whether they are actively using or are in treatment, there's a
tremendous burden of guilt,” said Forsyth. "Dealing with those issues, as well as the guilt
that they're feeling and a baby that is far more irritable and difficult to care for than most, is

overwhelming.”

Bridget Buckaloo, who directs women's health services at Beebe Healthcare, says
medical staff should be careful not to stigmatize such women more than they already are.

"Nursing curricula, medical school curricula, dental school curricula: All these different
aspects of health care really don't prepare us to deal with addiction. We don't have a good
understanding of addiction as a disease," Buckaloo said. "We see it as a choice... A
diabetic, we don't judge them for taking their insulin. People who have an addiction, who
are substance dependent, they're at a point where they are taking the drug to feel OK.
They're not taking the drug to get high. Most of these women have had some kind of
trauma if you strip away the drug. The medication makes them feel better; it makes the
pain of the trauma go away.

"As a health care profession, there's a lot of judgement and stigma we place on these

mothers. It becomes a barrier to their recovery. If's sad, but it's true.”

For pregnant women in the justice system, the New Expectations house can be a novel
road to recovery. A joint project of the Department of Corrections and its contracted health
care provider, Connections Community Support Programs, the Newark home blends in on

a block sprink.led with college-student housing.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752... 3/28/2016
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vvomen therfe are transported to prenatal care appointments; take part in group therapy

and support counseling; and can see visitors once a week. If they complete their required
probation term without breaking house rules, they can retain custedy of their babies, which
they couldn't do if they gave birth while incarcerated. The women can even stay at New
Expectations for up to six months with their new babies, taking time to get on their feet.

Some of the women said they made the choice to seek treatment because of their

pregnancies.

"When | found out | was pregnant, | was on the run for, like, 9 months," said Bonnie Quill,
32, of New Castle, in an interview at New Expectations. "l guess | was tired of running and
] wanted to get it over with before the baby was born so | wouldn't have to be away from

him."

As worried as the women in New Expectations are about methadone's possible effect on
their babies, they are most concerned about the path their sober lives, out of the justice

system, will take.

"They're trying to avoid incarceration, and they're trying to avoid having the baby taken
away from them," said Catherine Devaney McKay, Connections' president and CEO.
"Those are pretty serious first-order issues to address. The motivator is wanting to be out
of jail when the baby is born, so you have a shot at keeping your baby."

Many women interviewed said they were determined not to return to the hometowns

where they first became addicted, and where their circles of friends had, for years,
included other addicts.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752...  3/28/2016



Delaware's heroin babies: Starting life in withdrawal Page 10 of 11

"Everybody that you seem to know is either doing pills or actually still on heroin," said
Morgan, the Harrington woman due in January, recalling the times when she was at home
in between probation violations. "They say change people, places, things. Even doing that,
the new people that you meet seem to have a drug of choice, whether it be alcohol,
marijuana or heroin. It seemed like somebody was always doing something.”

The mothers have also given thought to how they will explain to their children, years down
the road, what their lives were like when the children were born. Should they explain the

whole scenario, drugs, addicts, handcuffs, courtrooms, tears and all?

"Without this program, | would be out there still," said Tamya Broxton, a New Expectations
client who was cuddling her two-month-old son, Makai Brown, born while Broxton was
recovering from an addiction to PCP. "I'll tell him this was a time in my life | had to get
myself together."

Carlos Duran, a neonatologist at Christiana Care, is
the director of Child Development Watch in New
Castle County, a public health effort that keeps tabs
on children at risk for developmental delays. To
persuade more mothers of babies who were drug-
dependent at birth to take part in the program, he
said, doctors linked up with Brandywine Counseling to
see the mothers and their infants once a month at the
same Brandywine facility they go to for rehabilitation

and addiction treatment.

“The wave of new patients, that was really one of the
main driving forces. We'd been seeing these babies

before in our regular program, but it was a much

Tamya Braxton and her two-month-old son Makai Brown pose fora
portrait at New Expectations in Newark.

years or so is when we have really seen the most (Photo; KYLE GRANTHAM/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

smaller number,” Duran said. “Within the last two
need.”

Doctors and social workers keeping tabs on NAS

babies, he said, tend not to think the babies’ development is held back by their brief opiate
withdrawal window alone. If those children show developmental delays, he said, it's more
likely because of other factors: unstable home lives, and parents still distracted by their

own addiction problems.
“They don’t have medical problems. Their needs are different. And we have a fairly high

no-show rate for these families. They may not understand what we're doing, or they may
not have transportation,” Duran said. “We are working through the process of how much

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/752... 3/28/2016
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more we can really screen or ask. Ve don't want to be too intrusive, because this 1s a

voluntary program. We don’t want to be seen as Big Brother. We're still working on that:

How much can we ask without driving them away?”
But, he said, even the parents struggling to raise their children want to do better.

“These moms, they love their babies and they want to do everything they can for them,”
Duran said. “We help the mom to better manage the baby.”

For Murphy, the mother of two-week-old Sophia,
her new normal is this: Her oldest daughter
catches a bus to a charter school at 5:45 a.m. A
2-year-old son who was also born when she was
taking methadone, Duke, walks to her father's
house, where he'll be cared for. Murphy's husband,
a painter, goes to his 12-hour shift at a Dover work
site. Then, Murphy and Sophia make their way to
the clinic where Murphy's methadone treatments

are administered.

"] take the baby with me tfo the clinic. It's a job just
to get there, back and forth every day," she

said. When she can, Murphy makes time for
Narcotics Anonymous meetings and church
meetings on addiction. She's learned, in recovery,
to plan a day ahead wherever she can — making

lunches, laying out school clothes. It's a

choreography she never could have sustained Courtney Murphy holds her 2-week-old daughter Sophia,
who was born with symptoms of NAS, including tremors.

when she was abusmg heroin. (Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

In high school, "l was a cheerleader. | hated,

despised anyone who did drugs. | never thought

this would be my outcome," Murphy said as she

got her children ready for a lunchtime walk to the corner deli. "But I'm making the best of

the situation. So, that's all that matters."”

Staff writer Jen Rini contributed to this story. Contact James Fisher at (302) 983-6772, on
Twitter @JamesFisherTNJ or jfisher@delawareonline.com. -
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Newborn addictions rise, triggering new hospital rules

ﬁ Jen Rinj, The News Journal  1:14 a.m. EST January 18, 2016

Following an increase in babies born with drug or alcohol dependencies in Delaware, statewide hospital
discharge forms for "high-risk" cases will be amended to ensure that the baby will go home to the safest
environment and mom will have the necessary support system in place.

A committee of medical professionals, community leaders and state officials charged with studying and
recommending how to care for infants who are bom substance-exposed or medically fragile voted to add six
conditions that will automatically trigger high-risk medical discharge reports from the hospital to the Delaware

(Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE ~ Division of Family Services.
NEWS JOURNAL)

The move is one of the first steps the committee, an arm of the Child Protection Accountability
Commission, has made to figure out how to best help babies born with the dependencies and their families thrive.

The conditions originally were crafted by the Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium, a group that reviews and recommends programs and
guidelines conceming maternal and fetal care.

The conditions are:

+ Significant noncompliance with care of the infant, such as not visiting or participating in care.
- Mom is using substances, but is not in a treatment program.

« Evidence that drug use impairs caregiving ability.

+ Addicted infants must stay in the hospital for more than 30 days.

+ Multiple substance use. ’

» Infant needs medically complex care.

DELAWAREONLINE

Delaware's heroin babies: Starting life in withdrawal

(http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-
starting-life-withdrawal/75208368/)

According to the form that is submitted to DFS, a high-risk medical discharge is called for if there is an "increased risk for physical, developmental,
behavioral or emotional conditions that require health and related services of a type or amount beyond that required by a child generaily, and the chiid’s
family is unable or unwilling to provide or ensure the necessary care.”

If a pregnant woman heavily uses opiates, such as heroin, codeine, oxycodone and even methadone or buprenorphine —which are used in drug
treatment, those substances filter through the placenta. The baby is then bon drug-dependent and soon suffers withdrawal.

When an expecting mom drinks alcohol while the baby is developing in the womb, the baby can develop fetal alcohol syndrome disorders as well.

Jennifer Donahue, child abuse investigation coordinator of Delaware and co-chair of the committee, said it is important a plan of safe care is established
for these children When they leave the hospital. ,

Hospitals are already required to report to Delaware Division of Family Services if a baby is diagnosed as being substance exposed or with a fetal alcohol
spectrum disorder.

There were 448 reports made in 2015. Not all require follow-up, however. DFS investigated 299 cases of babies who tested positive for drugs and 68
who tested positive for alcohol.

But the follow-up for families can be inconsistent, Donahue said.

DELAWAREONLINE

Hospitals adapt to handle more drug-addicted mom

(http://www.delawareonline.com/storv/news/2015/1 1/20/hospitas-adapt-more-
drug-addicted-moms/76033968/ '

State and community agencies are doing "damage control’ now to try to connect families to services such as home visiting nurses and are tasked with
investigating near-death, injury and death instances that involve drugs. Forinstance, such a child death could be the result of a mom on methadone
rolling over onto a baby in bed, suffocating the infant.

Draft legislation is in the works to formalize a plan of safe care for babies that will engage social workers, nurses, hospitals and other groups to ensure
that families will not fall through the cracks and the baby is not in danger. Mothers would need to sign off on the plan at the hospital and would be
monitored to make sure they are following it appropriately.

"We are trying to make it clear and formal," Donahue said. "It's not a discharge plan; it's a follow-through plan.”

Page 1 of 2
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Others, such as Dr. David Paul, chair of the Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium and head of pediatrics at Christiana Care Health System,
feel that the legisiation is not the cure-all.

He is concerned that the legislation would actual deter moms from getting prenatal care or dissuade them from drug treatment. The legislation may be
part of the solution, but it's not the only solution, Paul added.

"There's not going to be a silver bullet," Paul said.
Jen Rini can be reached at (302) 324-2386 or jrini@delawareonline.com. Follow @JenRini on Twitter.

Read or Share this story: http://delonline.us/1UZoQKT
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Editorial: To save the kids, treat the addicted parents

Editorial  6:07 p.m. EST March 4, 2016

At first glance, the deaths of kids like Aiden Hundley and Autumn Milligan
(/story/news/local/heroindelaware/2016/03/04/d elaware-failing-heroin-babies/80930474/) point to Delaware’s
failed effort to safeguard chil dren born to drug-addicted parents.

But in the bigger picture, such deaths also intensify the spotlight on our state's need for more addiction
treatment services.

A proposed measure cali ed "Aiden's Law" would require addicted mothers to si gn an agreement with the
state that they will properly care for their addicted children — or risk losing custody.

While we support any effort to keep kids safe, it's critical to remember this: We can send all of the case workers
in the world to check in on kids, but if their parents don't receive adequate tr eatment for their addictions, the

(Photo: File) child always will be in danger.
Just as children born with addictions need treatment, so do their p arents.

As pointed out in the Sunday News Journal front-page story, more than 130,000 children born in the United States i n the last decade enter ed the world
hooked on drugs, according to a Reuters investigation.

Reuters identified 110 cases since 2010 in which babies and toddlers whose mothers used opioi ds during pregnancy later died preventable deaths.
In Delaware, four addicted babies died in the care of a parent or caregiver in 2015, and th ree others were severely abused.

To combat this tragic trend, it's critical that addicted mothers-t o-be fee!l comfortable seek ing and have easy access to the prenatal and add iction care they
and their babies desperately need.

We know this can be done.

The News Journal highl ighted such an effort (/story/news/local/2015/11/20/her cin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/75208368/) in November. While it may
not be practical or ideal to us e several group home settings across the state, we believe further investment in and ex pansion of such a program will lead

to far more positive outcomes.

And while it's a given that mothers and children are the first priority, addicted fathers need access to help, too. Addicts say that the already difficult task of
getting clean is made all the tougher when they’re around people who continue to use.

On top of that, access to effective services remains limited, though a dditional facilities are opening this year.

In 2015, there were 9,877 ad missions into state-funded treatment facilities — the highest number in mor e than 10 years, according to data collected by the
state health depar tment. In 3,723 of those admissions, people identified heroin as their primary drug.

As we have written in this space before (/story/opinion/editorials/2016/01/10/w renching-film-shows-heroins -deadly-impact/78599492/), opiate/opioid

addiction is a scourge that does not dis criminate.

There remains for some the belief that addicts can choose to get and stay clean — that o piate addiction itself is a choice.

Yet, while the decision to first use opiates rests with the user, the pow er of the subsequent addicti on overwhelms all logic and reason.
Still, one would hope that the risk of losing custody of a child would be motivation enough for any addicted parent to accept help i f offered.

That help may cost us more in the short term, but the long-ter m benefit of such an investment is seeing all of our children grow up to be healthy and
productive members of society. As it stands now, tooc many kids die before they even know what the word “addiction” means.

Read or Share this story: http://delonline.us/1ToWntTT
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Hospitals adapt to handle more drug-addicted moms

E;I James Fisher, The News Journal ~ 7:39 p.m. EST November 21, 2015

Hospital systems in Delaware are trying to adapt to a world in which heroin use and methadone treatment are
increasingly marked "yes" on maternity ward intake forms.

At Christiana Hospital in Newark, those adaptations have included remodeling a section of the maternity unit
into the Continuing Care Nursery, a place where NAS infants and their parents, as well as other babies who
need special care, can stay several weeks after delivery. A $500,000 contribution from the Junlor Board of

Christiana Care helped the nursery open.

(Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE

NEWS JOURNAL) "One of the major functions of that unit, and the reason we designed it, is to be able t§li

a quieter environment,” said Dr. David Paul, chair in Pediatrics at Christiana. Babies

sensitive to light and sound than healthy infants; the constant beeping and foot-shuffling of a neonatal intensive care unit is achfl
handle.

"Ultimately, they can go home faster if they stay out of the NICU," Paul said.

On Thursday, Christiana Care unveiled a $260 million capital construction proposal that would turn the existing women and chil
eight-story haven for expecting moms with more room for its neonatal intensive care unit and create single-family patient roomg

If approved by a state board that guides hospital expansion efforts, the new building could be complete by 2020, hospital officig
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"It's a substitution drug,” said Fleicher, the Beebe pediatrician. "It occupies the same receptor sites and neurons in the brain so ¥

withdrawal symptoms, minimizes cravings.”

It may seem odd to give infants morphine, but if's a common treatment for NAS throughout the country. Still, doctors don't want
newbomns any more than they have to.

"There are emerging data that there’s an association between length of medical treatment with morphine with adverse neurode!
time we can keep babies on morphine in the hospital, potentially the better the baby’s outcomes are," Paul said.

There are plenty of ways to soothe the babies that don't involve drugs, too. Tracey Bell, a NICU nurse educator at Christiana, s 02
parents that "just holding them, cuddling them, giving them & quiet environment, talking to them softly and feeding them in a quiet area" can help. "They

don't like a lot of additional stimulation,” Bell said.

Volunteers assigned to the CCU will also cuddle and rock infants when parents aren't there. "That soothing, rhythmic rocking helps to settle any baby,"
said Pamela Jimenez, a nurse practitioner and coordinator of the CCU.

DELAWAREONLINE

° 4 Delaware's heroin babies: Starting life in withdrawal

(http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/2015/11/20/heroin-babies-
starting-life-withdrawal/75208368/)
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On average, Paul said, babies with NAS stay in the hospital for 15 to 18 days postpartum. In the NICU, there's no place for parents to sleep that many
nights. But in the CCU, each room is private and has a pull-out sofa.

The medical community is coming up with ways to track the progress of these infants into their second and third years of childhood. At Christiana,
Jimenez keeps tabs on the babies and their families by encouraging them to take part in Child Development Watch, a state-supported early intervention

program. "i's making sure that mom's needs are being met, and making sure the baby is developing appropriately,” Jimenez said.

Bridget Buckaloo, executive director of women's health services at Beebe Healthcare, said Beebe also follows state guidelines and facilitates referrals of
all NAS babies for developmental screening.

Staff writer Jen Rini contributed to this story. Contact James Fisher at (302) 983-6772, on Twitter @JamesFisherTNJ or jisher@delawareonline.com.

Read or Share this story: hitp://delonline.us/1jbELbS
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More treatment key for addicted moms

Jen Rinj and Esteban Parra, The News Journal 6 p.m. £ST March 4, 2016

Holly Rybinski, of Newport, said she had to go to jail in order to get the drug treatment she needed. That was
almost two years ago.

She had stayed clean for five years, but while she was pregnant his child, her partner overdosed and died.
, Consumed by grief, Rybinski tumed to heroin and cocaine during the last five months of her pregnancy.

After she gave birth to her son James April 8, 2014, at Christiana Care's Wilmington

(Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE be clean.

NEWS JOURNAL) ]

She said the Division of Family Services told her that they had to take custody of him

positive for drugs, she wasn't in a treatment program and Rybinski had a record. They told her she had 90 days to find employ!
housing and then they could discuss putting him back in her care.

That request was easier said than done. There were issues with insurance coverage and doctors who would not approve her
she had given birth only weeks before, she said.

| tried five different times to get into treatment,” Rybinski said. "It was just one obstacle after the other.”
As the number of pregnant and addicted mothers grows, the need for treatment is even more critical. Community members, fa

* recovery, like Rybinski, have long lamented Delaware's lack of residential treatment options. Many people have to wait days a
bed. Many have to go out of state.

ALb.WHEEL ORIVE
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That was the case with Rybinski. She !ried to get admitted to rehabs in Maryland and Pennsylvania before tuming back to herol "M"r‘m‘

access.
The treatment options available do boast resuits.
Over the last three years, about 774 women were helped by a Brandywine Counseling program that helped connect women to

training and case management. In that same period, 189 babies were born and 167 were bom free of illicit drugs, data from the
About 145 were delivered to full term and 133 were bomn within a healthy weight.

35 year-old Holly Rybinski, of
Newport, plays 3 year-old
daughter Scarlet after she got
home from daycare. Rybinski just
got out of prison over a week ago
for burglary and possession
charges that stemmed from her
drug addiction. She is currently
living with her parents during her
recovery. {(Photo; JENNIFER 2 ”
CORBETT/THE NEWS JOURNAL) i - S *

35 year-old Holly Rybinski, of Newpon, plays with her 3 year-old daughter Scarlet after she got home from daycare, Rybinski just got
out of prison over a week ago for burglary and p h, that from her drug addiction. She is currently living with her parents during her
recovery, (Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

Currently, there is one stale-run treatment program for expectant or new mothers recovering from addiction in Delaware, but it is only for women who are
incarcerated and it is in Newark.

Run through the Delaware Depariment of Correction and Connections Community Support Programs, the DOC’s healthcare provider, a judge can
sentence women to the program, called New Expectations, as a condition of probation instead of house arrest or prison. The women live in a group

home, receive prenatal care and take parenting classes.

Brandywine Counseling ran a program for expecting moms wrestling with addiction, called Lighthouse, downstate in Ellendale, but it closed in September
due to budget cuts and staffing shortages.

About 28 to 40 women participated in the program at any one time over the five years it was active, said Lynn Fahey, Brandywine chief executive officer.

DELAWAREONLINE
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http://www.delawareonline.com/storv/opinion/editorials/2016/03/04/save-kids-

treat-addicted-parents/81335512/)

Lighthouse wasn't just a group home it offered a residential level of care to help women manage cravings with around the clock staffing. Fahey
estimated it cost about $700,000 a year to support, but data from Brandywine shows it was extremely successful. Nearly 100 percent of women were
able to give birth to babies free of drugs, Fahey said.

In the year before it closed, about 98 percent of women enrolled in Lighthouse re-established relationships with their children orimmediate family
members. Nine cases investigated by DFS closed during the women's treatment and all women were able to find jobs.

“If the children had been taken, we were able to help the mom re-unify and get the children out of foster care,” Fahey said. “It is an expensive level of
care to do it right.”

One of the other problems is spotty insurance coverage, explained MaryBeth Cichocki, a member of the advocacy group atTAack Addiction.
There is a set amount of time people can stay in residential treatment programs, typically up to 30 days, and then people are back out on the streets.

"Medicaid pays thousands and thousands and thousands of dollars for all these babies in the hospital," Cichocki said. "Yet if they would just get the
mothers into a good rehab and keep them there until their brain starts to heal so the cravings aren’t so powerful and the mom wants to use again."

Rybinski was one such mom that had difficulty getting treated.

Frustrated that she couldn't get care, shei ramped up her drug use and started stealing from vehicles in New Castle County neighborhoods to feed her

habit. Eventually she was arrested and sentenced to two treatment programs run through the DOC. DFS terminated her parental rights. Buy Ph
uy Photo

35 year-old Holly Rybinski, of Newport, plays 3 year-old daughter Scarlet after she got home from daycare. Rybinski just got out of prison over a week ago for burglary
and possession charges that stemmed from her drug addiction. She is currently living with her parents during her recovery. (Photo: JENNIFER CORBETT/THE NEWS
JOURNAL)

Rybinski was just released after being incarcerated for 18 months. While she was in jail, a foster family brought James to see her every month, Her two
other kids, Scarlet, now 3, and Gage, 8, stayed with her mom, and thought she was in "time out.”

Had she been connected to treatment services immediately or had a halfway house to stay after she was discharged from the hospital, Rybinski said her
life might have taken a different turn.

“ might have 18 months clean and been home for the past year," she said.

Though it wasn't a perfect scenario, she Is grateful she was separated from James when he was born. She acknowledged that caring for 2 newborn and
trying to manage her addiction could have been detrimental to his health.

"I don't think they should have given him back to me right then," she said.

Now she's happy that she gets to see him every other weekend and he is going to be adopted by her pariner's, his dad's, family. She's enjoying life with
her other children, Scarlet and Gage, finishing her college degree in multimedia design, and counseling people struggling with addiction. Hearing Scarlet
say "l love you to pancakes," the three year old's favorite food, is music to her ears.

"l let [addiction] become my life. | need to stay clean," she said. "l forgot what my purpose was."

Jen Rini can be reached at (302)324-2386 or jrini@delawareonline.com. Follow @JenRini on Twitter.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/heroindelaware/2016/03/04/more-treatment-could-key... 3/28/2016
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Delaware failing heroin babies

Esteban Parra and Jen Rini, The News Journal 11:38 a.m. EST March 7, 20116

Delaware is failing babies born addicted to heroin and other drugs, the state Children's Department

acknowledges.

Four addicted babies died in the care of a parent or caregiver in 2015, and three others were severely abused.

The September death of 8-month-old Aiden Ryder Hundley, who police say suffered horrible abuse at the
hands of his parents, demonstrates gaping holes in the state's protocol for following up care of hundreds of
addicted children annually discharged from Delaware hospitals to their parents.

(Photo: ESTEBAN PARRA/THE
NEWS JOURNAL)

A state commission and 16 state lawmakers are pushing legislation, named "Aiden's Law," that would require
mothers under investigation to sign an agreement with the state that they will properly care for their addicted children — or risk losing custody. It also
would establish a unified plan all state agencies and community groups must follow in regard to at-risk children, eliminating the patch-work approach now

being used statewide.

"We are going to have dead babies" without meaningful changes, Jennifer Donahue, statewide child abuse investigation coordinator for the Office of the
Child Advocate, told a committee studying care for substance-exposed infants in January.

On Feb. 19 of last year, Aiden was born at Beebe Healthcare, one of several Delaware hospitals that tests all newborns for addictions. His first 27 days
were spent in withdrawal, or neonatal abstinence syndrome, a condition {/story/news/local/2015/1 1/20/heroin-babies-starting-life-withdrawal/75208368/)
that makes babies sleep-deprived, irritable, prone to tremors and vomiting, and difficult to feed.

After enduring that ordeal, the Division of Family Services permitted Aiden to be discharged into the custody of his parents, Doyle J. Hundley Jr., 37, and
Casey R. Layton, 28, of Harbeson - both of whom have a long history of drug addiction, court records show.

The caseworker assigned to Aiden should have performed a thorough investigation on the parents and their wherewithal to provide a safe
environment for the child, said Carla Benson-Green, cabinet secretary of the agency that oversees DFS. That didn't happen. And Hundley and Layton,
like many addicts who frequently move from place to place seeking shelter from friends and family, were lost by DFS.

e

Sixty-four days after the baby was discharged from the hospital, the caseworker found and visited the family but
raised no red flags, Benson-Green said.

Two days later the parents called 911, explaining to first responders that the boy was having seizures. Doctors
found freshly broken bones and bones beginning to heal from earlier breaks. He also
suffered retinal hemorrhaging in both eyes, and he had an E. coli infection in his brain.

Aiden never left the hospital. He died Sept. 22 after being on life support four months.

The parents were charged with murder, contending the baby's injuries stemmed from abuse.

Carla L. Benson-Green, Secretary Hundley claims injuries to his son occurred when he tripped on a duffle bag while holding the baby.

of the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and Their The caseworker who failed baby Aiden will be held accountable, Benson-Green said. But rather than instituting

Families talks about the children . . .
born with addictions. (Phofo: sweeping reforms, she said she has made changes to get DFS employees to do a better job.

JENNIFER CORBETT/THE NEWS
JOURNAL) “If the process was followed, it would not have been neglect by the agency," said Benson-Green. "You've got to

see the child. You've got to see the family. ... You have to assess the home. All of that did not happen in this

case.”

Bringing agencies together

The Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families has come under fire for other high-profile cases, such as the August 2014 death
of Autumn_Milligan (/story/news/crime/2014/1 1/07/mom-charged-girls-death-investigated-four-times/1 8671593/).

The 4-year-old girl was beaten to death by her mother in a seedy New Castle-area motel after being investigated four times for neglect by DFS.
http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/heroindelaware/ZO16/ 03/04/delaware-failing-heroin-ba... 3/11/2016
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sisters, who wanted the division to investigate the care of Autumn and her older brother, Ethan. That investigation was active at the time of the girl's
death.

DELAWAREONLINE

To save the kids, treat the addicted parents

(http://www.delawareonline.com/story/opinion/editorials/2016/03/04/save-kids-
treat-addicted-parents/81335512/)

Although the sisters told child protection officials that the kids' bodies had marks on them, authorities never examined Autumn or her brother Ethan for

bruises.

Rather than forcing Milligan to better care for her children, state officials ruled that the complaint was unsubstantiated. DFS made the same ruling in three
previous investigations, even though Milligan was living with a man alleged to be a pimp at a motel on U.S. 13, where Milligan sold her body and abused

drugs.

Tiffany Greenfield, Milligan's older sister, said the state fumbled several chances to save a vulnerable child from her troubled mother. She would welcome
a new law with teeth that holds parents accountable, but points out that her sister agreed to a DFS demand that she take better care of her children or
potentially lose them. At the end of the day, Greenfield said, the state didn't enforce the agreement and the lack of followup resulted in Autumn’s death.

"They made Tanasia sign an action plan," Greenfield said. “They told her she had to do this, and if she didn't, she was told this would happen. She
(Miliigan) did nothing that they had listed and nothing happened, except the death of my niece." '

While these incidents are ultimately the parent's fault, Greenfield said, the state must step into the breach when children are at risk.
"| just hope they can get it together before another child loses their life," she said.

DFS admitted to flaws into the investigation of Milligan and acknowledged it was riddled with errors, confusion and systemic problems. In February 2015,
the month Aiden was born, the state announced the results of an internal review and proposed several reforms aimed at averting a similar tragedy.

Four children have died since.

Jennifer R, Ranji, then-secretary of the Children's Department, said that in retrospect, it was clear they didn't do enough to protect Milligan's children. Last
October, Ranji was appointed a judge on Delaware's Family Court by Gov. Jack Markell.

Benson-Green, who has worked in the department since its inception in 1982, took over in November. Even when caseworkers follow protocals, she said,

there can be bad outcomes.

Sometimes the initial contact with a mother and baby occurs months after a referral is received. Other times, DFS gets wrong names or bad addresses or
is hampered by a lack of communication between state agencies, including police and the Department of Justice.

“As of now there is no Delaware law that outlines what each agency has to do when there is a substance exposed infant," said Donahue, the investigator.

Federal law requires that a plan of safe care be established and that states have policy and procedures in place. While DFS has a protocol, other state
agencies follow their own rules in regards to children at risk — meaning some newborns with drug dependencies won't be under the watchful eye of the

state.

"We've seen because of that disparity, because of the different cases, there are breakdowns and some agencies do not know what their role is,”

Donahue said.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/heroindelaware/2016/03/04/delaware-failing-heroin-ba... 3/11/2016
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Jen Donahue, left, child abuse investigator for the state of Delaw are, and Tania Culley from the Office of the Child Advocate go over statistics related to abuse and death
in cases involving substance exposed infants Thursday at the Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families. (Photo: DANIEL SATO/THE NEWS JOURNAL)

There were 448 cases of suspected neglect or abuse reported to DFS among babies born with drugs or alcohol in their system, and the agency reported
it found enough evidence to investigate 296 of them. Those 296 cases involved 364 children. In 44 cases, abuse was substantiated, 11 more are still

; pending.
A DFS spokeswoman said that they do not keep more accurate statistics of the types or severity of neglect or abuse.

"“This is our problem," said Tania Culley, child advocate for the state of Delaware, one of the leaders of the legislative effort. “This is Delaware's problem
and we all need to hold hands together to help solve it and support these mothers while making sure these babies are safe."

Natiohwide, more than 130,000 children born during the past decade entered the world hooked on drugs, according to a Reuters investigation. Reuters
identified 110 cases since 2010 in which babies and toddlers — whose mothers used opioids during pregnancy — died unnecessary deaths.

Being born drug-dependent didn't kill these children. Each recovered enough to be discharged from hospitals, but they were sent home fo families ill-
equipped to care (/story/news/health/2016/01/1 7/newborn-addictions-rise-triggering-new-hospital-rules/78851632/) for them, the report found.

More than 40 of those children suffocated. Thirteen died after swallowing toxic doses of methadone, heroin, oxycodone or other opioids. In one case, a
baby in Oklahoma died after her mother, high on methamphetamine and opioids, put the 10-day-old girl in a washing machine with a load of dirty laundry.

Linda Carpenter, a program director with the National Center on Substance Abuse and Child Welfare, is helping states avoid issues related to substance-
exposed deaths among infants. Carpenter said she worked with Delaware officials on amending state code to align with federal law that requires a plan

of safe care for moms and substance-exposed babies.

The legislation, co-sponsored by Reps Melanie George Smith, D-Bear, Ruth Briggs King, R-Georgetown, Senate President Pro Tem Patricia Blevins,
D-Elsmere, Sen. Cathy Cloutier, R-Heatherbrooke, and 12 others would define what a plan of safe care means for babies and moms. It would require
social workers, nurses, hospitals and other groups to make reports and share information to ensure that families can't move without notifying authorities,

and that babies are not in danger.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/heroindelaware/2016/03/04/delaware-failing-heroin-ba... 3/11/2016
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“One of the concems in Delaware is we send moms and babies home sometimes and then there’s nobody monitoring or not monitoring on a regular
basis and then something happens. And that shouldn't surprise anybody,” Carpenter said. “The plan of safe care and timing is critical. That should be
written and everyone is on board before the baby even leaves the hospital.”

At a community meeting fast fall, Briggs King heard cases where a substance-exposed child was sent home with a pérent sfruggling with addiction and
died, or nearly died. She wanted answers, but found they were hard to find ~ even for a lawmaker.

“It just seems to be a big question mark there,” Briggs King said. "We need to protect these children.”

To draw attention to the lack of follow-up, she drafted a bill that would have allowed police or a physician to take temporary custody immediately if a child

is born drug-dependent or suffering from fetal alcohol syndrome.

Briggs acknowledged that it could deter women from recelving the substance abuse treatment they need, so she dropped the legislation and instead is

backing the other effort.

Helping moms get into a successful recovery program is one of the best ways to start her and baby on a good path, says Dr. Elizabeth Drew, mediéal
director of Summit Behavioral Health in Pennsylvania. '

But moms-to-be who are in recovery are often afraid to disclose their situation.

“We need to make women who are pregnant feel like they can come forward with an addiction without already feeling like they are going to lose custody

of their child," Drew said.

- 'We've got to catch up'

Of the three deaths besides Aiden's last year, two involved instances in which a mother using methadone, a drug taken to kick a heroin habit, fell asleep
and smothered her baby. The other baby died of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.

Benson-Green said in these cases, her caseworkers did everything properly.

http://www.delawareonline.com/story/news/local/heroindelaware/2016/03/04/delaware-failing-heroin-ba... 3/11/2016
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babies, Carpenter said. Studies have shown that methadone can increase the likelihood of SIDS.

After a mother gives birth her body changes, Carpenter explained, noting that the mom may not respond to methadone as she did before giving birth. If
she is not being closely monitored and the dose is too high, she may feel sleepy or dizzy, which can affect how she cares for the baby.

There have been a number of cases in which moms on methadone have fallen asleep, inadvertently rolling onto the child and smothering it.

Benson-Green said caseworkers take it hard when a child dies because the state likes to believe it

has everything in place to keep children safe. After Aiden's death, DFS has changed its pfotocol. Now a
supervisor must sign a hospital discharge letter acknowledging the caseworker's findings and

clearing the newborn to be released to parents or caregivers.

There also is more training to help caseworkers recognize child abuse and its triggers, and a substance abuse
counselor accompanies caseworkers to the hospital when parents test positive for drugs. An informal
assessment is made about whether the parent needs additional services.

In spite of lapses that have resulted in the deaths of infants, Benson-Green said citizens should not give up on

the state to care for children at risk.

Doyle J. Hundley Jr., 37, and
Casey R. Layton, 28, have been "The vote of confidence should still be there from the public,” Benson-Green said. “There should be no reason

charged with the death of theit ¢ thar to waiver from it. It's a challenging job when you are always dealing with constant changes in family

8-month-old son, Aiden. (Photo:
ESTEBAN PARRA/THE NEWS
JOURNAL)

dynamics and family behavior and the fact that the culture within the community is changing.”

“We've got to catch up and work with those things that are now set before us.”

uin
|

Sitting on the shelf of a messy home in Harbeson is a white ceramic tile, with "Aiden Ryder" printed In black. A heart stands in for the the dot over the
in Aiden, and tiny blue footprints decorate either side of Aiden’'s date of birth and death — 02-19-15 to 09-22-15 (/story/news/crime/2015/12/11/mothetr-

tather-charged-killing-8-month-old-son/77143184/).

A tea cup with a broken handle and the word "Mother" holds the tile upright. Those objects and the proposed law in the boy's name appear to be the

only physical memories left of him.

Contact Esteban Parra at (302) 324-2299, eparra@delawareonline.com or Twitter @eparra3. Jen Rini can be reached at (302) 324-2386 or

jrini@delawareonline.com. Follow @JenRini on Twitter.

Child Protection Accountability Commission findings

A review of findings reported last month to the Child Protection Accountability Commission, the committee writing the new legislation, cited instances of

breakdowns:

« One child was not able to be seen by a local child abuse expert because of a dispute between the hospital and insurance company.

+ A report was not made to the state Division of Family Services' when a victim's sibling was born substance-exposed in 2013.

. The same division did not verify a mother's participation with a substance abuse provider.

« There was a delay in planning for the safety of a dead baby's siblings residing in a home where the death occurred because the mother did
not sign a safety agreement. The division also entered into a safety agreement via telephone with an out-of-state relative for the other

children six days after incident.
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Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC)
516 West Loockerman St., Dover, DE 19904
302-739-4553 (voice) 302-739-6126 (fax) http:/www.gacec.delaware.gov

MEMORANDUM
DATE: March 24,2016
TO: The Honorable Members of the Delaware General Assembly
FROM: Robert D. Overmiller, Chairperson
GACEC
RE: House Bill No. 214 (Nurse Workplace Violence Protection)

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) has reviewed House Bill
No. 214, which will upgrade an assault on a nurse performing a work-related duty to a second
degree assault or class D felony. Council would like to share the following observations.

Under current law, if a person intentionally causes “physical injury” to a member of the general
public, the crime is a misdemeanor A punishable by up to one year in prison. See 11 Del.C.
Secs. 611 and 4206. There is a special statute [11 Del.C. Sec. 612] which elevates the
misdemeanor to a felony D if a person intentionally causes “physical injury” to a nurse “while
[the nurse] is rendering emergency care”. The penalty for a class D felony is up to eight years
in prison. See 11 Del.C. Sec. 205(b). The definition of “physical injury” is “impairment of
physical condition or substantial pain”. See 11 Del.C. Sec. 222(23). Therefore, the current law
elevates the maximum one year prison term to a maximum eight year term for an assault on a
nurse providing emergency care with no significant injury apart from “pain”. House Bill No.
214 would expand the application of the eight-year prison term to nurses In non-emergency
contexts, i.e., while “performing a work-related duty” (lines 17-18). While well intentioned,
the concern of the Council is that authorizing a prison term not double, triple, or quadruple but
eight times in length for an assault resulting only in some pain seems disproportionate to the
offense. One compromise would be to elevate the offense against a nurse to a felony F or G
which carry two and three year prison terms respectively.

Council suggests that policymakers consider the unintended consequences of this legislation.
The bill could easily result in prosecution of patients with compromised capacity at the time of
the alleged crime. For example, individuals with urinary tract infections may display symptoms
similar to mental illness. Individuals with an extreme fear of needles may defensively strike out



at a nurse attempting to perform an injection. An elderly patient may strike out defensively at a
nurse attempting to impose wrist or mechanical restraints on the patient to prevent the patient
from removing tubes or aggravating wounds. Medications or a high fever may compromise
executive functioning and self-control. A patient who does not speak English may defensively
try to block an injection or push a nurse away out of a lack of understanding. A patient may
experience involuntary movements or seizures which a nurse could misinterpret as voluntary acts
of aggression. A patient with an undiagnosed traumatic brain injury (TBI) may strike out as a
function of brain injury. While well intentioned, the unintended consequences of this bill may
be to unnecessarily “criminalize” a large number of vulnerable patients and Council reiterates
that the penalties seem extreme in relation to the offense.

Thank you for your time and consideration of our observations. Please feel free to contact me or
Wendy Strauss should you have any questions.



Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE REPORT

HB 214

Sponsor: Keeley

.Long Title: AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 11 OF THE DELAWARE CODE
RELATING TO ASSAULT.

Committee: PUBLIC SAFETY & HOMELAND SECURITY

Number of 11
Committee
Members:

Date of Report: (03/23/2016

.Committee Vote: Favorable: On Its Merits: Unfavorable:
2 5 0

Purpose of the Bill : Currently, for an assault to rise to the level of assault in the
second degree against a nurse, the nurse must be rendering emergency care. This
bill raises the level for an assault on a nurse performing a work-related duty to the

second degree.

Committee Findings: The committee found that the language in this bill needs to be
reworked in order to address punishments for individuals who are mentally

handicapped.

http://legis.delaware. gov/LIS/LIS148 NSF/d81ce478bd9ae572852568730079¢2fe/70c660. .. 3/28/2016
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§ 611 Assault in the third degree; class A misdemeanor.
A person is guilty of assault in the third degree when:
¢ (1) The person intentionally or recklessly causes physical injury to another person; or

(2) With criminal negligence the person causes physical injury to another person by
means of a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument.

Assault in the third degree is a class A misdemeanor.

11 Del. C. 1953, § 611; 58 Del. Laws, c. 497, § 1; 67 Del. Laws, c. 130, § 8; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, §
1.;

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title11/c005/sc02/index.shtml 3/1/2016
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§ 4206 Sentence for misdemeanors.

(a) The sentence for a class A misdemeanor may include up to 1 year incarceration at Level
V and such fine up to $2,300, restitution or other conditions as the court deems

appropriate.

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title1 1/c042/index.shtml 3/1/2016
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§ 4205 Sentence for felonies.
(a) A sentence of incarceration for a felony shall be a definite sentence.
(b) The term of incarceration which the court may impose for a felony is fixed as follows:
(1) For a class A felony not less than 15 years up to life imprisonment to be served at

Level V except for conviction of first degree murder in which event § 4209 of this title
shall apply.

(2) For a class B felony not less than 2 years up to 25 years to be served at Level V.
" (3) For a class C felony up to 15 years to be served at Level V.
X (4) For a class D felony up to 8 years to be served at Level V.
(5) For a class E felony up to 5 years to be served at Level V.
(6) For aclass F felony up to 3 years to be served at Level V.
(7) For a class G felony up to 2 years to be served at Level V.

(c) In the case of the conviction of any felony, the court shall impose a sentence of Level V
incarceration where a minimum sentence is required by subsection (b) of this section and
may impose a sentence of Level V incarceration up to the maximum stated in subsection (b)

of this section for each class of felony.

'(d) Where a minimum, mandatory, mandatory minimum or minimum mandatory sentence
is required by subsection (b) of this section, such sentence shall not be subject to suspension
by the court.

(e) Where no minimum sentence is required by subsection (b)-of this section, or with regard

to any sentence in excess of the minimum required sentence, the court may suspend that
part of the sentence for probation or any other punishment set forth in § 4204 of this title.

(f) Any term of Level V incarceration imposed under this section must be served in its
entirety at Level V, reduced only for earned "g00d time" as set forth in § 4381 of this title.

(g) No term of Level V incarceration imposed under this section shall be served in other
than a full custodial Level V institutional setting unless such term is suspended by the court
for such other level sanction. \

(h) The Department of Correction, the remainder of this section notwithstanding, may
house Level Vinmates at a Level IV work release center or halfway house during the last 180
days of their sentence; provided, however, that the first 5 days of any sentence to Level V,
not suspended by the court, must be served at Level V.

(i) The Department of Correction, the remainder of this section notwithstanding, may grant
Level V inmates 48-hour furloughs during the last 120 days of their sentence to assist in
their adjustment to the community.

() No sentence to Level V incarceration imposed pursuant to this section is subject to
parole.

http://delcode.delaware.govi/title11/ c042/index.shtml 3/1/2016
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(23) "Physical injury" means impairment of physical condition or substantial pain.

(24) "Public transit operator” means a person in control or in charge of a transportation
vehicle for public use, in exchange for a fee or charge, offered by any railroad, street
railway, traction railway, motor bus, or trolley coach. Specifically excluded are:

a. Transportation to and from any school or school-sponsored event when such
transportation is under the regulation of the Department of Education; and

b. Transportation to and from a church, synagogue or other place of worship;

c. Shuttle-type transportation provided by business establishments without charge to
customers of the businesses offering such shuttle transportation between fixed

termini; and
d. Limousine services.

(25) "Serious mental disorder" means any condition of the brain or nervous system
recognized as defective, as compared with an average or normal condition, bya
substantial part of the medical profession.

(26) "Serious physical injury" means physical injury which creates a substantial risk of
death, or which causes serious and prolonged disfigurement, prolonged impairment of
health or prolonged loss or impairment of the function of any bodily organ, or which
causes the unlawful termination of a pregnancy without the consent of the pregnant

~ female.

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title11/c002/index.shtml 3/1/2016
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